We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
88 10th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-4721 (Chelsea)
212-989-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A, C, E at 14th Street. L at 8th Ave.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Exceptionally beautiful from an architectural standpoint. Did the tasting menu and it was fantastic. Expensive, but fantastic. Our waiter was excellent, very knowledgable -- he changed our minds on several items and hit a home run with every one. Make sure you check out the restrooms, they are amazing. We will definitely go here again on our next visit to NYC.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    247
    90
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Really fresh, really pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our meal was excellent, it is just a bit pricey. We tried a variety of things, and we really liked everything.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Modern twist to sushi and sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said? The food was excellent. My wife and I loved everything we ordered. But I must say that my absolute favorite dish was the scallop carpaccio. It came with a light and airy dashi foam that, when I tasted it, was like trying to remember pieces of a fading dream. See: It was so good it's making me wax poetic! We also got the Chef's Choice sushi combination and my wife was in fish heaven. She even liked the spicy tuna roll, that American invention that normally scandalizes her traditional Japanese sensibilities. She also loved the special, which was duck prepared three different ways. We were very full by the end of dinner, but couldn't resist trying the Matcha Tiramisu. If you like the taste of matcha green tea, you have to try this dessert!

In addition to the impeccable food, I must add that the service was attentive but not overbearing. The only negative thing about the evening was that we were placed into a tiny area near the door. The decor there was not as modern or nice as the main dining area. Next time, we will ask to be seated elsewhere.

All in all, I would say that, yes, Morimoto is expensive, but it is definitely worth the money. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. It was also nice to pop into Chelsea Market next door to walk off some of those calories from dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best litchi cocktail !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The place is great. Just ask not to be seated near the emergency exit. Food is not the best in town but service is great and their litchi cocktail is the best. Don't leave without visiting the downstairs toilets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Yet Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is not an inexpensive restaurant. The food can be spectacular or odd. We had the tasting menu ($135/pp), and while some dishes were incredible, others were just weird and unpleasant tasting. But that's a personal matter. Also, calling a shot glass with a dab of sorbet a "course" is absurd. The cold, minimalist atmosphere is interesting, but the tables are jammed in like sardines. A table cloth might have been nice, but there was none.

What is inexcusable was that the service staff, while young, very pleasant and enthusiastic, really didn't know how to provide excellent service. We had to beg to get our water glasses filled. They kept trying to remove plates as people were eating, or left spent plates sitting for too long. The waiter serving the next table put his butt into my food a few times, and another put a tray in my face, close enough to touch me.

If they want to charge like a fine restaurant, then they need to learn how to serve like a fine restaurant. This was for out-of-towners who don't know what good service means and will be impressed because of Morimoto's celebrity. At a third the price, it would have been an interesting dinner. At the prices charged, I expect excellence. It was not.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morimoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.