We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
75 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
212-989-6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great venue, awesome atmosphere and amazing food. Went there twice in a recent 7 night trip to NYC and Buddakan (twice) was definitely the best dining experience we had. Good value too when compared with some high end NYC retaurants we attended, which were no match in terms of food or ambience. The lighting and music were the the perfect complement to the food - dont miss the sesame prawn toast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,195
    536
    170
    51
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Incredible to say the least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

One cannot really find the right words to review a place like Buddakan, no matter what you might say it will remain a incredible place to which words don;t do justice. You have to try it yourself and just indulge all your five senses in what this place has to offer. Here's how my review goes:

1- Location
Meatpacking district...should I say more? It is located directly on 9th avenue a little to the south of midtown towards the west of the Manhattan. Is is accessible through all roads leading to this part of town. If you are staying in one of the hotel on Times Square, it will be a short 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride depending on the status of the traffic lights. If you are already enjoying time in the Meatpacking bars, clubs and lounges, Buddakan is accessible on foot or through a very short car ride.

2- The place
The adventure of Buddakan starts the minute you walk through the door. It is marvelously decorated with chic styles of wood and colors engulfing the place with a an atmosphere of glamour and fashion. The place basically has two levels. the ground level is huge and lights are more dimmed, it is shaped like a perfect square or rectangle with a void in the middle. As soon as you are walked to your table you will notice that the void is actually the marvelous lower level, equally huge boasting an amazing luxury. Make sure you peak and have a look at it as it is really worth seeing and it is usually more lit, so you can have a great perspective of the decoration.
Like any luxurious restaurant, Buddakan's table are greatly managed with excellent covers embodying the place's colors and styles.
Tables are well spaced providing a great sense of privacy, the music is fairly loud, just loud enough so you can have a great conversation on your own table and loud enough to avoid anyone eavesdropping.

3- Menu
It is a work of art, we order pretty much an item from each section of the menu and I can say that there was not one single thing that was not mouth watering and unique in its taste. The first thing you notice are the various flavors that are literally distinct from one plate to another. The Asian style is well apparent in all ingredients, scents and plate decoration. You get to feast your eyes, your nose and your appetite, the food by all means satisfies all your senses at Buddakan

4- Service
Just as everything is just wonderful, service does not fall far away from everything else. Front desk officers are uniquely courteous in showing you the location of your reservation and providing you with a tour of the place if you request to. You are shown to the waiting area at the entrance, formed of large sofas where you can comfortably enjoy a perfect drink.
Waiters and waitresses are trained to the level of luxurious 5 star hotel outlets, they know everything on the menu and would recommend the perfect items suiting your tastes....not their pockets

I would recommend Buddakan for sure as a great place to enjoy the last day of your New York vacation. You should take note that such luxury and style come at a large price. A typical three person meal would cost around 250$. Also note that the place charges a 20% gratuity directly to your bill and still ask you for additional tip "Should you wish to leave more". So it is definitely not your budget place if you are there on vacation, but I would still recommend it
Buddakan is set to leave a great impression if you are taking someone on a date

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance but poor food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It is one of the most beautiful places i have seen in NYC: huge spaces, nice atmosphere and beautiful lighting. The service is very nice and people are friendly. Unfortunately the food is not as the same level as the restaurant. It was ok but it definetely needs to improve. I would go there just for a drink

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had an amazing and delicious meal here. Came with a party of 10 and we ordered so much stuff and shared. everything was awesome and so tasty. Yes it is expensive as well but worth it if you dont mind spending the extra buck.

We had a late reservation because we came after a bachleorette party/event. it was 11pm on a saturday night and it was still pretty packed/full. I could imagine the wait if it was several hours earlier. we waited about 30mins before getting a table. it was a lil hectic at the party because of the crowd so i was happy to be seated after 30 mins.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, but too much trying to be hip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Although we made reservations we had to wait almost 1 hour. Drinks at the bar ok, good service. After talking to the manager we went to the table but they offered us (party of 6) the biggest table in the middle of the restaurant. They really don't understand it. We finally got a table for 6. Waiter was very helpful and we had a great dinner. We ordered menu 2 and had a few nice bottles Pinot Noir (good suggestion of the waiter). Everything tasts really great, the cod is the best. The music is very loud, not always easy to have a conversation. Restrooms dirty. Expensive. Overall, good place to have a night out with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddakan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.