We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha would approve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
75 9th Avenue, At W 15th and W 16th in Chelsea, Meatpacking District, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
212-989-6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
Cairo, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Buddha would approve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved our first trip to Buddakan.It has a very tall and large main room, and noise is a concern.
Edamame dumplings divine!
King crab siu mai are amazing, with a different cut on a typical crab.
Crispy duck not to be missed.
Soft shells also a favorite.
Kung Pao monkfish was great and better on day 2.
Ask for Ed, the sommelier, he is a friend I have to admit, but also very well trained to recommend us a nice smokey sauv. blanc with our meal.
I will have to give Buddakan a "shameless endorsement". I am a foodie and proud to be so.
-David Allen

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,653
    716
    225
    57
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked the trip to NYC my wife handled all the food. She booked us at this restaurant on our second night. There was a wait despite the reservation so we had a couple drinks at the bar. Not that this was a surprise at such a hot spot in New York but its worth mentioning. After about 30 minutes we where seated and ordered our food. I have to say it was some of the best food I have had. The service was great, and attentive and always ready to refill a glass of wine or anything else we needed. There are many choices of restaurants in New York, but should I visit again, I will definitely eat here once again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and brilliant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It was hard to get a booking for a table of 8 online but got one by calling itsdark and moody and super trendy great for entertaining will go again next time I'm in NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had heard about this place before I arrived in NYC and was recommended to go there by friends. You have to book early so I would suggest at least 3-4 days out.
It is super trendy and very New Yorky. The door is black from the street and it is not obviously where it is.
Once inside it is grand and spacious and the are two staircases on either side that lead you into the dining room from the bar.
The difference between this and other top NY restaurants I have been to is the space they allow there diners. We have a large table and no other table was seated near us. You didn't feel rushed and the food was out of this world. Would highly recommend this place if in NYC.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longyearbyen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just go ahead and reserve a table if you are going to New York.
You won't be disappointed, I can promise :)

We had awesome food, awesome service and there's just something about the vibe there that makes you never want to leave :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddakan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.