We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good value with an overcrowded lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Lounge Access
Ranked #336 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well located, good value with an overcrowded lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good rooms, clean, quiet to sleep. It is very well located in midtown. The only inconvenience is the overcrowded lobby with people sitting on the floor connected to internet and eating food purchased outside. Another strange thing is seeing pizza delivery employees in the elevators going to the rooms.
If you overlook these anormalities in this type of hotels and only use it to sleep it is a very good option in a very comvinient location at a reasonable price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    2,427
    1,425
    631
    313
See reviews for
1,680
1,386
342
1,663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A very large, centrally located hotel. Very impersonal and chaotic, but to be expected at such a mega hotel. We had to switch rooms twice upon check in, once because the room was not yet made up, and the second because a previous guest had smoked in the room. Once into our third room, it was a typical Hilton room. Clean sheets, comfortable bed, and pretty good size for NYC standards. The bathroom was small, and not quite up to usual Hilton cleanliness. Lots of stray hairs around (not belonging to us!) even and some mold in the shower. Signs of wear and tear, but for the price an location, about what was to be expected. No way to call the front desk directly from the room, which made getting issues resolved somewhat complicated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candor and apologize for the disappointing first impression our rooms made. We are glad to have gotten you into a satisfactory room and that you were ale to enjoy your stay in comfort however we will share your comments with our housekeeping team to alert them to possible situations to keep an eye out for. We value your input as new perspectives help us to constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete hotel package you expect and deserve the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of this Hotel is second to none, Radio City 1 min, Rockerfellar 2 mins, Times Square and Central Park 5 mins.
The Hotel is huge, think of a very busy airport terminal and the lobby of the hotel would come very close to this.
The outside of the hotel does nothing for it, but when you step inside it is a very, very nice hotel.
Staff are all extremely helpful, professional and courteous. The bar and restaurant are a little expensive, but hey, its New York, get used to it!!!!

We had booked a family room months in advance and did get a very good deal for Xmas. We were offered an upgrade before we arrived and had accepted it, but when we got there it wasn't available (we had been told by the hotel in advance that we might not get it so we weren't overly dissapointed). The room we got was on the 8th floor and was a very good size.
Wifi was available in the room at $14.99 per day (expensive), we had 3 devices with us and when we logged them onto the Wifi we were charged for all 3 devices, when we went to reception they fixed this and only charged us for 1 connection and gave us a password for the other devices, so be careful. Wifi is free in the lobby.

We arrived on the 23rd December and the check in line was very big, not sure if this is the norm as staff did seem quite surprised when they looked up and saw it. The staff were very efficient and it didn't take to long to get checked in though.

Overall this is a great hotel in a great location in a great city. If and when I go back to New York I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor through 8th floor are newly refurbished. 39th floor through 44th floor are only accessable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on December 23 with a check in line that covered the whole length of the lobby. The line moved very quickly and staff checked with people in line to make sure they had to be there. I was in room 1313, two double beds, I was shocked at the size of the room, i have spent lots of time in NYC hotels and this one was the biggest I have ever seen! Tis place was a zoo during Christmas and other than the massive amount of people there was little to complain about. You are not a unique and special snowflake at this hotel, but they know what they are doing. The public dining space was minimal and was the lowlight of our stay.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
656 reviews 656 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As expected, this hotrel is representative of top Hilton properties, with a location within easy walking distance of Central Park, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, MOMA, Carnegie Hall and other attractions. The facilty is clean, secure and run by a generally pleasant, efficient staff.
Our room was nice and clean, with a view up to Central Park, but I couldn't believe the Hilton skimps by not providing a fridge or coffee maker!. I also wasn't thrilled with the bathroom. At 6'5", one of my pet peeves is shower heads set at eye level - and they had plenty of room to set it higher. I also hate bathooms that cram in the toilet like an afterthought. An extra six square feet would have assured that I we wouldn't have to be acrobats to use the facilities!
There is a nice Executive Lounge, but my wife says it was nicer when it was on an upper flor, with more space. This one gets pretty crowded, and it would be nice to eeat breakfast without sidewalk voyeurs.
I think most of my issues with this place originate from having been a Hiltton employee years ago, and seeing an evolution to a point where attention to detail is lacking. The public areas off the lobby chronically have a number of people - mostly young adults - sitting on the floor using computers or texting. It looks like a slighly nicer verson of the Port Authority bus terminal. All the hotel would need to do is have a security person periodically move the people along in the interest of safety.
On the upside, we had need of Concierge services several times, and they were consistently knowledgeable and helpful.
Outside, the smoking area is under a covered driveway, concentrating the smoke even when the smokers stay away from the doors. That isn't too bad, but the overflowing butt receptacles impact on visitors' first impressions.
Generally, our stay was very pleasant, but perhaps the Hilton needs a gentle reminder of the need for attention to detail, and the fact that they are not the only game in town. There are several very good hotels close by, and a Hilton should be better than n=most of the competition..

Room Tip: Ask for an upper- floor room with a view of Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton New York. Happy to hear that our location satisfied your needs for this trip. We share the guests feedback with our staffs on a daily basis to improve upon our services.

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, undoubtedly. But ... it seems like they have taken a stingy route: the mini-bar has been "discontinued" (maybe bcs people were buying their own drinks in the local stores?), no coffee-maker in the room (wow!), no daily sheet change, a small bottle of water for 10 bucks... I was there this December (left on the 29th), and those things really disappointed me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton and glad to see that the location worked for your stay. We have indeed discontinued mini bars in the guest rooms. The hotel does do daily sheet change unless you opt out to be sustainable. Thank you again for staying with us.

Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a diamond member, I have stayed at this hotel many times and sadly watched its decline. It's as if the management hopes it can drive away every discerning customer and be left with the occasional, low-expectation traveler who is in awe of the big city hotel. First, the loss of the executive lounge on the 44th floor, to be replaced by a cramped, ill-designed, ill-furnished,il--provisioned spae looking onto adull city street; then a decision no loner to give custoemr a receipt on-site - so all the work is put on the cusotmer, not the hotel; and now, with NO notice whatsoever, the closing of the locker/shower/saunas in the fitness center, abruptly implemented mid-stay on December 31, but sitll not noted on the website. HILTON management: what are you thinking!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor stay you had with us recently. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the quality of our service and amenities and we will keep your comments on our executive lounge and fitness facilities in mind as we look towards future changes to improve our guests' satisfaction. We appreciate your input as a valued HHonors member and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you expect and deserve from us the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,
Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.