We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, great art on in reception, friendly welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Moon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky, great art on in reception, friendly welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great desk clerk; she was helpful, real and funny. Realised we were in a rush and sorted out travel directions to our comedy show. Room was large and well stocked but we spent very little time inside. Would have liked to stay longer. Downside was our room (John Garfield) was a bit too orange but bed was super comfy. Old pipes meant shower was noisy but we came away feeling we'd had a good 24hrs in NYC. Most definitely helped by our last minute choice of a cool, but service driven hotel. Recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms all vary and are named after actors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We are delighted that our helpful and convivial staff could help make your NYC trip so enjoyable! Our cozy, yet spacious suites are uniquely designed with all of the luxurious amenities to make our guests feel right at home. Regarding the pipes, all the infrastructure is new. The project’s distinction is that we gutted a 5-storey tenement and gave it a second life as a stately 8-storey hotel. We are flattered that the integration of the artifacts was so tastefully done as to make it hard to distinguish between the original edifice and the rejuvenated one.

The color in each room varies in that we mixed our own oil pigment. The base is overlaid with scumbling and gentle glazes provided by distinctive brushwork. It was not our intention to mimic a flat, monochromatic, industrial-chic style. Our goal was to reflect upon the harmony of color, creating an atmosphere to soothe “the soul by means of the senses” (Oscar Wilde) in a painterly style borrowed from the layering techniques of Renaissance artists. All rooms are meant to complement the original woodwork, which was scraped and stripped by hand using a heat-gun, sandpaper and other devices, in order to bring it down to a natural, hand-finish. The colors are not overly subdued in that they are meant to contrast and complement the large expanse of woodwork and earth tones, which is the general palette of the Blue Moon Hotel. Rest assured: as we fret over our responses, so did we fret over every detail in creating the Blue Moon Hotel and making your stay a most enjoyable one.

Thank you for choosing the Blue Moon Hotel for your NYC getaway. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience all of the treasures and historic memorabilia that make the Blue Moon Hotel in NYC a truly one-of-a-kind experience! See you on your next trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    72
    19
    20
    22
See reviews for
59
138
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We've stayed here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The rooms are great and quite big. The staff is always friendly and the bagels in the morning were top notch.
The location is interesting; not much right near there, but a subway stop is a few blocks away and can get you anywhere.

Room Tip: Check out the descriptions on the web site, which are accurate and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonHotelNYC, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
We are so thrilled that you keep coming back to the Blue Moon Hotel! Each of our rooms range in size with historic details to ensure that every visit with us is a new experience. Located on the Lower East Side, our boutique hotel is surrounded by many NYC attractions such as the Tenement Museum just across the street and the new Museum of Modern Art only 2 blocks away. With the vibrant neighborhoods of SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown close by, there is always a new place to explore and our staff is always eager to direct you to them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Blue Moon Hotel and truly appreciate your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is a nice Hotel in the Heart of the Lower East Side.. The building is an original tenement building that has been redone in a very retro way. We stayed in the Tommy Dorsey Room which had a small balcony that overlooked the Williamsburg bridge. Clean , close to Soho , shopping, nightlife. If you want to stay in authentic New York, Not times square, then stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our apartment-styled rooms include balconies with breath-taking views! Located near many NYC attractions, the Blue Moon Hotel is a great spot for business travelers and tourists. Each of our rooms in our boutique hotel offers their own unique experience and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is not a cookie cutter hotel chain. It is in a fun location, off of Delancey St, 2 blocks from Essex St (and market), and the area is kinda funky, good coffee shop and walkable to east village. It is best suited for those intrepid souls who know NY and/or want to explore the fun, non-touristy areas other than Times Square/midtown tourist traps (though we did go to the theater and returned easily by bus). Easily accessible to F train to go uptown or you can walk to Chinatown and east village.

Desk clerk persons who change throughout the day are different. Not in a happy/polished/upscale hotel/friendly way, but tolerable.

This hotel has the feel of a hostel without the value. The Marx Bros room was drab and very oddly layed out where there was not quite enough room for the chairs, small table and a person (to be fair, the sofa bed was out). The bathroom was clean and bright. It had the smallest TV imaginable which you certainly wouldn't be able to view from the bed, but hey, it's NY and we didn't come to watch TV!
We peaked into another room which also looked kinda dingy. Think: Grammercy Hotel before rehab, but slightly better.

You have to turn in your key when you go out. There may or may not be someone at the desk when you return at night to unlock the outside door for you. It was a puzzle how to unlock the Marx Bros room door (good balcony; view of Williamsburg bridge). Housekeeping does not speak English. The sofa bed is as bad as your sister's who doesn't know it because she never sleeps on it.
There were 2 of us yet they couldn't get it together to give us 2 bars of soap?? When we told the person downstairs the lamp was not working, they gave us a light bulb to replace ourselves. It's that kind of place. The coffee maker did not work. There was no free water; a refrigerator and a $2 price tag on its liquid contents. We bought water at the deli around the corner. And cool coffee/lunch/breakfast place down the street at 88 Orchard St serving excellent coffee.

But it was a fine base for a great long weekend exploring the city!

