We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at the Blue Moon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at the Blue Moon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived at 1am and nervous that my booking would be lost. No problems at this hotel. Very charming. We had a great suite called the Fanny Bryce room (it was much much bigger than a room and included a balcony which unfortunately did not have any view, but was a great space for contemplate being in New York!). The building was also a great place to spend some time reading all of the prints on the walls, especially in the back area, which provided a rich history of the tenement and the area). I loved the story pertaining to the framed cards which were delightful, if you like that sort of thing.. and I do). Incredibly reasonably priced, which included fantastic breakfast of bagels and coffee. Staff were great, especially Louise, who loved a chat.
Would definitely love to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Did hear some complaints from other visitors regarding noise from a nightclub at the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    72
    19
    20
    22
See reviews for
59
138
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

i was here on a monday , on the 8th floor. the sound proofing was bad, could hear traffic all night long. the door lock was very tricky to operate. the beds were creaky and old. the wifi signal was weak. i will not return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The neighborhood of this hotel is really great, day and night, and the rooms (comfort category) are really large and equipped with a fridge. The free wireless internet and the A/C worked well.
However, the window glasses are really thin, so it’s quite noisy at any given time.

Friendliness of staff varies a lot. You have to ask for everything, from housekeeping service to clean cutlery during breakfast (apparently, there are not enough knives for more than 8 guests at one time). The advertised pass for the gym across the street (which indeed would be very convenient – in theory) is never available: One day they claimed that they did not receive the gym passes for that day yet (at 5:30 pm), the other day they just called the gym and mentioned my name (that was the only time that I actually went there), the next day front desk staff browsed through the entire paperwork in the desk without finding any passes. Then they tell you there is only one gym pass available per room during the entire stay.

There was no welcome glass of wine as mentioned in the reservation, and watching DVDs was definitely not possible because the DVD player was not properly connected to the TV (But I ended up being tired of asking every single time something went wrong or was missing, I actually got the feeling that I was annoying the staff). I also couldn’t find the advertised iPod docking station.

If you can get a good rate and like an old-fashioned spacious accommodation in a nice location very close to several Lower East Side subway stations, then this hotel can be a decent option, but don’t expect too much dedication to customer service from them.

Room Tip: Many different categories and lots of confusion. When I made the reservation, a room on an upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the Blue Moon Hotel and will definetly return. If you like a more personal experience this intimate boutique hotel is for you. The tenement building has obviously been lovingly restored and provides a realaxing little oasis in the city. I stayed in the Ella Fitzgerald room , towels changed daily , coffee making facilities and complimentary breakfast of bagels provided in the lobby. A great start to a busy day eating breakfast against the backdrop of jazz music I felt I had stepped back in time. located close to Little Italy, Chinatown and Soho and with funky local bars this is defintely the place to stay in NY. Loved it :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for two nights in a double room on the fourth floor with breakfast included. The room was comfortable enough without being too large. Good en suite facility. Breakfast was awful, luke warm coffee and only bagels on offer. No toast. Self Service in Reception Lobby, when there is a side room down the hall they could use. Good location in Lower East Side, we loved the area. We paid $638 dollars after taxes, around £450 pounds, which is a rip off for the facilities and room on offer. Would not stay again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On our second night the next door room had a fight and were slamming doors etc. Reported to reception who did little to prevent it.

Room Tip: Stop somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've stayed at the Blue Moon several times. This boutique hotel was converted from an old tenement and has the historic charm to prove it. Beautiful wood and stone carvings, antique furniture, and many rooms with terraces make it a one of a kind hotel. We love the location, across the street from the tenement museum. It's close to Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho. We also easily walk to Greenwich Village from here. The TVs are tiny - don't try to watch sports here. The internet is ok - not super speedy, but functional. This place is for people who want something different - it's a far cry from a chain hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side with the terraces face the Williamsburg Bridge. It's a gorgeous view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the Lower East Side, nestled on Orchard Street surrounded by the city's bustle it's not your usual area to choose as a New York City visitor, however if you want to get a real NYC experience, the hotel itself provides a nice quiet atmosphere, with a relaxed European feel that allows you to go out and really explore New York City culture. You can explore the Lower East side with its great little restaurants, the street vendors on Orchard Street, a fantastic nightlife area, the East Village, some classic landmarks and just experience the city. If you want to head to Macy's or any of the other regular shopping spots or sight seeing areas, the metro is a block or two away and makes everything super easy to access. If you're an adventurer and a confident traveller this place is perfect. The staff are also amazing! If you want to put yourself up in a huge room and watch big screen TV's and have more of a big time American Times Square experience, this isn't the vibe.

Some people may hesitate on the location - even the staff mentioned to me our room might be noisy, I could not believe how quiet it was. I was in a balcony room above the night club, I did not hear a thing, when I'd open the balcony door, you could totally hear the difference, so for his I was really impressed. This place is charming and special - enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.