We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, bustling hotel in a good, safe location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive from $169
Ranked #345 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big, bustling hotel in a good, safe location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Fairly expensive with all the taxes added on, but a safe area close to Rockefeller Center, MOMA, 5th ave shopping and Central Park. Big, bustling hotel with good service. Nice amenities for HH diamond members including comfortable dining/lounge area with drink machines, breakfast, afternoon snacks, etc and cookies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think I would not exaggerate if I call it the worst experience I have had over the last few years. Every day me and my wife had to stand on the queue for breakfast for 30 minutes or more. Afterwards you would queue up for breakfast. Feels like you need to queue up for everything. The hotel is huge and apparently service capacity is not sufficient, that was the problem. We didn't have even bottle of water in our room, not talking about tea and coffee. We didn't get the value for the price we paid, which was high. Internet was complementary, but that was useless. Would I stay there next time? - certainly no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20cx410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you did not feel you received the value you deserved and for the inconvenient wait times you experienced at breakfast. We appreciate your time and input and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit New York so we might show you the improved quality stay you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Montclair, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If u manage to stop in pls go and see John at the lobby bar, he is the quintisential old school bartender. He makes waiting for your room a joy! Oh and the Italian Marie is a plesant hostest! We will always stop there for a cold one and good laugh!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Showed up at 6 pm and we were given a room that was not ready, all messed up and had to wait over an hour to have it ready.. Lots of apologies but , paying over 500 usd/nt you expect something else. Next day, in the morning, it was impossible for me to convince either the consierge or the bell capt, to take something back to my room, the bell capt attitude was extremely rude and once again , I was going to complain to the manager but it looks to me it was a waste of time, better dont come back here. Sharp contrast with the Hilton at Faniuel Hall in Boston were we stayed before coming here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not live up to our brand standard hospitality during your recent visit. It is our mission to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments to improve our guests' experience and hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In the past 15 years i think i have stayed here about 100 times. As diamond member i always get the renovated rooms, but have seen the old rooms- definately recommend asking for the reno. When you Book on hilton.com its hard to tell the difference from the descriptions but avoid the rooms that show striped wall paper behind the bed.

Hotel consistently clean, service is consistently good: never memorable for being great or bad. Its too big to feel like you are getting any personal service, but they are efficient so i would recommend it for business travel only, for couples or families who spend more time actually in the hotel, i would recommend a smaller hotel where you get to know the people at the desk etc.
Hotel recently removed refridgerators and coffee makers, and unless you are diamond you pay extra for wifi and breakfast, so they give you absolutely nothing for free. This year hilton increased their Diamond status qualification to 30 stays(!), and I make a max of 24 (which i thought was a lot) per year so i decided to start sleeping around. I am trying new hotels in NYC, and have realized there are far better value hotels in the area; hilton offers less and less for your money, while others are giving more and more-even in NYC. Basically, you get more elsewhere without any 'status' than you get as a 'Diamond' member at the hilton. The PEARL was great, for example.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel. We appreciate your candid feedback on your cumulative stays and hate to hear you feel our value is slipping. We strive to provide unique experiences in inspiring environments to each of our guests and we will take your comments on our accommodations and in-room amenities into consideration as we continually work to achieve this goal. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may once again show you the quality service and value you have come to expect from our property.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a bustling hotel; you will not be able to find a quiet spot (except for your room) or a service without a line, especially the elevators. My husband and I arrived mid-week on a Wednesday thinking that it would be a little less crowded than a weekend excursion to the City. The hotel offers valet parking for $51 and that is not bad for NYC. Extra fee for a refrigerator. Rooms are small but clean. The hallway was noisy at times. For a clean room, fairly reasonable price and just a place to sleep, then this is fine for you. If you are looking for peace, quiet, roomy quarters and service, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesgood83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your impressions via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid feedback on the comfort and appointment of our rooms and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope to have another chance to impress you with our service and accommodations should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A return stay that I anticpated with pleasure. The hotel is relatively humongous, but it seems to run very smoothly. Despite the fact same restaurative reconstruction in the F&B appeared be ongoing, breakfast was well-catered for. The friendliness is consistently inviting and open, in crossing housekeeping on the floor, the breakfast venue, and reception. Stepping out of the hotel transforms a being into one of many to step in the Americas. Crowded as usual, just a few blocks away from the serenity that can be experienced with spinout models of the ice age squirrels in the famous Central Park. Excellent business hotel closely encircled with yellow cars. Never an issue to get transport or find nice restaurants within walking distance. The gym excels in space and device to be used in training. The room, as before, is spacious, silent and sufficiently equipped to make life as pleasurable as it is. As before, I shall return either for business or pleasure, whenever the wind takes me back to New York. So close to the Big Apple Apple's shrine at the brinks of Central Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,857 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,293 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,959 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,573 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing