We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable bargain and fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarers & International House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seafarers & International House to your Saves list
Seafarers & International House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E. 15th St., New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Unbeatable bargain and fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Location: 2 short blocks (5 min walk) from the 14th and Union Square station which has multiple MTA lines (L,N,Q,R,4,5,6). Near Walgreens, Food Emporium Supermarket, Whole Foods, and Union Square.

Hotel: 11 floors (higher up equals less street noise). Simple lobby with free WiFi. Free baggage check. 25 cent coffee. Friendly staff. 24 hour front desk security. 2 slow elevators. Mostly adult guests, no partying college students. Quiet and modest.

Rooms: 10 rooms per floor. 2 toilets and 2 showers. Never a line for the bathroom. Rooms include A/C and radiator. All rooms have twin beds. Small flat screen cable TV and phone. Some double rooms have private bathrooms and a mini fridge. Bare essentials. No shampoo or conditioner. Includes soap and towels. bring your shower slippers. Beds have soft mattresses. Carpet is worn. It's simple living. Room sizes are pretty good by NYC standards. Housekeeping makes your bed and change your towels, but does not change your sheets. No bedbugs.

Costs: As of Dec 2012---Single w/ shared bathroom $106 (sun-thurs). Single w/ shared bathroom $109 (fri-sat). Double w/ private bathroom $136 (sun-thurs). Double w/ private bathroom (fri-sat) $145. Double rooms have 2 twin beds. Check in at 3pm, check out at 11am. Need to call or email for availability and reservations. No online booking. No tax! It's a Lutheran church-sponsored guest house, so room prices are not taxed. (Otherwise the tax rate for hotels is about 15%)

I would definitely stay here again. You cannot find a better deal for a low-budget hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
37
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for several nights before leaving for Turkey. The room was simple and very clean and comfortable.
It couldn't be more convenient and we were happy that we were in a lutheran establishment because we forgot to remove our room key from the door!
Obviously the good Lord was watching over us!
.25 coffee is to good to be true and the front desk attendant was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The seafarers really is a great place to stay inexpensively in NYC. It was my second time around, and I still would come back.

Good:
- Price!
- Great location right at Union Square.
- Rooms are clean and have okay views out of the windows.
- facilities are all clean
- coffee (25 cent) in the lobby
- helpful staff
- couldn't find any evidence or reports of bed bugs

Average:
- Rooms and house certainly aren't the most beautiful you have ever seen. Not a place to hang around a lot, but a good base for tourists who are much in town either way.

Room Tip: The higher the more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need a clean, secure place to lay your head for under $100 in downtown Manhattan, this is it. For that price, you get a humble lodging - a room with a singe bed, a desk, a tv and a sink, with a shared toilet and shower in the hall, brilliantly located right off Union Square. That was all I needed (except the tv) - and with a little imagination and all of Manhattan waiting outside, who needs more, really? They have wifi and computers for use on the mezzanine, free coffee in the lobby, laundry and vending machines in the basement. Note that visitors are not allowed above the lobby level. No extra charges, taxes or hidden fees, although donations are welcome.

This outfit is run as a nonprofit hospitality ministry by Lutherans, but they welcome anyone and are very pleasant and not at all pushy about the religious mission. Services are held in the ground-floor chapel at 11am, if you are so inclined. The front desk staff are pleasant but not obsequious, and they are flexible about holding luggage before check-in (3pm) or check-out (11 am) times.

No food is served on the premises, but Joe Junior's was the staff recommendation for breakfast -- a most excellent and inexpensive short-order dive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Seafarers has a lot to offer its guests. It is right near Union Square where they hold the famous Farmers Markets on Mon, Wed, Fri & Sat, and a huge variety of other stores, restaurants and cafes in the area. Walking distance to Greenwich Village, East Village, Flatiron Building, and Macy's.

Across the street is Irving Plaza where some great musicians continue to perform. Back in the late 70's it was a popular rock venue where the B52's, Talking Heads, and Ramones used to perform.

If you stand right outside Seafarers at night and look directly north you will have a stunning view in the distance of one of my most favourite landmarks in New York City - the magnificent Chrysler Building, glistening its all its glory.

Only a 2 minute walk to a major subway line 14th St (Union Square Station), easy walk even in the highest of heels. There is a supermarket "Food Emporium" diagonally across the road, if you want to pick up some goodies.

Rooms are comfortable and practical, with the convenience of having your own sink and mirror. Bathroom facilities are shared, which included separate shower and toilet. On my floor there were approximately 10 rooms, with 4 showers/toilets. I never had trouble waiting for a shower or a toilet.

Simply a very reasonable place to stay, in more ways than one.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the eastern side. Single rooms aren't equipped with a fridge, but some dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel (kind of backpackers) has all advantages for people wanting to stay for a limited budget in NYC.

Situation is very good and not far from walking distance to a subway which allows you to easily travel in NYC.

Room are basic, with a TV and air con but clean (and this is all we were really expecting)! We stayed 5 nights there with no private shower bedroom, but all was fine!

I think other review describe well this hotel, I recommend it for pple who are not too strict and who do not need a top class service hotel !

The only bad point (but which we knew when booking the room), is that I had to sleep on a cot bed (for adult) which is of course less comfortable, but acceptable.

I will go again for sure on my next trip to NYC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I first stayed at the Seafarers & International House in 2010 and again in July 2012. During my most recent visit I shared a room with my brother and we stayed for four days and three nights. The management recently renovated the lobby and now it has a more modern feel to it. Although the guest house does not offer any breakfast on site, there are several coffee and tea options in the lobby.

Disadvantages:

• Wi-Fi access only in the lobby and the mezzanine
• No housekeeping while guests occupy the room

Advantages:

• The guest house is clean, quiet, and safe
• Unbeatable location
• Student discount ($86 per night)
• Rooms with 2 separate beds available (twin size bed and a comfortable camp bed)
• Two computers with printers in the mezzanine
• Luggage room available
• Onsite chapel and services
• Room revenue goes towards supporting port ministry

Note that some rooms do not have private shower and bathroom. However, there are two showers and bathrooms on each floor for the guests to share.

One of the greatest advantages is the location! The guest house is located on E 15th street which is a short walking distance from Union Square. There is a variety of stores and restaurants in the area such as Walgreens, Whole Foods, TGI Friday's, Starbucks, and many more. There is also a regal movie theater nearby with tickets costing around $13 for children and adults. In addition, the Union Square Subway station is on lines L-N-Q-R-4-5-6 and the 1-2-14D+A bus lines are in close proximity.

I loved both of my stays and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view as well as less noise If you are not comfortable sharing shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Address: 123 E. 15th St., New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seafarers & International House 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafarers & International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.