We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Brewery

Heartland Brewery
350 5th Ave, Empire State Building, New York City, NY 10118 (Manhattan)
(212) 563-3433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Heartland Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,324 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: New York City's most famous landmark, the Empire State Building, now houses New York's number one brewery, a two-story 450-seat Heartland equipped with two large bars and four giant flat-screen TV's. Our full-service restaurant breathes new life into an area overrun with fast food chains. More than just a watering hole with great beer, we offer both visitors and locals excellent food and a feeling of home that only Heartland can offer.
sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great choice of beer, you can get a sample selection of 6 beers.
I had the chicken, it was lovely, my fiancé had steak, and really nice, and tender. Not the cheapest eat, and they did add service change at 18% I know this is an American thing but us Brits are just not used to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    433
    130
    50
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“honeymoon visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

wow - food portions huge so all brits may want to just think about starters - beer was fab...( I am not a beer drinker but we went back 3 times!!!) try the ales with added elements like the ale with amaretto - sounds weird but wow!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to eat around the Empire State!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm quite surprised there are some negative reviews about this Brewwery on Tripadvisor! We went there for lunch and absolutely loved it. Both the service and food was great, as well as the atmosphere. Deserves 5 stars!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No way..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing was satisfying: food was so and so, we took mini burger and onion rings as appetizers, not bad but nothing special.. then my boyfriend took a steak, very snakl if compared to the price, and my ribswere filled with too much barbecue sauce that covered the flavour of the meat,.
Two beers costed far too much as aspected, and the final bill was 125$.. tips included. This means: you can not choose if, and how many, tips you want to give.
Indeed, service was not so exclusive; sure it was fast, but nothing more than this..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochran, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The steak I ordered melted in my mouth and the homemade french fries were delicious. My husband got a different steak and his was great as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartland Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Heartland Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.