We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #319 of 449 hotels in New York City
Sudbury, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights this past July 2012, Great location, close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue, Rockafeller Plaza and Times Square. Clean room, beds were comfortable but bathroom ceiling was peeling. I have been to New York City twice before and stayed right off Times Square and much preferred this location because the area is not as busy. Hotel was crowded though but we were there during prime season. Two things I didn't like were that you had to pay to use the gym facilities if you were not a Hilton Rewards Member and that if you wanted a fridge in your room you had to rent one. We often bought food at the food market down the street and could have used a fridge to keep our food in. I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    2,024
    1,137
    483
    234
See reviews for
1286
1087
283
1277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location and although the rooms are a little worn, you can be assured of the usual standard of Hilton Comfort. my wall was a bit thin so had to request my neighbour to turn the volume on his tv down and room service is pretty expensive. good shower and very comfy bed (most important) so jet lag never reared its ugly head!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hilton is in a fabulous location!!! Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, Theatre District, Fifth Avenue, Central Park and major iconic New York department stores and museums. The lobby is very grand, but some of the rooms are in need of updates. We needed to switch rooms, due to our first room booked on Hilton points. Our first room, on the "Executive Floor" was in need of updates, but the second room we got that was a double deluxe was great!! All in all, it's a nice hotel in a fabulous location!!

Room Tip: Executive Floor rooms need renovating. Make sure your room has been recently updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is fantatic, but choice of rooms is important. The most up to date rooms are on the lower ones, the best views are much higher up but the rooms are a little tired.They are big enough, but not really 4*. The location is 5* hence the overall 4* rating. Also, the wait for lifts can be long at peak times.
The room service is horribly expensive - no tea/coffee making facilities in room, so we got room service, ONCE! After that, there is a great little deli round the corner where we took breakfast everyday.
The concourse/foyer gets VERY busy and noisy. People chasing the free wifi. What was good was the provision of computer and printer for on line check in.
If we were coming back to NY, we would use the Hilton again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best thing about this Hotel is its location. At the corner of 53rd and 6th, you have Central Park 10 mins away by foot. At the same distance heading south is Times Square. A further 15 mins south is the shopping district. So whatever your thing is, Manhattan has it all and this hotel puts you in the middle of it.
Some floors are newly renovated and the interiors are superb. Very well furnished rooms indeed. However several floors in the hotel are still not revamped and don't be surprised to find leaking taps and torn wall paper in the bathroom... Completely liveable though and no compromise on cleanliness and hygiene. Make sure that you ask for a newly renovated room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton NYC has a great location near everything in NUC. However the staff were very un-caring. From the arrival we pulled in the Parking (a $50a night mind you) no body showed up to help with the bags. I had to drag 2 big suitcases throughout the lobby under the eyes of the staff who cared less. The lobby huge and extremely crowded and noisy. Check in was ok but the room we got was not a good choice. I did reserve for a high floor which we got but was really facing a building!! The room was in need of a refurbishment - it felt like old and smelled like it.
Breakfast is so so and very crowded. The hostess, a golden age lady, was chatting with her friend not bothering with the line waiting. And when we ask her she replies with that "nice" NY attitude.. Oh well .. She is someone grandma so cannot argue with her.
Other times we call he front desk jut to be on hold nd at the end no one picks up.
Well for the money, it was not wow.. There are better choices

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience with staff members and value at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and better meet guest expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality we stand for should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Kellie Cahill, CMP
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a hotel that treats its guests like a herd. I am a Diamond member (the highest level of fidelity) and yet I can guarantee that I felt like a nobody.
The breakfast room in the executive lounge becomes (on certain days) almost a war.
If it's raining and you go to the concierge to ask for an umbrella, you simply get a "have no more" and that's all.
No morning newspaper or even a bottle of water as would be supposed for a diamond member.
With so many better options around, don't stay in a hotel that doesn't care or give any attention to you.
This was not the first time I was treated with such disregard. But always gave another chance in the hope of an improvement. Now I gave up... no more Hilton NY for me.
To store your luggage (even being a guest) costs $ 3.50.
It is a "soulless hotel". A place where you definitely don't feel special.
The only good service that you see there is in the advertising on the elevator screen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you felt in any way unimportant or not valued and assure you this is not acceptable of our hotel and staff. Every guest is very important to us, especially our HHonors members, so I have addressed these issues with our team. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience what our brand is known for: truly award-winning hospitality.

Thank you,



KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

HILTON NEW YORK
t: +1 212 261 5966 I Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.