We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Midtown West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Midtown West to your Saves list
Quality Inn Midtown West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #321 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you are attending a meeting at the Javits Center, the Quality Inn Midtown West Hotel is the place to stay because it is close to the Convention Center and also to Penn Station. It is clean, has quiet rooms, good breakfast and free WiFi. I found service to be excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors, probably is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Roberto J,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel The Quality Inn Midtown West. As you have seen yes we are just a stone’s throw from the Javitz Center and just a quick walk from Penn Station. Did you also know that we are very close to Port Authority and just a short walk from Madison Square Garden? We have a parking garage that we are affiliated with that offers discounted parking.
Once again thanks for your review we are so pleased you enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    151
    74
    26
    28
See reviews for
60
78
27
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Two blocks from Javits Convention Center where I had a seminar. No need for a cab. No need to be stressed in NY's gridlock traffic! I met my 2 precious nieces. I walked to Koreatown where
We ate at Shilla's where we had excellent Korean food! We bought exceptional breads & pastries at Tous les Jours! Saw amazing holiday window displays at Macy's.Browsed Broadway Quick Bites with different food vendors. Great time with money well spent at Quality Inn. Rooms are small but they usually are in NY. Can be noisy bit NY never sleeps. Free Wifi! Very good beds with very clean white spread. Water pressure little bit low but doable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Lucyloose,
Thank you for your review of our home The Quality Inn Midtown West. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to walk around and see some of the great places New York City has to offer. If you happen to visit us again in the spring or summer be sure to check out the Highline which is a newly converted train track into a park above the ground. It’s a nice walk down town and its only a couple of blocks away from us. We thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Good service & a very clean room. I will definitely be revisiting this hotel in the near future. Will also recommend this hotel to anyone I know who may be looking for a nice stay in Nyc. Lisa is very friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear FrankRamz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel and staff. We do our best here at The Quality Inn Midtown West to provide our guest with the best possible service around. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and I will review this with Lisa. Please be sure to mention this stay the next time you reserve a room with us so we may offer you a returning guest discount. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

When looking for a room in NYC for a one-night stay on a Saturday, we were dismayed by the extremely high room rates we encountered on practically every hotel website we checked. However, the Quality Inn Midtown West offered a much more reasonable rate, and is located within walking distance of Penn Station. We left our bags with the desk clerk in the morning, did lunch and a museum and came back to check-in after 3:00. Our room was on the 9th floor, facing the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet. Rooms are small, but immaculately clean and well-appointed. We didn't partake of the free breakfast buffet since there were no tables available when we came downstairs, but the items displayed looked very nice and fresh. Hotel personnel are all very courteous and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again when we come to New York overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Smalldancer,
Thanks for your review and for choosing us during your most recent stay with us at The Quality Inn Midtown West. You can get a room on the front side of the hotel and it really won’t be too much different in regards to the noise it’s all about the same. We really are in a surprisingly quiet part of the city for being so close to everything. Please be sure to mention your most recent stay and your name so we may look up this information and offer you’re a returning guest discount. We hope that you choose us again for your needs the next time you decide to visit us. Thanks for your review again I will follow up with my teams about your feedback.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just spent two nights there this week. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location and price is excellent. Room was clean. Not many amenities, but you are in NY. Everything you could want is right out the front door. I will stay there again for the same trip next year.

Room Tip: Elevator takes forever. There is only one so get a room on the lower levels and use the stairs. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jimmy D,
Thank you for your review of our hotel The Quality Inn Midtown West. We are so pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Please be sure to give us your name for this past reservation so we may offer you a returning guest discount on your nest stay with us. Once again thank you for your review of our hotel and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for four nights, Sunday to Thursday, and they apparently like to have fun just authorizing your card whenever they want:

Saturday before check in: authorized $200 (even though this was not a prepaid reservation)
Sunday upon check in: authorized $350
Sunday upon check in: Additional authorization of $25
Monday: Authorized $545
Tuesday: Changed Saturday's authorization to $545
Tuesday: Additional authorization of $25

My total reservation was $545 but I left the hotel with about $1500 in pending authorizations. I used a debit card but I have never seen a hotel so trigger happy with authorizations, even when I use a debit card.

Unless you want to help this hotel keep a large floating balance in their pockets, I'd say avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mdude04,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I’m so sorry to hear about your Credit Card being authorized so many times. I ask that you contact me so I may assist you if need be to clearing anything that may still be on hold. I would also like to discuss with you the information about your stay. Normally we would not have to seek this many authorizations unless you change the dates of your stay or if there was any problems with your card upon arrival. Debit cards take a much longer time for the authorizations to be released as opposed to regular credit cards. There is no good answer as to why this happens and I’m sorry about this. I hope that aside from this problem that the rest of your stay was good. I thank you again for staying with us and I can be reached at 212-714-6699 if you’d like to discuss further. Thank You

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Made last minute booking on Booking.com while attending CCW at Jacob Javits Center, booked and walked over. I was greeted by Precious at the front desk and she said the reservation was not in the system yet. She did some customer service magic with a smile and friendly concern, then got me into my room. Have to recognize good customer service. Thanks Precious!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Tony S,
I will be sure to follow up with Precious. This is exactly the type of customer service we expect and try our best to provide to our guest while staying at The Quality Inn Midtown. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Please be sure to mention this stay so we may offer a returning guest discount to your reservation. Thanks once again for choosing us and for staying with us

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Midtown West

Address: 442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Midtown West 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Located just two blocks from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Quality Inn Midtown West | Convention Center is an ideal place for both business and leisure travelers. .Additional nearby points of interest include: Grand Central Terminal, also known as Grand Central Station Rockefeller Center Radio City Music Hall entertainment venue Central Park Yankee Stadium, home of the New York Yankees baseball team Visitors will enjoy world-class shopping on New York's famous Fifth Avenue. The John F. Kennedy International Airport and the La Guardia Airport are 15 miles from the hotel. A variety of restaurants, entertainment options and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Midtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.