We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but much better value available in NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #322 of 452 hotels in New York City
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good but much better value available in NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In the past 15 years i think i have stayed here about 100 times. As diamond member i always get the renovated rooms, but have seen the old rooms- definately recommend asking for the reno. When you Book on hilton.com its hard to tell the difference from the descriptions but avoid the rooms that show striped wall paper behind the bed.

Hotel consistently clean, service is consistently good: never memorable for being great or bad. Its too big to feel like you are getting any personal service, but they are efficient so i would recommend it for business travel only, for couples or families who spend more time actually in the hotel, i would recommend a smaller hotel where you get to know the people at the desk etc.
Hotel recently removed refridgerators and coffee makers, and unless you are diamond you pay extra for wifi and breakfast, so they give you absolutely nothing for free. This year hilton increased their Diamond status qualification to 30 stays(!), and I make a max of 24 (which i thought was a lot) per year so i decided to start sleeping around. I am trying new hotels in NYC, and have realized there are far better value hotels in the area; hilton offers less and less for your money, while others are giving more and more-even in NYC. Basically, you get more elsewhere without any 'status' than you get as a 'Diamond' member at the hilton. The PEARL was great, for example.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel. We appreciate your candid feedback on your cumulative stays and hate to hear you feel our value is slipping. We strive to provide unique experiences in inspiring environments to each of our guests and we will take your comments on our accommodations and in-room amenities into consideration as we continually work to achieve this goal. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may once again show you the quality service and value you have come to expect from our property.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,154
    2,006
    1,162
    494
    243
See reviews for
1382
1124
292
1323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a bustling hotel; you will not be able to find a quiet spot (except for your room) or a service without a line, especially the elevators. My husband and I arrived mid-week on a Wednesday thinking that it would be a little less crowded than a weekend excursion to the City. The hotel offers valet parking for $51 and that is not bad for NYC. Extra fee for a refrigerator. Rooms are small but clean. The hallway was noisy at times. For a clean room, fairly reasonable price and just a place to sleep, then this is fine for you. If you are looking for peace, quiet, roomy quarters and service, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your impressions via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid feedback on the comfort and appointment of our rooms and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope to have another chance to impress you with our service and accommodations should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill, CMP
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A return stay that I anticpated with pleasure. The hotel is relatively humongous, but it seems to run very smoothly. Despite the fact same restaurative reconstruction in the F&B appeared be ongoing, breakfast was well-catered for. The friendliness is consistently inviting and open, in crossing housekeeping on the floor, the breakfast venue, and reception. Stepping out of the hotel transforms a being into one of many to step in the Americas. Crowded as usual, just a few blocks away from the serenity that can be experienced with spinout models of the ice age squirrels in the famous Central Park. Excellent business hotel closely encircled with yellow cars. Never an issue to get transport or find nice restaurants within walking distance. The gym excels in space and device to be used in training. The room, as before, is spacious, silent and sufficiently equipped to make life as pleasurable as it is. As before, I shall return either for business or pleasure, whenever the wind takes me back to New York. So close to the Big Apple Apple's shrine at the brinks of Central Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came to NYC to show our two kids the big city. We traveled with a 6 and 3 year old. The hotel lobby is clean and expansive. Check in had a line but moved quickly. The elevators are quick and are divided up by floors. The room was two double beds and was very clean. I believe it must have been renovated recently. Beds were comfortable, ESP after a long day of walking. Housekeeping was fine. The Starbucks in the hotel was very crowded but there are two Starbucks located within sight of the hotel. The location is perfect for all attractions that appealed to our family-- Times Square, Central Park, 5th ave area. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Three of us checked in last weekend for a three night stay here at the New York Hilton. We had a guest room with two doubles booked.

Location was great as easy access to Times Square however walking at night down 54th to Broadway is slightly dark & had an ex con asking for cash aggressively on the last night. Also I was offered cocaine twice at the end of this road near the Sheraton. Might be best to walk down to 52nd-53rd to cross to broadway. Easy to walk to rockefella & Central Park which we did on the trip.

Room 534 looked good on arrival, though a lamp fitting was out of place it looked smart enough. The bathroom however was not.. Water did not flow down the bath plug as it was jammed with hair. I literally pulled out a handful and still was blocked. Not great seeing we had just been travelling ten hours. The least you expect is that the water flows down the drain. I contacted reception the next day and this was fixed but still not a great first impression of a Hilton Hotel.

We did not eat at the hotel as rates were very high, we did however stop at Starbucks opposite & Lindy's down 54th towards broadway (Lindy's was overpriced for the service we had there)

We had a great weekend just a shame the room wasn't up to scratch on arrival for a Hilton branded hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the city and for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your room's appointment and for the drain issue you encountered. We have shared your comments with our maintenance teams in an effort to prevent similar issues and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to New York in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the last two months. The location is great..near Rock Center and close to the Theater District of Times Square. I had a lot of trouble with wireless on my last visit, which was a real issue for me. The rooms are ok, but nothing special for the price. The health club is fabulous. We did have an excellent room service breakfast one morning. A bit inconsistent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. I apologize that internet access was of concern during your time with us, we do offer a toll free number specifically dedicated to assisting our guests and I have touched base with both our provider and the customer service line to ensure that they are aware of the issue and making upgrades to the system to ensure this is not an issue for anyone else. Thank you for letting me know, I appreciate your comments.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My daughter had to stay at this hotel for a week. She was there with a group of her classmates attending a conference. She got bitten by bed bugs. She had no idea what bed bugs were. She requested her sheets to be changed because she thought she got some kind of allergy. When the hotel workers came to her room, they took pictures of both her arms, and suggested to move to the different room. NOBODY mentioned to her and her friends that it was bed bugs. The girls refused (they did not know better). My daughter went and bought Zyrtec because she was convinced it was an allergy. When Zyrtec did not help, and she emailed me the pictures, I took them to a doctor. The doctor looked and said right away it was bed bugs bites. I contacted the hotel immediately and spoke to a manager named Cody. Ms. Cody said that the girls refused to move to a different room, so there is nothing they can do (imagine how convenient it is to blame the girls for everything!!!!!) Well, NOBODY explained to the girls what was going on. After I spoke to my daughter and explained everything to her, the girls immediately packed their belongings and moved. I requested to get a copy of a report from the hotel about this accident and after they check the room thoroughly. So far, I did not get anything yet. I wonder if they will admit they have a huge bed bug problem there and don't do anything about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.