We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 468 Hotels in New York City
memphis, TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good things about this hotel: located in a real neighborhood, with diverse group of neighbors and lots of good places to eat and drink, right across the street from the Tenement Museum which is fascinating. The hotel itself is in a historic building and is certainly not cooker cutter. We had a lovely balcony. Bagel, fruit, coffee breakfast was a nice perk. Not as good things: it is a little bit shabby, and not spotless. We found a long hair in our bed and had to dust off the kids sheets a little as well. The staff warmed up to us, but was very gruff at first and CONSTANTLY on her cell phone, so we always needed to wait. There was indeed loud booming base from a club that we could hear through much of the night, but we were exhausted, so tho it woke me, I was able to go back to sleep. Overall I'd say too much money for what we got...will continue my search for the perfect NYC hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    86
    26
    28
    38
See reviews for
77
161
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a quirky and unusual hotel in the Lower East side with historical interest as an original tenement house. Its opposite the Tenement museum in a lived in neighbourhood of little restaurants for brunch and dinner, near the subway. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was big and comfortable, with a complimentary breakfast. If you want to pay a bit more the rooms at the top are more modern with views as they have built a few floors above the original.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 23rd-28th April and had no complaints at all, we had the `ella Fitzgerald Room` spotless with everything you could want including free wi-fi and breakfast, also very handy for the subway, you can be up to midtown in 10-15 mins easy, great hotel away from all the madness.bed was super comfortable...............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My stay was short, but Blue Moon will get return business from me. It was very comfortable, very much an old-style boutique hotel with a great vibe. If you need a break from chain hotels, and you need to be on the Lower East Side, you should consider it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel reels you in with its charming colors, artwork and architectural features. The lobby is a great place to relaxed with a cup of coffee or complimentary wine in the evening. It features art, artifacts found in the building, colorful pillows and a view to the street. We stayed in a deluxe room, as we had been upgraded for some reason. The room had old world charm and offered a balcony with a view of the bridge in the distance. The bed and bedding were very fine and offered a great sleep. There was noise from a night club on our side, but the heavy curtains did muffle it enough that it was not a problem and I have to emphasize that this is a quiet hotel. There is NO street traffic sounds at all, though it is located close to a busy street where you will find plenty of activities and the subway, so it is so convenient. We will definitely stay here many times in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This small hotel is across the street from the Tenement Museum and fits perfectly into the neighborhood. I felt like I was staying in an apartment rather than a hotel. The room was clean and quite spacious. There is a balcony for my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 during the off season. Very impressed with the 1940's feel to the rooms. Spent a very comfortable evening there while checking out Little Italy and Chinatown. Very good value during the off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#209 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#136 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#305 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#154 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#156 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.