We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better then expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park to your Saves list
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #91 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even better then expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Last week we stayed in this more then beautiful hotel in Manhattan.
After a stay of 4 days at a room on the 65th floor with breathtaking views, we can only say: we want to go back.
The hotel itself is at an ideal spot, just between Time Square and Central Park, on a relatively quiet part of Broadway. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. We had a room in the residence, with kitchen. Very convenient if you want to escape the sounds of the city for one evening.
For breakfast there is a restaurant on the 3rd floor. Beautiful room, with energetic views on Broadway, waking up in the morning. The breakfast itself is simple, but good!

Even on the 65th you can open a window for fresh air if you like to switch off the climate control. This is one of the things that made the climate in the room perfect.
Staff is helpful and friendly. Respect for managing this new hotel so good in the short time it is open. Looking forward to come back! Thanks for the beautiful stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    70
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
116
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

5 night family trip from the UK with wife and two kids aged 12 & 13. Having researched hotel options alot, I booked this hotel because it's the tallest in America thus great views, is new and modern, and has well designed rooms. I wanted to give my family a real NYC experience!

We booked two "double double" studios because there's no was no way that 4 of us could squeeze into one room. Mum and daughter in one room and me and my son in another. Only slight problem was that there's only one of these "double double" rooms on each floor (room xx09) and they don't go all the way to the top of the hotel apparently. Our rooms were on the 51st and 39th floor....which made my wife and daughter a little nervous because, in case of emergencies, we'd be far apart.

Unfortunately, there was an emergency on the 2nd night when smoke started filling our 51st floor room from the aircon just as we were drifting off to sleep. I turned off the aircon and the smoke stopped bellowing into the room. We called reception and they sent someone up within 2 mins and advised me to go down in the lift. By the time we'd got downstairs, a few floors of the hotel were being evacuated and 30+ firemen in 6+ fire engines had already arrived. Both exciting and scary at the same time!

We realise that these things happen in hotels from time to time and Trip Advisor is littered with examples of fire alarms going off. The key question is how a hotel responds! The good news is that the hotel responded professionally and safety was certainly their top priority.

In response to my direct request (would have been nice if they'd reacted proactively though), they moved us to another room next to the rest of my family on the 39th (a king to share with my son as they'd run out of the scarce "double doubles"), they laundered our clothes that smelled of smoke and gave us that troubled night for free. On our request, they did offer to move us to the RI Times Square but we decided to stay in this newer hotel.

In response to some other TA comments about this hotel:
- rooms are great. Really well designed. Every inch has been thought out.
- elevators weren't a problem for us; quick express lifts, never full and only stopped at one or two floors on the way up or down.
- beds very comfortable. Sheets are a bit noisy, only bothered my wife, not me.
- aircon is very effective though would be helpful if you could turn down the fan speed as very powerful for small rooms and quite noisy.
- breakfast wasn't great in our view. Not many healthy options and the cooked food looked and tasted unnatural and processed. Probably OK for a 5 min breakfast stop but not ideal for a family with kids, especially given the unusual seating arrangements. We went out to a neighbouring diner on most days.
- brilliant location. Easy access to everything.

Despite our "event" on the 2nd night, we would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've read other reviewers go on and on about how great the hotel is but then they don't give it an excellent rating (?) I'm confused.

Yes, the lobby isn't opulent - what other hotel has THAT vibe in Manhattan (anymore?) And WHY are people needing to 'hang out' in the lobby? There are 2 huge restaurants on the 3rd and 4th floors and a humongous park a.k.a Central Park a few blocks away. We pulled up early last Saturday morning clearly expecting to be one of THOSE people hanging out in the lobby with their luggage and found our room was ready (at Noon!)

We had a beautiful corner room overlooking central park on the 51st floor which was newly updated and sexy as ever. The fridge, microwave and dishwasher are all tucked-away and the bathroom was full of granite and glass, not to mention roomy for a midtown hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable.

There is nothing to say negative about this hotel - only positives. This is the best hotel for location (next to CP, broadway, etc) and the front desk crew was excellent.

If you're expecting a Platinum reception if 'of status', forget about it. But the free breakfast was exceptional for a RI! And NO ONE cooks in Manhattan - you don't need a stove.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper corner room overlooking central park - amazing!! Don't miss the breakfast on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for business. All the aspects noted in the title are, in my opinion, critical to choosing a hotel. The niggling negative was that there was literally no place to sit in the street-level lobby.

The staff smoothly checked me in at 11AM with no problem. My room had a fantastic view of Central Park from the 51st floor. Bed - great. Noise - there was none. Shower - I didn't want to get out.

This is a new-ish property that worked well for all types: theater goers, business types, students, families and seniors. If you need to stay in the area, stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location is great - right on Broadway, but not in the chaos of Times Square, which we like. Great proximity to Central Park, the theatres, and subway stations. Service has been great - we arrived early on Sunday (11:30 am) and our room was ready, which was fantastic. Small kitchenette in the room. Very modern/clean lines to everything. While, not large, roomy enough for my daughter and I. The breakfast, which is included, is great. Not your typical "free" breakfast and the room where it is served is very large and relaxing. I would stay here again while visiting NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is located right on broadway, the hotel occupies the top floors of the building, the lower floors are reserved for the less expensive Marriot hotel. The top floors have the best view of Times Square or Central Park, depending on the side of the building you're in. The breakfast is included, and it is a plentiful and delicious breakfast, not the typical continental breakfast found at most hotels. The check-in and out process was quick and hassle free and the staff was very courteous. The rooms are very clean although somewhat small, but hey, it's NY. The metro station is just around the corner and there is a Duane Read supermarket/pharmacy just a block away. Subway is also just next door. The Broadway Theatre where Cinderella is playing (with Fran Dresher) is just a block away and Father Duffy Square where you can find the TKTS booth is just 5 blocks away or 10 mins walking. The rooms with the best view at this hotel start at $500 a night but the location and the view are simply unbeatable. Make sure you give the GPS address (found on the hotel website) to the taxi driver as 1717 Broadway takes them somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floors 55-65 have the best views and are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The location is great and the hotel views are a wow. The included breakfast is lavish and the breakfast seating is excellent in a good atmosphere. The rooms are tiny (all the same size) but very efficient. The biggest problem is the wall location and the noise of the air conditioning vent. When in bed or sitting in the room chair it blows on you and it is it loud - even on the low setting. It can interfere with your sleep.

Room Tip: High floor facing park for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.