We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value in a very convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarers & International House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seafarers & International House
Save Saved
You added Seafarers & International House to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E. 15th St., New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great value in a very convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for several nights before leaving for Turkey. The room was simple and very clean and comfortable.
It couldn't be more convenient and we were happy that we were in a lutheran establishment because we forgot to remove our room key from the door!
Obviously the good Lord was watching over us!
.25 coffee is to good to be true and the front desk attendant was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
35
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The seafarers really is a great place to stay inexpensively in NYC. It was my second time around, and I still would come back.

Good:
- Price!
- Great location right at Union Square.
- Rooms are clean and have okay views out of the windows.
- facilities are all clean
- coffee (25 cent) in the lobby
- helpful staff
- couldn't find any evidence or reports of bed bugs

Average:
- Rooms and house certainly aren't the most beautiful you have ever seen. Not a place to hang around a lot, but a good base for tourists who are much in town either way.

Room Tip: The higher the more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need a clean, secure place to lay your head for under $100 in downtown Manhattan, this is it. For that price, you get a humble lodging - a room with a singe bed, a desk, a tv and a sink, with a shared toilet and shower in the hall, brilliantly located right off Union Square. That was all I needed (except the tv) - and with a little imagination and all of Manhattan waiting outside, who needs more, really? They have wifi and computers for use on the mezzanine, free coffee in the lobby, laundry and vending machines in the basement. Note that visitors are not allowed above the lobby level. No extra charges, taxes or hidden fees, although donations are welcome.

This outfit is run as a nonprofit hospitality ministry by Lutherans, but they welcome anyone and are very pleasant and not at all pushy about the religious mission. Services are held in the ground-floor chapel at 11am, if you are so inclined. The front desk staff are pleasant but not obsequious, and they are flexible about holding luggage before check-in (3pm) or check-out (11 am) times.

No food is served on the premises, but Joe Junior's was the staff recommendation for breakfast -- a most excellent and inexpensive short-order dive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Seafarers has a lot to offer its guests. It is right near Union Square where they hold the famous Farmers Markets on Mon, Wed, Fri & Sat, and a huge variety of other stores, restaurants and cafes in the area. Walking distance to Greenwich Village, East Village, Flatiron Building, and Macy's.

Across the street is Irving Plaza where some great musicians continue to perform. Back in the late 70's it was a popular rock venue where the B52's, Talking Heads, and Ramones used to perform.

If you stand right outside Seafarers at night and look directly north you will have a stunning view in the distance of one of my most favourite landmarks in New York City - the magnificent Chrysler Building, glistening its all its glory.

Only a 2 minute walk to a major subway line 14th St (Union Square Station), easy walk even in the highest of heels. There is a supermarket "Food Emporium" diagonally across the road, if you want to pick up some goodies.

Rooms are comfortable and practical, with the convenience of having your own sink and mirror. Bathroom facilities are shared, which included separate shower and toilet. On my floor there were approximately 10 rooms, with 4 showers/toilets. I never had trouble waiting for a shower or a toilet.

Simply a very reasonable place to stay, in more ways than one.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the eastern side. Single rooms aren't equipped with a fridge, but some dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel (kind of backpackers) has all advantages for people wanting to stay for a limited budget in NYC.

Situation is very good and not far from walking distance to a subway which allows you to easily travel in NYC.

Room are basic, with a TV and air con but clean (and this is all we were really expecting)! We stayed 5 nights there with no private shower bedroom, but all was fine!

I think other review describe well this hotel, I recommend it for pple who are not too strict and who do not need a top class service hotel !

The only bad point (but which we knew when booking the room), is that I had to sleep on a cot bed (for adult) which is of course less comfortable, but acceptable.

I will go again for sure on my next trip to NYC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I first stayed at the Seafarers & International House in 2010 and again in July 2012. During my most recent visit I shared a room with my brother and we stayed for four days and three nights. The management recently renovated the lobby and now it has a more modern feel to it. Although the guest house does not offer any breakfast on site, there are several coffee and tea options in the lobby.

Disadvantages:

• Wi-Fi access only in the lobby and the mezzanine
• No housekeeping while guests occupy the room

Advantages:

• The guest house is clean, quiet, and safe
• Unbeatable location
• Student discount ($86 per night)
• Rooms with 2 separate beds available (twin size bed and a comfortable camp bed)
• Two computers with printers in the mezzanine
• Luggage room available
• Onsite chapel and services
• Room revenue goes towards supporting port ministry

Note that some rooms do not have private shower and bathroom. However, there are two showers and bathrooms on each floor for the guests to share.

One of the greatest advantages is the location! The guest house is located on E 15th street which is a short walking distance from Union Square. There is a variety of stores and restaurants in the area such as Walgreens, Whole Foods, TGI Friday's, Starbucks, and many more. There is also a regal movie theater nearby with tickets costing around $13 for children and adults. In addition, the Union Square Subway station is on lines L-N-Q-R-4-5-6 and the 1-2-14D+A bus lines are in close proximity.

I loved both of my stays and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view as well as less noise If you are not comfortable sharing shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I am about to finish a very comfortable, friendly and enjoyable stay here. The hostel is clean and has a nice atmosphere, everyone is very friendly and helpful, both staff and the other guests, but I realise that the latter is luck of the draw! No meals are provided but there is a supermarket down the road and a great guy who sells all manner of fruit on the corner of Union Square. The transport links are great, with a subway station on that same corner ( roughly 3 minutes' walk) with connections to most of Manhattan available, and certainly all the major tourist sites. Only issue is that the window in my room didn't completely shut, but this was by millimetres, I was on the 3rd floor and noise wasn't a huge issue. I would definitely stay here if I were to return to New York in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Address: 123 E. 15th St., New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seafarers & International House 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafarers & International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.