We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but very busy and big hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates: $179/nt
Ranked #312 of 446 hotels in New York City
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, but very busy and big hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Awesome location - you can walk everywhere - from Times Square to Central Park to 5th Avenue. The hotel was under renovation when we were there - so not a lot of options for meals or snacks or even a place to sit down in the lobby. Like all of New York - very pricy. I would probably have preferred a smaller hotel, but this was clean and the rooms were a decent size. However, we had three (my husband and son) in one room and it was two double beds vs. two queens. That made for three uncomfortable nights of sleep for me, but we expected that.

Room Tip: We stayed on the executive floor so breakfast and afternoon appetizers and a more reasonably priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,090
    1,884
    1,059
    447
    215
See reviews for
1179
1014
266
1186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have not stayed here in 10 years like affina 50 but was sold out as was every affina this weekend its a big hotelnbut it is still a solid choice for NYC. I need a room with two doubles and there was one here so i tried it againGreat location rooms are fine no crappy mildew anywhere in bathroom or crumbling wallpaper.rooms are big for NYC standards stayed on36th floor on Easter weekend. Hotel was packed I believe this is one of midtowns largest hotels it's well run and the staff is excellent jessica at the front desk was lovely. Elevators are fast but there are lines sometimes but there is only a couple minute wait. Don't eat breakfast here very expensive 21 fir a cold buffet 32 fir warm. There's a 24 hr gourmet deli across the street on 52 a block away go there for all your breakfast needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my husband come for a four day trip in March. This Hotel is extremely busy all day and night long, I had read this before in other reviews and had visions of queuing for an age to check in and half expected a non personal service. Not only did we check in after a few minutes, but had a genuine nice welcome and was in our room within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel!
The room was on the 28th floor, we had a king sized bed room, and this was plenty spacious enough with a wonderful view of New York. Bed was comfy, hot water took a while to run through when running a bath, which was no big deal. it would have been good to have a mini bar/ fridge in the room though for convenience.
We didn't eat in the Hotel, but got coffees from the cafe down near the lobby every morning which was fast and convenient. The concierge was helpful with directions whenever we asked to get somewhere, and recommended a restaurant for us on our first evening, when we were too tired to go trekking around too far! The doormen where all really helpful, saying hello every time and helping with our luggage and they always have taxis ready and waiting for when you need one. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel due to such a mixed bag of reviews, however in my opinion, it is perfect if you are staying for sightseeing/ shopping vacation, the rooms are comfy, the location is perfect, and yes it's busy all the time, but for us, this just added to our experience of being in New York! I would like to say a special thank you to Amelia Moreno for meeting our request and exceeding it! and to our hero Dante Tabios from security, who kindly calmed me down and retrieved back our passports that I left in the safe in our room that we had checked out off hours before!! 15 minutes before we left to go back home!! (Wont do that again)!! Thanks Hilton, and wouldn't think twice about staying here next time we're in NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fairly expensive with all the taxes added on, but a safe area close to Rockefeller Center, MOMA, 5th ave shopping and Central Park. Big, bustling hotel with good service. Nice amenities for HH diamond members including comfortable dining/lounge area with drink machines, breakfast, afternoon snacks, etc and cookies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think I would not exaggerate if I call it the worst experience I have had over the last few years. Every day me and my wife had to stand on the queue for breakfast for 30 minutes or more. Afterwards you would queue up for breakfast. Feels like you need to queue up for everything. The hotel is huge and apparently service capacity is not sufficient, that was the problem. We didn't have even bottle of water in our room, not talking about tea and coffee. We didn't get the value for the price we paid, which was high. Internet was complementary, but that was useless. Would I stay there next time? - certainly no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you did not feel you received the value you deserved and for the inconvenient wait times you experienced at breakfast. We appreciate your time and input and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit New York so we might show you the improved quality stay you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If u manage to stop in pls go and see John at the lobby bar, he is the quintisential old school bartender. He makes waiting for your room a joy! Oh and the Italian Marie is a plesant hostest! We will always stop there for a cold one and good laugh!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Showed up at 6 pm and we were given a room that was not ready, all messed up and had to wait over an hour to have it ready.. Lots of apologies but , paying over 500 usd/nt you expect something else. Next day, in the morning, it was impossible for me to convince either the consierge or the bell capt, to take something back to my room, the bell capt attitude was extremely rude and once again , I was going to complain to the manager but it looks to me it was a waste of time, better dont come back here. Sharp contrast with the Hilton at Faniuel Hall in Boston were we stayed before coming here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not live up to our brand standard hospitality during your recent visit. It is our mission to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments to improve our guests' experience and hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York Hotel
Hilton New York
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.