We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Save Saved
You added Ivy Terrace to your Saves list
E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brilliant location being close to subways, Central Park, Bloomingdales (!!) and Upper Manhattan. Clean and spacious. We stayed in the Ivy Room which has a lovely terrace. A bit noisy as at 1st floor level but sleeping no real problem. We arrived early and had no problem leaving our bags and likewise on leaving kept them at the place. Fridge stocked with breakfast basics and refilled if you asked. Thanks Jeff for a lovely "introduction" to New York. Will be reserving a room again the next time we come to your city!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    48
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
168
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great guesthouse in uptown Manhattan........We were totally surprised with the outstanding presentation of this property......Basic Breakfast supplies and a night cap Brandy supplied....We had the Ivy suite which had a balcony over looking Second Ave where we sat on a couple of evenings having an after dinner night cap....If I go back to NY I definitely will stay here again, although I think I would take the Rosé suit which has a more private balcony out the back.
Don't think twice....very price competitive also

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been to Ivy Terrace two times for long weekends--once in the spring of last year and more recently in late fall. The first time we had the Rose Room with our own private outdoor patio and the next time the Green Room with large sunny windows looking out on the street. We loved both rooms--just the right combination of luxury and charming comfort. At the end of the day we felt like we were coming home. Located near the train lines, great restaurants, museums, the United Nations (wonderful tour) and Central Park. Whichever way we took a walk in the mornings there was something to see and do. Vinessa and Jeff are amazing hosts--the fridge is always stocked with great breakfast possibilities, the rooms are clean and comfortable, sunny and spacious feeling. Most of all they sincerely want you to have a great time and obviously love what they do. We HIGHLY recommend Ivy Terrace and hope others enjoy it as much as we do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Zen Room for a week, and we would never stay anywhere else. We truly felt like New Yorkers and didn't have to deal with a stuffy hotel full of tourist everyday. The Zen Room was a hike up the stairs, but if you don't mind it then its worth it since it's quiet. The Zen Room was the perfect size for my husband and I. We enjoyed being able to make our own breakfast. The rooms just have so much character compared to the generic feel of most hotels. The location was great since it was close to Central Park and all the nearby museums, there are also two subway stations fairly close. There is a Whole Foods a block away which was really convenient for us. I know when we go back to NYC we will DEFINITELY stay here again. Thanks Jeff and Vinessa!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkdwtch, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us and enjoyed feeling like a New Yorker. Its true, the size of our rooms are larger than the average NYC hotel room. Zen Room very quiet and 3 flights up. As New Yorkers, we are used to stairs, but it is important to mention that it isn't the best choice if you are stair-challenged. Whole Foods is a new addition to our neighborhood, and we ( as well as our guests) love it. We are so grateful you chose Ivy Terrace and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Ivy Terrace is my favorite place to stay in NYC. Each room is more gorgeous than the next -- tastefully designed, cozy, comfortable, clean and fully-stocked with breakfast supplies. My favorite room is the Ivy Suite, which has a beautiful stone terrace overlooking 58th Street -- great for people watching! I love lounging on the terrace with a cup of coffee while planning my day. Although it’s close to museums, shops and city life, it’s seriously very difficult for me to leave that fantastic room! Vinessa, Jeff, and staff go out of their way to offer advice and tips for making my stay even better, and make me feel like a friend rather than a guest. You can’t go wrong with this charming B&B in the heart of NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkdwtch, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of Ivy Terrace! We are so happy to have been your hosts in Manhattan.
The Ivy Suite and Rose Room are the first to fill up in these warmer months. Having the terraces is a real plus and hard to find in the city. Luckily our guests often become friends and we feel so fortunate to have them and their families return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend, thou a bit of a walk to the hop on busses.
We had the ivy room, great size room, lovely sized balcony which we used one night to enjoy the complementary brandy nightcap. The breakfast provisions were great: heaps of yoghurt, breads, butter, cream cheese, peanut butter, juice, milk and heaps of apples/bananas. The steps are a little daunting at start to carry luggage to, but worth it for the rooms. Indian restaurant downstairs (the a not the c), was great.
We saw some other rooms and they all looked great as well
Definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The perfect stop for us coming from California on our way to Switzerland. The Greenwich Room was large, VERY clean and had everything we wanted. Bed very comfortable, the coffee and breakfast items were perfect and room was quiet. Jeff was very accomodating with our early arrival and late departure. I had stayed in Times Square for a few weeks during Super Storm Sandy and did not want to be in a big hotel again. This will be the place we return to when we come visit NYC it is a gem! Thank you Jeff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.