We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apollo Hotel - Harlem” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo

Apollo
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo
Save
You added Apollo to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2027 7th Ave, at 121st St, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Apollo Hotel - Harlem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is now a homeless shelter. I wish TripAdvisor would take this off their listing as a "hotel": It has been a homeless shelter for several years. I live near this so called hotel and know from first hand expereience this is NOT A HOTEL...HOMELESS SHELTER. DO NOT TRY AND BOOK A ROOM HERE.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

You get what you pay for with this place, its cheap for a reason.

What you save on hotel costs you end up paying for in travel expenses. Its miles away from the exciting bright lights of the major tourist attractions. And although we did grow to love Harlem by the end of our 10 day trip, it does take some getting used to.

The decor, comfort, customer services, value for money and location are all depressing and dismal.

We stayed here over New Years and early Jan with no heating and banging/clanking water pipes that shook the walls. It was actually warmer outside than in the room. We all had to sleep in out hats and scarves :-( We moved room twice but this didn't make it any better.

I'm surprised it classes itself as a hotel, because its basically a hostel with lockable doors.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

The reviews so far have been correct. The accommodation is dull and bland, but considering I searched high and low for reasonably priced accommodation in Manhattan and couldn't find a thing, this was well worth the money. It is situated in Harlem, which in the day time is fine, walked about there many days to and from the subway station as well which is 4 blocks. At night however, it became a little bit more warey, and most the time I would opt for a taxi back to the hotel after walking through a few times in the middle of the night, and not particulary enjoying it. The hotel itself is clean and basic and you get what you pay for. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers and students.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

My boyfriend and I just took a trip to NYC. We were looking for something that wouldn't break the bank or feel like a dive. After reading up on the Apollo Inn we decided too book with it. $70 includes tax each night. We thought this was a great stay, we are two young travelers. The rooms were clean with private bathrooms. The place used to be apartments and was turned into hotels. Nothing elegant, and we thought the idea that it was in harlem enhanced our stay. We enjoyed the hotel, and it was very close to the subway. Recommended for couples that are looking for a cheap and decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

OK, well first you drive into Harlem, which is a culture shock at first. The hotel....well for a hotel that opened in March it looked pretty destroyed. I had a broken chair in our room, the sheets looked 100 years old (almost see-through with fuzz). If you are interested in a kitchenette for budget purposes (as I was)... stop!!!! It is so tiny that you cannot possibly produce anything edible on that thing. Oh and the ambiance, well it feels like social housing, and don't plan on sleeping at night.... my gosh the screaming that went on in there! One last warning, the hotel is 5 stories tall without an elevator!!!!! It was not fun dragging all the luggage up those uneven stairs. My suggestion is to shorten your stay, and stay at a nice hotel with house keeping that includes breakfast to save on one meal. We ended up staying at Econolodge on 47th and 8th. Good Luck!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

I went to NYC to pick my girlfriend up from the airport on May 31, 2006, and we needed a place to stay on our first night in the city. Being on a budget, i couldn't afford most hotels in the city, and so i was happy to find the Apollo through this web site.

My double with en-suite bathroom cost a mere $80 Canadian, which is a fairly amazing price for Manhattan.

The location is south Harlem, which is a totally fine area - within blocks of Columbia University and/or the main 125th Street harlem drag, with the 1/9 and A lines nearby. Between 110th and 120th street on Columbia's side of the cliff-like Morningside Park you can find an array of cafes and restaurants. The immediate Harlem neighbourhood had some interesting looking places to eat, as well - we only used the hotel for a day, so we didn't sample any of them, alas. Eggs on a bun for $2 are easy to find in the neighbourhood bodegas in the morning.

The staff were friendly, and let us store an oversized piece of luggage (a flight case for a harp) behind the main desk overnight, saving us from having to drag it up the stairs.

The room was much the way it appeared in their photos: a basic white dry-wall box. It was a clean room with a bed, a combination fridge/oven/freezer unit, A/C, and sink. We also had an en-suite bathroom with a nice shower and a good amount of room. The atmosphere is decidedly less than romantic, but for the price I wasn't expecting much, and was very happy with what i got.

The Apollo seems to have made itself a home to the backpacking traveller set - i ran into folks from Australia and Germany on my one day there. A good way to sum up the Apollo is to think of it as a hostel with private rooms instead of dorms.

Considering the price, and the friendly service and perfectly serviceable rooms, i would definitely use the Apollo again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

Overall, the hotel is clean and convinient. The location with such a cheaper price is amazing.

If you want to stay there, please bring your own stuff. The hotel has independent rest room, but they don't have hair dryer(even the counter). It has a stove, but no pot or any kitchenware. It is located in the city, but it is dangerous @ night (many people wandering on the street even in late night.) It has a TV with many channels, but no remote control. And, the wall is so thin that you can hear people in other room walking, talking, and showering.

However, with this price, how you can ask more. The room is big and clean. The staff are nice. It is convinient when you bring your own stuff before check-in.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#215 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#345 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#374 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#388 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#381 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#355 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo

Address: 2027 7th Ave, at 121st St, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Apollo New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.