We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivy Terrace feels homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Save
You added Ivy Terrace to your Saves list
E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Low rates this week!
Ranked #4 of 87 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ivy Terrace feels homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My niece and I loved staying here. Felt comfortable, pretty, and close enough to the action without drowning in it. The beds were good quality, we loved the decor, and Jeffrey was responsive and very likeable fellow.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms that had different characters, really enjoyed both. I have a sense t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    52
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
73
183
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fantastc location, but room out the front to the street is noisy at night. Very cosy, lovely and helpful host. The maid service was great. An older property, but makes you feel 'at home' in NY... Would definitely rent again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our second trip to New York and we wanted a more "personal experience." We had stayed at a chain hotel in Time Square last time and wanted something different for this trip. The Ivy Terrace was PERFECT. The location is in a neighborhood -- but not too far from all the action. A five minute walk to the subway and just a few minutes to Central Park. There are plenty of neighborhood restaurants and lounges in the immediate area. The inn itself is quaint and nicely decorated. Our room had plenty of space and the kitchenette was wonderful. The refrigerator comes well stocked, and we walked one block to the Whole Foods store and got cheese and wine to enjoy in the afternoon.

As we are older, we chose the Ivy Suite which is one flight up. We didn't have any problem with getting up the stairs. The terrace off the room faces the street and is a great place to enjoy people watching. (For those who might worry about the smells from the Indian restaurant just below the terrace, this is NOT an issue.)

This is an older building with all the charm and quirks that come with it. It is not the same as a large chain hotel, which to me is a plus. The inn keepers (Vinessa and Jeff) are accessible and responsive to any issues that may arise. The bed was comfortable, the room was a good size, the table and chairs were cozy. I'm glad I did my research and chose this inn for our stay. The only negative I can think of is the fact that the inn does not have an elevator, but they are up front about that and you go in knowing you'll need to climb the stairs.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people watching, the Ivy Suite is in the front of the building. If you want a slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently completed our third stay at Ivy Terrace. We normally rent both the Ivy Suite and the Rose Room to accommodate family coming with us. The location is perfect! We are able to walk almost anywhere which helps minimize the calorie intake from our favorites, Patsy's Pizza, Blooms Tavern and the Moonstruck Diner. When you land at the airport and call Jeff to let him know you are on the way the happiness begins. You feel so welcomed and instantly at home. The rooms are beautiful, inviting, and exceptionally furnished and clean. Sitting on the terrace of the Ivy Suite, taking in the city is such a treat. You start dreading having to leave. I truly can't imagine staying elsewhere. Jeff and Vinessa strive to make your stay the perfect New York treat and they do not disappoint. Already looking forward to next time ! Many Thanks, Bob and Sherry Neill

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Wonderful B&B, wonderful location, wonderful people! Very, very spacious room for NYC. Great restaurants nearby, easy walk to Central Park, shopping, Times Square and the theatre district. Vinessa very helpful, very easy to reach. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkdwtch, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks Hank for being 300th review!
So glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in the Greenwich Room. We never get tired of hosting visitors in our amazing city. We look forward to your return, there is still so much to see and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Business meetings, dinners, etc. Exactly what a Manhattan business trip should be. But there is nothing better than coming "home" to Ivy Terrace at night. I love the rooms and the privacy. I appreciate the kitchen and provisions. It's a block or so from a metro station, so I don't need to rent a car. This is the only way I want to experience NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 2nd stay here. We stayed in the Ivy Suite, which has a beautiful, large terrace overlooking 58th street. Although there was still a chill in the air, it warmed up enough (50's and sun) for us to enjoy the terrace. Great food in fridge for breakfast, very comfortable bed, super easy check-in, very nice host who was easy to contact. Also immaculately clean. This is a fabulous place to stay in NYC!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,655 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,999 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,677 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.