We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Moon for two nights. We stayed in the Duke Ellington room.

First the good: Nice staff, friendly and helpful. The Hotel was relatively clean in appearance. Good location in lower Ease Side Manhattan. Unique entrance and decor.

Now the disappointment: No one asked how we enjoyed our stay. They seemed to be in a hurry to get us checked out so I did not voice the problems. The closet door handle was previously broken and fell off when we opened the door. The handle on the bathtub faucet also fell off every time we turned it on. It made me wonder if the cleaning staff was diligent enough to notice these problems and did not tell the management or just didn't notice, which made me question how well they clean. And if the management was told, did they ignore the problems instead of fixing them.
The breakfast on the first day was gone by the time we got to the lobby at 9:40 am. It was supposed to be served until 10 am. The second morning, there was no orange juice left and only very little else to eat. The television reception in the room was terrible as was the wifi. The noise level from the street and in the hallway made it difficult to sleep.
This is a 3 star hotel and we were not expecting much but were still disappointed.
If the price is right (it changes), it may not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our clean hotel, and nice, friendly, helpful staff. Our complimentary daily continental breakfast and complimentary guest wifi are extremely popular amenities. Every effort is made to accommodate our guests, because at the very least, we want each and every guest to have a comfort level whereupon they will be a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    69
    18
    20
    19
See reviews for
55
131
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a chance a spend time at the blue moon with a friend and it's truly a special place. Calvin and other hotel staff go out of their way to make sure guests are taken care of. If you're looking for a fun and friendly boutique style hotel, this would be an excellent choice. The location is amazing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Booked a room a month ago at the Blue Moon for Valentines Day and were planning on meeting friends from PA. Because of the continued snow in our area, I called 48 hours in advance to cancel. (All other NYC hotels it is 24 hours notice). We were not going to make it to NYC so I thought we could cancel or even use a credit for another night. I asked to speak to the night manager named Kelvin who was not at all interested helping me. He was rude and curt with me. He said he could not make a decision and that he would have the manager Javier Green call me Monday (This is Thursday). I asked for the spelling of Javiers name and Kelvin said he could not do that and hung up on me! WOW! In all the years have we been to NYC (we live 45 minutes away) we have NEVER been treated with such unprofessional and childish behavior.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Our cancellation policy has been in effect since we opened. It is imperative guests avail themselves to read this information prior to and during the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a GREAT experience at the Blue Moon! The hotel itself was warm and welcoming. It's not a luxury hotel, but it truly made you feel like you were in New York. We could have stayed at any big name hotel, but those are the same no matter what city/state you're in. Blue Moon is unique and makes it feels like you're traveling back in time! The minute we walked into Blue Moon, we knew we were going to have a great experience thanks to Louise, the woman who worked during the day. She was absolutely amazing! She was accommodating, friendly, and extremely helpful. The first thing my partner and I both said as we got into the car to head to the airport to return back to Minnesota was, "Louise was awesome!"

I would absolutely recommend the hotel to any of my friends traveling to New York. It had a real New York feel to it, and the best staff a guest could ask for!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, Me
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Be sure to read the fine print when making a reservation. We were scheduled to stay two nights but had to change plans because of a snow storm and they charged us anyway. Also tried to charge us a third night because I cancelled 72 hours in advance but not before 3PM that day. The following are their "terms" from their website...pretty restrictive for a quality hotel:

Cancellations or modifications to reservations
Cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3pm EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time (no show/changes during stay), the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100% of the first nights accommodation or 20% of the total booking, whichever is higher.
Notice: Cancellations or modifications must be made via the same channel as the original reservation; i.e., travel agent, internet booking engine or direct.
No credits will be given for modifications to length of stay which are made during the aforementioned 72 hour window or after check-in. Guest's credit card will be charged for the full amount of the original reservation.
» Pre-paid accommodations
No refunds will be made for cancellations or modifications to stay, no-shows or early check outs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Our cancellation policy has been in effect since we opened. it is imperative guests avail themselves to read this information prior to and during the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Blue Moon is a funny place. We stayed 2 nights and at first I was a bit put out by the tiredness of the building, given the price. The place was pretty worn, including our towels, which came complete with a hole in them. That said, we warmed up to it. The room was rather large and roomy. The two windows that faced the street were so high I couldn't look out them without stepping up on the arm of the couch. The one window that was at normal height overlooked nothing much. But again, we had a lot of room which is a change from the usual NYC hotels. I believe the room next door was empty so I cannot speak to the sound proofing. The continental breakfast was slim but the bagels were fresh. When they ran out of bagels they replenished with those awful store bought bagels. Would have been ticked if I arrived late and was stuck with those nasty things. But I have to say the staff was incredibly friendly and they really made the place work for us. The entry way/seating area was casual and set up living room style. We hung out there at different times of the day (there was a group of us and would collect in this sitting area) and found it very comfortable. We really liked the location. I still think the price was out of whack but in the end we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We pride ourselves first and foremost on guest relations and our standards from the inception reflect such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was conveniently located for our needs. Fairly priced. Friendly service. That's really all the positive I've got. On the negative side, The noise from both the streets of Manhattan and from others sleeping on the same floor makes it impossible to sleep with any consistency and that is due to the lack of properly insulated walls and windows to fit the needs of a decent NYC hotel. The bathroom was filthy on the floors, walls and ceilings (grease, grime, and hairs from previous guests or cleaning crew). Lack of sufficient shampoo for the 3 of us. The TV is a sad excuse for a TV, like 16 inch, not even HD (I mean, which hotel doesn't have HD!!!???). The lobby stinks of smoke even the hotel is supposedly "smoke free". The Wi-Fi is pathetic (don't even bother waiting to watch a video). Awkwardly laid out rooms. Overall, the location was great but the hotel......not so much!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We pride ourselves first and foremost on guest relations and our standards from the inception reflect such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.