We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Offer
Ranked #340 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Va
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could use an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall the hotel was ok, but there were some definite improvements that could be made. The hotel was clean except for a stain on the carpet.

My only real complain is that bath room is very small (not enough sink space) and there was no working exhaust fan in the bathroom and the ceiling above the bath tub was peeling and the tub had places where porcelain was rubbed off.

The location, however was ideal for Broadway, Central Park and Times square which was the focus of the trip. I would not avoid staying here, but it wouldn't be my first choice either.

Room Tip: Anything in the hotel is very expensive. There is a Kleine's almost across the street that is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing this valuable input on our guestroom comfort and amenities. We appreciate your feedback and we will use your comments as we prepare for accommodation updates. We know that space is at a premium in the city and we do our best to maximize our square feet for your convenience. We hope you will return to stay with us again the next time you visit Broadway so we may show you an improved quality stay.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.cahill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    2,653
    1,547
    691
    352
See reviews for
1,863
1,525
353
1,821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Awesome location - you can walk everywhere - from Times Square to Central Park to 5th Avenue. The hotel was under renovation when we were there - so not a lot of options for meals or snacks or even a place to sit down in the lobby. Like all of New York - very pricy. I would probably have preferred a smaller hotel, but this was clean and the rooms were a decent size. However, we had three (my husband and son) in one room and it was two double beds vs. two queens. That made for three uncomfortable nights of sleep for me, but we expected that.

Room Tip: We stayed on the executive floor so breakfast and afternoon appetizers and a more reasonably priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have not stayed here in 10 years like affina 50 but was sold out as was every affina this weekend its a big hotelnbut it is still a solid choice for NYC. I need a room with two doubles and there was one here so i tried it againGreat location rooms are fine no crappy mildew anywhere in bathroom or crumbling wallpaper.rooms are big for NYC standards stayed on36th floor on Easter weekend. Hotel was packed I believe this is one of midtowns largest hotels it's well run and the staff is excellent jessica at the front desk was lovely. Elevators are fast but there are lines sometimes but there is only a couple minute wait. Don't eat breakfast here very expensive 21 fir a cold buffet 32 fir warm. There's a 24 hr gourmet deli across the street on 52 a block away go there for all your breakfast needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my husband come for a four day trip in March. This Hotel is extremely busy all day and night long, I had read this before in other reviews and had visions of queuing for an age to check in and half expected a non personal service. Not only did we check in after a few minutes, but had a genuine nice welcome and was in our room within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel!
The room was on the 28th floor, we had a king sized bed room, and this was plenty spacious enough with a wonderful view of New York. Bed was comfy, hot water took a while to run through when running a bath, which was no big deal. it would have been good to have a mini bar/ fridge in the room though for convenience.
We didn't eat in the Hotel, but got coffees from the cafe down near the lobby every morning which was fast and convenient. The concierge was helpful with directions whenever we asked to get somewhere, and recommended a restaurant for us on our first evening, when we were too tired to go trekking around too far! The doormen where all really helpful, saying hello every time and helping with our luggage and they always have taxis ready and waiting for when you need one. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel due to such a mixed bag of reviews, however in my opinion, it is perfect if you are staying for sightseeing/ shopping vacation, the rooms are comfy, the location is perfect, and yes it's busy all the time, but for us, this just added to our experience of being in New York! I would like to say a special thank you to Amelia Moreno for meeting our request and exceeding it! and to our hero Dante Tabios from security, who kindly calmed me down and retrieved back our passports that I left in the safe in our room that we had checked out off hours before!! 15 minutes before we left to go back home!! (Wont do that again)!! Thanks Hilton, and wouldn't think twice about staying here next time we're in NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Fairly expensive with all the taxes added on, but a safe area close to Rockefeller Center, MOMA, 5th ave shopping and Central Park. Big, bustling hotel with good service. Nice amenities for HH diamond members including comfortable dining/lounge area with drink machines, breakfast, afternoon snacks, etc and cookies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think I would not exaggerate if I call it the worst experience I have had over the last few years. Every day me and my wife had to stand on the queue for breakfast for 30 minutes or more. Afterwards you would queue up for breakfast. Feels like you need to queue up for everything. The hotel is huge and apparently service capacity is not sufficient, that was the problem. We didn't have even bottle of water in our room, not talking about tea and coffee. We didn't get the value for the price we paid, which was high. Internet was complementary, but that was useless. Would I stay there next time? - certainly no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you did not feel you received the value you deserved and for the inconvenient wait times you experienced at breakfast. We appreciate your time and input and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit New York so we might show you the improved quality stay you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If u manage to stop in pls go and see John at the lobby bar, he is the quintisential old school bartender. He makes waiting for your room a joy! Oh and the Italian Marie is a plesant hostest! We will always stop there for a cold one and good laugh!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#291 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,053 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#55 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,386 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Club New York
Hilton Club New York
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#93 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,096 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#82 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,860 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#172 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.