Room Tip: Back of building facing east on higher floors is nice for sun in a.m. Cool view of Williamsburg Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We are pleased to hear how much “counrygal” enjoyed the views from the Marx Brothers room, a huge custom room designed with historical details in a period appropriate fashion. The spacious bathroom with a large, deep tub exemplifies a 1930’s grace. The balcony is 300 square feet and overlooks the Williamsburg Bridge. Most of our guests have concurred it’s incredibly romantic at sunset. In fact two thirds of our rooms have terraces. This is a rarity in NYC and the Blue Moon’s views from the upper floors are spectacular, in fact, some of the best in the city. Yes, the LES is New York’s playground, surrounded by NYC’s most vibrant neighborhoods.

To ensure that all of our guests experience a comfortable stay, we provide any additional items upon request. All the guest has to do is ask. We are pleased that “counrygal” was able to enjoy some of the local restaurants which our area is famous for, but hope they also took advantage of our very own complimentary continental breakfast which embodies the culture of the Lower East Side: fresh baked goods from Kossar’s and Gertel’s, two venerable old local bakeries; fresh fruits, juices, spreads, gourmet coffee and fine teas.

Blue Moon was chosen by National Geographic Traveler as one of 150 hotels in the Western Hemisphere to check into. We have 30 major articles expressing the beauty of this five year art preservation and design project. Our staff is both warm and friendly, multilingual, and create a helpful atmosphere for all of our guests’ needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I would stay here again in a minute. So not your cookie-cutter hotel-- many of the features are architectural details preserved and re-used from the building as it was in the days of the former immigrants. Right next door is the Tenement Museum with one of the best gift shops ever for NY-themed gifts, and many books about New York history of the Lower East Side then and now. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful with directions via subway and recommendation to local restaurants. Antonella especially kept us laughing. It is rare that the choice of hotel becomes one of your favorite things abut the trip, but I would say that about this time in NYC. During our stay we experienced the freak snowstorm that hit in October 2011 but we were cozy at the Blue Moon!

Room Tip: Louis Armstrong room is one that has two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
It was our pleasure to accommodate "ciaoandaloha" so comfortably during the snowstorm! It is always nice to hear when our hotel services are so appreciated. New York City has so much to offer, so we are glad that our staff could provide you with the helpful directions and recommendations needed. Thanks for this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Moon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Blue Moon is on a quiet side street, immaculately clean and cozy decor .. there are no room numbers, each is named and themed after a classic comic .. We stayed in Sid Caesar which I think is the smallest room; still it was roomy with a queen bed, small fridge and two large windows. Bathroom was bright white tile, huge deep shower tub and classic details. The desk staff were all smiles and very helpful with dinner recommendations. Free light breakfast and coffee was a welcome surprise. The top "penthouse" room looks like it would be amazing. Love the neighborhood .. very funky with great shopping right next to Chinatown and a few blocks from Little Italy. Also the LEAST expensive hotel in lower Manhattan .. a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

For all the time and artistry the owner put into this hotel, he scrimped on hiring employees dedicated to customer service. It is an alien concept to the front desk. I've never experienced anything like it at any other hotel, ever. Like we were an imposition. We arrived early and exhausted and asked if we could check in. Instead we were given a loud lecture by a rude woman whom I presume was a manager of some sort in front of other guests about how "our check time is standard like in all hotels..." Nothing about what they "could" do. When our room was ready, the key couldn't open a door that didn't fit tightly in the frame. So the same rude woman turns up and presto, she opens it in one try after pulling the door toward her. Glares at us like we've never opened a door before and coldly explains that they're "special locks". We eventually got the hang of opening the door ourselves. And calling taxis ourselves, finding restaurants ourselves, etc. We just didn't bother. And that seems to be the way they want it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Miss Azuree_05 arrived at 9 AM. After greeting and welcoming her to our hotel, I reviewed her reservation. The room was not yet available since the previous guest had not checked out. It was 2 hours prior to our checkout time of 11 AM. I informed her that our check-in time is 3 PM, but if the room was ready before, she could check in earlier than that.

At that moment she became unruly and said that if that was the case she was paying for nothing. I patiently explained the standard, that our check-in is starting at 3 PM; however, I would have her room prepared as soon as the guest checked out, and then she would be able to check in early.

Unrealistically, she insisted on checking in at that moment, and made vociferous accusations in the lobby that she was “being cheated”, claiming that no one ever told her that check-in time was at 3 PM. I was embarrassed, so I tried to calm her down and gently suggested we look up her reservation. I showed her the confirmation, which is standard. She looked at it, made a face and said nothing. We offered them to enjoy the breakfast, to use the restrooms, and I asked her for her cell for number so that I could let her know if the room was available before 3. Then she asked for directions to go uptown which I gave her.

When she came back to the hotel she couldn't open the door, so I went upstairs and assisted her. She couldn't open the door because it was double locked (which she had likely done herself by turning the key in the wrong direction).

I have been concierge in NYC for over 20 years. At the Blue Moon I created a concierge book and I speak 4 languages. I engage all the guests as if they are friends and family. We were super patient and hospitable with her, even while she was hysterical; we gave directions, we offered her breakfast even though she was not checked-in yet, we took her cell phone # to call her when her room was ready. And we were nice as always.

Antonella, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.