We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel is OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #320 of 449 hotels in New York City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Hotel is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Hotel itself is really nice, the aerea where it is located as well but internet conxion is very expensive and pretty slow.
The view to the "WTC" is nice even though it is not there anymore!
BY the elevator there is a something like a window which you can see the brigde.
The Staff is nice they make you feel special no matter how many guests they have in house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your visit. We are glad you found our location convenient for sightseeing and activities in the city. We apologize our internet service did not meet your needs and we will share your concerns with our provider. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in New York, we would love to see you back.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,166
    2,024
    1,136
    481
    233
See reviews for
1283
1087
282
1275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location in midtown Manhattan. From the marble reception to the spacious and clean rooms I could not fault this hotel. Central park, the Rockefeller centre, times square and 5th avenue are all within walking distance. One tip though if you plan going out clubbing the first night you arrive make sure you memorise the hotel address before you go, there are a lot of Hilton hotels "near times square" as I learned at 3 in the morning on the first night of my stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the hotel for 11 nights
The location is 10! But the rooms are very old, Terrible cleanliness , they don't clean the rooms even if you ask many times
The service is good but I wouldn't come back because the cleaning
One more thing they charge for each package you get

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing this brief feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in the level of cleanliness you experienced. We strive to provide the best in comfort and cleanliness and having shared your comments with our housekeeping team, we will work harder to do so in the future. We are glad you found our location convenient for your activities in the city and hope you will consider staying with us again should you return in the future.

Thank you,

Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel seems to be franchised out now. There was no coffee maker and no kettle was provided upon request and no minibar, no shower or locker in gym. They seem to be trying to save money and cut costs. Staff is not happy and is open about this. The quality is not at all the same. This hotel should have a 3.5 star evaluation.

Room Tip: there are other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Nell,

John,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your candid feedback on your visit. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in this stay and we appreciate your input. We will keep your comments and amenity suggestions in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you expect the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,
Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Marketing
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Overall a very disappointing stay considering the cost.
Had traveled up to New York the week previous staying at various motels on the way, and the Hilton was by far the worst of them all.
The only plus point was that the rooms were a decent size.
They were tired and in need of renovation
The hotel in general was looking very tired and a lot of the facilities were not available

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us this holiday season. We appreciate your feedback on your New Year's stay and we apologize you were disappointed in your room's appointment and amenities. We will keep your comments in mind as we look towards future renovations and hope you will return to see the changes made should you visit the city in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton New York as part of a conference, so understandably, the rate was higher than I expected, but even so, the hotel fell way below my expectations.
The rooms are in need of refreshment, even though they are spacious, the décor has seen better days and lack some of the amenities that you find in hotels in the category.
As high as the nightly rate is, guests get no relief because other services (like the breakfast, business center charges, etc.) are just as expensive. Service is efficient, but with few exceptions, I found the staff to be a bit cold… I called several times in advance to check if they had received a package that I was shipping and I just couldn’t get an answer (however, on my arrival, I was welcomed by a handling fee that far exceeded my expectations)
The location is outstanding, walking distance to most of the famous landmarks (central park, Fifth Avenue, times square, etc.) so you can really get a lot done and have a blast…. With a little bit of work, this hotel has serious potential for business travelers and tourists alike.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from our annual stay at the Hilton New York for the NRF convention. This is my 5th or 6th time at this hotel and it's always terrific. The location is incredibly convenient to everything (right around the corner from MoMa and a very short walk to both Times Square and Rockefeller Center), the rooms are comfortable, and the whole property is impeccably clean. The lobby is always jam-packed, which makes for interesting people watching. Other than for variety's sake, there's no reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.