We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, well located place to rest your head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #111 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value, well located place to rest your head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights to enjoy New York at Christmas. Located just one block from two subway stations it is in a great location and provides a peaceful retreat from the busy city. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a good sized bathroom on the 6th floor. We didn't take any meals at the hotel, but really enjoyed the morning coffee and afternoon coffee/tea and cookies in the lobby. It was a reasonable price, given the season and the location, the staff were friendly and helpful and we would return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    85
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
92
77
21
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a relatively new property in the Hilton chain. Although the room was New-York-compact (shower, no tub) it was clean, quiet, and efficient. Moreover, the price was modest compared to many city hotels including others in the same chain. With few rooms on each floor, the internal hallway noises, like slamming doors, was also minimal. The staff was friendly, attentive, and helpful while the room was about as quiet as any you get in the City. The location is an easy walk from any midtown destination and close to the subway as well.

There are an abundance of food destinations very close by and drug stores less than a block away. It's also an easy hop onto the Queensboro Bridge to LGA which I think is the fastest and cheapest route to the airport (without tolls). An additional, subtle benefit is a police precinct station a block away: I figure the bad guys might just choose other areas of the city.

A very good overall experience. Beware of the new Hilton policy where you can no longer cancel on the same day as the reservation.

Room Tip: High floors on the side opposite the street are generally more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. You've pointed out many of the benefits of staying with us. We do hope to be your host again in the near future.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was comfortable, clean, and in a great location to see the sights of New York City. Rates were more reasonable than other hotels of same type and afforded me the ability to see NYC at Christmas time--which was a great blessing! Staff was friendly, competent, welcoming, and helpful. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments and the 5 STAR review. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception attendant was courteous and pleasant at 5 AM when I checked out to catch an early flight from JFK. She offered to email my receipt instead of printing it. I almost said yes, but then instinct kicked in and I asked for a printed copy instead. I highly recommend that you do this. Upon review, the hotel had charged me for 4 nights of parking at $65/night - AND I DIDN'T HAVE A CAR. Even worse, I only stayed 3 nights - so I don't know how their system even generated a 4 night parking charge. It seems from a previous review that management is aware of this billing systems issue, which apparently hasn't been fixed. Maybe it's a Hilton Garden Inn issue, as I recently had a similar billing discrepancy for an HGI room that I booked in Ann Arbor, MI. In any event, it would be reasonable to expect that staff could have some extra training to identify something as basic as whether a guest had actually parked a car on the premises. The billing system problem has been raised and needs to be dealt with as a priority.

Another negative is the thinness of the walls. I am not hyper sensitive to noise in general, but at this hotel it's luck of the draw if you are in a room next to considerate guests. You can hear every door closing and hallway conversation as if it were in your room magnified. I was lucky the first couple nights with quiet neighbors, not so lucky the final night (before I had to catch the early flight).

Positives: the location is excellent to all things midtown, and the room was clean. The staff was courteous and professional, and tried hard to expeditiously fix my incorrect bill. However, I am irritated that I will now have to check my credit card statement in 3-5 days to confirm that I actually did receive a credit for the incorrect charges.

Hilton, you can do better.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am disappointed by the concern caused by our mishandling of the parking charges. We have revisited the process and taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for your comments regarding the pleasant staff and the overall hotel. If there are any residual issues related to the billing please contact me directly at Lowell.beebe-center@hilton.com and I will take care of it. We do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a few nights on business. It was clean and comfortable. Small, but it's NYC. The bed was comfy. I had issues with the heat in my room and the engineer that came up to take a look was super helpful and very nice. Unfortunately though there wasn't much he could do because the rooms on my corner of the 25th floor all had connected vents and one room could change the settings for all of them. Beware.

Room Tip: Avoid the 25th floor kings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. So pleased that you found the staff engaging and helpful. I do apologize for the concern with the heat. We have taken steps to correct temporarily as we plan a long term solution. Hope to be your host again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am the person which has had many travel experiences for business and pleasure and usually prefer the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental etc as a 'chain' vs. Hilton or Hyatt. This hotel is sleek, clean, nice linens (although I would change the top spread). The staff was helpful, professional and very attentive. Tomasz, the cordial and engaging bartender is very knowledgable in all liquors and wines. He was a delight to see after long days of meetings and presentations. Thank you for being a bright spot for me to stay. And, thank you for converting me! My bank balance appreciates it.

Room Tip: I think the location of all rooms is equal - maybe those behind the elevator are quieter as they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow! What a great 5 STAR review! Thank you for sharing! I appreciate the nice staff comments and your recognition of Tomasz! He is a bartenders bartender! We look forward to seeing you when you visit NYC again!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a no frills but very nice location, especially for a business trip. The rooms have very comfortable beds and pillows with high grade sheets. Kurig coffee, a big plus. For convenience I ate three meals in the on site Resturant. Food was not spectacular but small bar had very good bartender and good enough selection. The wait staff were really good, helpful, especially a young Russian woman working her way through Columbia University, Elaina. The manager was insite and working to make everyone feel special. One day my key would not work, he overheard me and walked with me to the room to be sure it worked.if you don't need the trappings of the Carlisle, you have everything you need in a god location.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We really appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Thank you for the nice comments about the staff. So glad they left a positive impression! Please coma back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Address: 206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.