We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Midtown West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Midtown West to your Saves list
Quality Inn Midtown West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #335 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4th of July Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights -was very nice convenient and reasonable for NYC. Breakfast was good and the attendants work very hard to keep up with the very demanding and sometimes rude guests. Front desk Lisa was awesome - always had a smile on her face and very friendly. Was nice either coming or going to see her. Other's at the front desk were very nice as well I just don't remember all there names. The area is a little sketchy, a little further down 36th St than I would like but again for the money not bad at all. Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    169
    90
    27
    34
See reviews for
67
90
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for three nights in June. The room smelled terrible, like wet linen and it wasn't very clean. The pillow was dirty and the air conditioning was noisy and barely functioning.

The only good thing about the hotel is its location and the lovely people on the front desk.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I found this hotel very good in terms of its location especially with it being close to Times Square, the Empire State Building and Madison Square Gardens. It was a little on the small side but what it lacked in size was made up for by the staff's friendliness. I would consider another stay here if it was with just friends but it maybe a little small for accommodating a family on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The great customer service at this hotel made our stay worthwhile. I have not been to a hotel with such friendly staff in years. Very impressive. The rooms are small and the price was a bit high for the size but I would stay here again knowing how well I was treated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Fuimos por 5 noches sin muchas expectativas con el hotel, pero me sorprendió gratamente. Todo muy limpio, ordenado. Lisa en recepción muy atenta. Siempre todos con una sonrisa y dispuestos a resolver todas las dudas y consultas. Desayuno libre y muy rico. Sólo el espacio muy pequeño y a veces había que esperar, pero estando de vacaciones para que el apuro. El barrio muy tranquilo y de noche era muy lindo caminar. 3 estaciones de subway cerca. 100% recomendable.

We went with not so much expectations but we sorprised a lot. Everything was absolutely clean and in order. Lisa from front desk was very nice with us. Everyone always with a smile and ready to answer our questions. Breakfast was very good and very thick. Just the place was a bit little and we have to wait some minutes. But if you are on vacation you will not be hurry. The neighborhood was quite and when we returned late it was nice walk in those streets. 3 subways stations very close. I recomend Quality Inn a 100%

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Carolina S,
Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn Midtown West while vacationing in our great city. I think most of our guest are surprised in what a great find we our. If you are looking for quiet and clean and affordable. Associates such as Lisa truly speak volumes of our committment for each of our guest. I will surely pass only your comments and review to Lisa. We all hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
Quality Inn Midtown West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a good hotel for a city trip in New York. The employees are very friendly and helpful. And you can visit the most of the sightseeings middtown and upptown by foot. They have very good breakfast. It's not to loud in this area at night. Everything is near around. For example the times square is only 20 minutes away by foot. We visit the most of all by foot. We had a very good time here and we was satisfied with these hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lisschen2014,
We are delighted that you enjoyed our great city and able to see all the attractions that makes New York City the top destination. We like to recommend to our guest to walk and see the sites. Your review and comments mean a great deal to us, and continue to strive to for our ultimate goal. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Quality Inn, we hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
Quality Inn Midtown West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Quality Inn Midtown West fulfilled my expectations! It certainly fits my needs:
The room is so clean and cozy, comfortable with a King size bed.
COmplimentary breakfast is included and it´s great to start the day with coffee, milk, fruits, muffins, yogur, corn flakes and the cherry on the cake: the delicious waffles specially prepared by a very pleasant and kind guy Thank you Robin!
Location is great ; close to times square, the high line and from there to Chelsea Market, soho...
The block where the hotel is based is a Little bit dark but once you step out of it, you will have all the main attractions so close to you!
I certainly recommend this Hotel. What makes it so special? the staff! James, Jenny, Precious (love your flashy shirts!), Robin, Lisa, Henmat, Hector Olecia, Nakia ,Joseph,Lawrence,Tarrant,Natacha, Cristine, Jackie, Jose and more THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING SO KIND AND CONCERNED!
See you soon!
Hasta Pronto!
Sandra Buenos Aires

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor . It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Growns,
Thank you for staying at the Quality Inn Midtown West we are delighted that we were able to meet all of your expectations. Our team is dedicated to providing the ultimate guest experience.
We look forward to your return trip to NYC. Thank you for you warm review and comments of your experience.
Sincerely,
Quality Inn Midtown West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Midtown West

Address: 442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Midtown West 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Located just two blocks from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Quality Inn Midtown West | Convention Center is an ideal place for both business and leisure travelers. .Additional nearby points of interest include: Grand Central Terminal, also known as Grand Central Station Rockefeller Center Radio City Music Hall entertainment venue Central Park Yankee Stadium, home of the New York Yankees baseball team Visitors will enjoy world-class shopping on New York's famous Fifth Avenue. The John F. Kennedy International Airport and the La Guardia Airport are 15 miles from the hotel. A variety of restaurants, entertainment options and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Midtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.