We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and premises... just watch out if conventions are taking place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast WiFi Offer
Ranked #332 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and premises... just watch out if conventions are taking place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our first ever visit to NYC.

We loved the location - walking distance from everything... Times Square, theatres, 23 blocks from Rockefeller Center, 1.5 blocks from Radio City, 1 block from MOMA, 4-5 blocks from Central Park! We dropped our car at the valet parking and never touched it again until we left one week later!

The hotel is HUGE, but although it was full it did not feel that crowded.

Service overall and food were good. Food was good - there's a couple of restaurants, a Starbucks, and room dining.

Rooms were clean and comfy.

The only major warning point we had is that the IMTA (International Modeal and Talent Agency) had their annual convention, which meant that ~2,000 teenagers were staying at the hotel and going through the different casting sessions and auditions. All these meetings occurred in the big conference rooms in the 2nd-3rd floors, so they were not interfering with guests unless... THE ELEVATOR! Kids at the meeting rooms would hijack the elevators coming down, so when they got to the Lobby you couldn't get in as it was already full to go up. We once had to wait 20 minutes to go up!

We escalated our concern to the Front Desk and they finally seemed to solve it after 2-3 days. The hotel should have warned us / placed us in a different tower (there are multiple towers with different elevators).

Other than that, the hotel is great and I would definitely recommend it. We look forward to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    2,335
    1,377
    607
    294
See reviews for
1,621
1,335
334
1,593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a big event for us as we had never been on holiday to the USA before. I had booked a package with Cunard including flights to Newark and a three day stay in the New York Hilton followed by a cruise home on the Queen Mary2 so we were really looking forward it.

Perhaps it was our fault for not doing our homework but the Hilton was a real shock to the system. Instead of a nice quiet check-in area we arrived in a huge lobby crammed full of dozens of noisy people dragging bags around with long queues at the check-in. There appeared to be very few seats and several people were sitting on the floor eating take-away food, more like a station than a hotel foyer, but we persevered and eventually were directed to our room.

I'll list the disappointments first: No tea/coffee facilities in the room. The fridge wasn't working. The restaurant was closed in the evening. Hardly any information in the room regarding hotel facilities. Although there were around 80 buttons on the tv hand control I couldn't get beyond the "home" screen that consisted of endless adverts for pay-to-watch movies. Room soundproofing wasn't brilliant. Prices in bar and for breakfast were pretty steep. No quiet residents' area to escape the busy lobby.

On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable and the air conditioning was most welcome. Also it was nice to have free use of the room safe. The location of the hotel couldn't be improved on and the various staff that we spoke to were helpful, polite and courteous.

Finally, as a foreigner I wondered what the bucket in my room was for. On day two I noticed a girl filling a bucket with ice from a machine in the corridor and taking it to her room. Please forgive my ignorance but I'm still not sure why I would want a bucket of ice in my room. Perhaps it's because the fridges don't work....???

Room Tip: Get a room without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Look, this place is fine, its huge, there a what seems to be a million people staying here, the staff are really accommodating but all in all its over priced, smaller rooms, no minibar and the exhorbitant interent connection fees (seriously go downstairs to the lobby and get on the free wireless) make this place one of the lesser options in this great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here on business for over 2 weeks and first room was next to lift shaft which was small, noisey and all in all nothing special.
On asking for a move was moved to a quiter room which was more spacious but decor was tired, wallpaper marked and pretty grotty.
This hotel's main redeeming feature is it's location, close to Central Park, the Moma, Times square, Broadway, 5th Avenue - I did love it for that.
Breakfast is expensive - far cheaper options to be had nearby.
Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Long the hotel of choice for groups and conventions there is a constant swirl of people at this hotel. The rooms are very average and the bathrooms small. The location is, was and remains its most positive feature. Near everything in mid town it is an easy walk to most tourist destinations. I stay there to be near the park for a morning run, but clearly I need to find another option. The most bizarre feature of the hotel is that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms but there is in the lobby, yet the lobby is devoid of much seating so people are sitting on the floor everywhere doing their e-mail or whatever. Makes the lobby look like it is a train station.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here in January for a weekend. The hotel is quite large and has a Starbucks on the ground floor as well as a great breakfast buffet. The rooms are average, smaller rooms than one expects in NYC. The stay was average really. Rooms do have those annoying mini bars that automatically charge your account when an item is moved. This is problematic if needing to store items in the fridge, but it was resolved easily enough at checkout.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My daughter and i stayed here for 3 nights. We asked for early check in, and the room was ready. The bed skirt had, what looked like, blood on it. The second bed had a huge water mark on the bedskirt. I hummed and hawed, and decided to say something. The were very sorry, and immediately gave us another room with no problems. Yes, it is probably past it's prime, and new wallpapaer and paint would be ok!! But, for the price we got it was well worth it. I have no Hilton experience to go by, so for me it was great. The lobby was always busy with business types socializing, prob an overflow from the bar, but all the lines moved quickly. I was also able to get a late check out, with no problems. The elevators were never a problem, so not sure why some people had a problem. I hope this helps anyone who is unsure. this really was a very positive experience. It is also very close to everything, and the subways. Moving around the city was never a problem.

Room Tip: We were on the 25th floor, had a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.