We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out in Manhattan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Save Saved
You added Ivy Terrace to your Saves list
E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
South Salem, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out in Manhattan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a find! Stay here! Comfortable. Reasonable. No hassle.

Breakfast food (eggs, English muffins, too-sweet cold cereal) in the fridge.
Near EVERYTHING.

Parking lost nearby are expensive, but hey, it's NYC.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    48
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
168
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very helpful service especially with last minute travel plan changes, Ivy Terrace staff are very accommodating. Good location - close to the luxury shopping and to Central Park, close to the subway too. The apartment is clean and well-equipped with the essential commodities: cooking facilities, TV, shower/bath. Good size for individual traveler or couple. Relaxing atmosphere, quiet environment, and hassle-free experience. Recommended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Older building of spacious rooms tucked into a commercial block of restaurants and stores but mostly quiet at night - we were there Sat & Sun. Not sure why we did not see any "breakfast items" in the frig or cupboards - both were bare, but the Moonstruck Diner at the corner of 2nd and 58th offered a cheap but good b-fast. Also enjoyed fine Indian dining at Dawat a few doors west of Ivy Terrace. Plenty of restaurants along Second Ave; short walk to a huge food market under the Ed Koch/59th St bridge; major subway line at Lexington Ave, and an easy walk to 5th Ave/Central Park. Easy stroll to the 59th St tram on Second Ave to Roosevelt Island: great views as you go over the East River; check out the spectacular new FDR memorial a 10-minute walk south of the island's tram station. Only 2 suggestions to owner: 1. fix the front door so it locks automatically. At least half of the time we entered the building without needing the key pad because the door was slightly ajar. A clear security concern, even on a relatively safe block in a relatively safe neighborhood. 2. Consider adding pulldown window shades on 58th St side, as the drapes do not offer complete relief from bright morning sun. Overall, would we stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Street noise is not a major issue but is evident on 58th St side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkdwtch, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ivy Terrace B&B. It seems your stay was positive, but less than perfect and for that I apologize. We do offer breakfast with our room rate, as is evidenced by may of our reviews. However, we offered you a 25% off seasonal discount which did not include breakfast. If you look back at the confirmation you will see that this was the special rate that you chose. That was the only reason coffee and teas were all you had in your room. We would have happily explained that, or offered breakfast at our regular rate had you let us know of your concern. I am so glad you mentioned all the great things there are to do in our area. The 59th street tram to Roosevelt Island offers a great birds eye view of the city. Also we have splendid restaurants on our block, including the world famous Felidia, which is really a treat. Our front door is made of wood and swells sometimes in humidity which is why we ask all our guests, and post a note, to make sure the door is shut when they go out for the day. It does lock automatically. Our neighborhood is very safe, but I understand that this caused you concern. I seems we need to stress this even more to guests upon arrival, which we will do. We are happy to hear that you would stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ivy Terrace is brilliant. Easy parking. Great location. Large room with kitchen. Peaceful. Private.Totally hassle-free. A stay at Ivy Terrace makes you feel like the city is your home.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stay stay stay!!! Wonderful B&B in the heart of NY City.
What a great place...great location.
10 short minute walk to 5th Avenue and all the excitement. Just stayed there over Xmas.
Absolutely spotless....and stocked with everything you could want from juice to English muffins.
because we stayed on the third floor in more of a "studio". However, that being said...I would not stay on the third floor again. No elevator....lots of stairs with your suitcases. I would try the room on the first floor or at the least....the second.
But we would absolutely stay there again....it was wonderful and close to everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I took a quick trip to NYC and Ivy Terrace was absolutely phenomenal! We were looking for a place that was quiet, is in a great location, and at a reasonable price. Not only was all our criteria met, but we didn't have to settle for second rate. All of the towels and linens were first class and having street level access was priceless. Having restaurants and shopping super close was awesome. Plus, not having to rent a car at all was also a bonus. The mini kitchen was awesome to have to save a few bucks on food, plus having high quality breakfast products stocked was a super nice treat. Truly, I can't think of one thing I would change about IT. I would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights in October 2012. We spent more time in the apartment than out due to hurricane Sandy. Luckily the apartment was so nice we didn't mind at all. We were in Ivy suite and it was very comfortable, a real 'home from home'.
The fridge was well stocked with far more than we needed for the five breakfasts and the room was clean and comfortable with a lovely terrace on which we would have been able to sit out and watch the world go by if the weather had been kinder to us. This was my third visit to NYC and definitely the best as far as accommodation went. Jeff was very helpful both before we arrived and once we were there. Will definitely stay at Ivy Terrace again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.