We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #110 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anywhere, Ga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Ideal location for everything from Broadway to Times Square..I've stayed there twice 2010 & 2014 and the workers Alonzo and Eugene were excellent both times, very good with assisting the 72 ppl we had in our group..wonderful group of guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
WOW, great 5 STAR review. We will share your great feedback with the team. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    86
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
94
77
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. We especially loved Eddie who gave us big hugs before we left. Location is near a Metro station which is very convenient and withing walking distance to several venues. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Elevators are slow, so opt for a room on a lower level in case you want to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
A Great 5 STAR review! Thanks for the nice feedabck, I've shared with Eddie and the team. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My three daughters and I stayed at this hotel three nights for a long weekend. We loved the hotel and would stay again.

Every employee we encountered was friendly and smiling. We shared the elevators with many employees and they were friendly and engaging as well. The employees are one of the best features of this property. We met the infamous concierge "Ready Eddie" that others have mentioned and he really earns his reputation. He is so friendly and helpful with an upbeat personality.

We stayed in a two queen bed room with a terrace on the 25th floor. The terrace was big enough to truly walk out and look over the city. I was afraid it would be similar to a Juliette balcony or something of the sort, but this was legit and worth the extra expense. It made the room seem bigger by extended the space outside. The room was small, but typical NYC standards and we have no complaints about it. It is a brand new property so everything was spotless. I thought we got an excellent value for the price we paid.

I appreciate the housekeeping staff at the property. I never saw the people who cleaned our room, but they did a wonderful job and actually listened to my request for 4 towels. For some reason, many hotels only put three towels sets in the room and this is a huge pet peeve of mine! Why have only three towels when there are four people on the reservation? It makes me unreasonably mad ;-). We only had this problem at check in and Brian at the front desk ensured someone brought the extra set up quickly. I have no complaints about the upkeep of the property, it looked great.

I am so sorry I misplaced the paper where I kept more names as I wanted to recognize additional employees by name. Please accept my apologies. The gentleman at the concierge desk when we checked out Monday afternoon was helpful and nice. It was great to be able to store our bags while we grabbed a last bite to eat in the city before leaving. He was also kind enough to bring out some bubbles for my girls to use. Thank you for your consideration of the little ladies.

The hotel is located in one of my ideal parts of town. It is within walking distance to many desirable locations without being in the madness of Times Square. There are many taxis in the area and it is extremely close to a couple of subway stops to maneuver to other parts of the city. I love the residential feel of this area and relative calm at night. Many eateries are around so you have everything that you need within a relatively short stroll. We felt very safe, even venturing out after midnight.

Love this place!

Room Tip: Try to snag one of the few rooms with a walk-out terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the 5 STAR review! I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy your time with your daughters! The staff is here to serve you and I appreciate that you are recognizing the great job they do! I've shared with Eddie and the team. Hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My friend and our teen children stayed here recently. We were very pleased with the clean and tastefully decorated rooms and lobby. It is very new, which really helped. We all got a great night's sleep in the quiet rooms. The location was very convenient. The rooms are on the small side, but I'm sure that's normal for the price range in NYC. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the 5 STAR review! Sounds like you had a great time and enjoyed the location with your family and friends! Come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 days and received great service. The rooms are new and well furnished (fridge, microwave, coffee maker). I had free breakfast (gold member) and it was great (pancakes, eggs, French toast). The entire staff always had a smile on their faces. In a lot of previous reviews, people were mentioning the elevators (it's not that bad). Free coffee or tea in the lobby in the morning. Easy access to the subway. Very close to broadway on foot.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thoughtful feedback and a 5 STAR review! We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is in a great position on 53rd street & The Avenue of the Americas.
It is an easy walk to the subway station,Central Park , 5th Avenue, Times Square & Broadway.
We were again upgraded to a small suite & it was excellent.
Service was excellent.
Taxis were always available when we required one.
A great Deli was available in 53rd street just 100 metres from the hotel for a delightful breakfast @ a really low cost.
The choice was endless & there was a queue always confirming its value & quality.
In the street outside the hotel were food carts offering a range of great food for US $5.00.
Just up the road was the Rockerfeller Centre & Radio City & the Observation Tower with its Magnificient views of New York on a sunny day.
Well worth checking out on your next visit to New York.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are always better I have found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Great feedback! Location is great for all your interests! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Nothing too fancy for this hotel but I would have expected more. It is pricey as it is in the busy and almost heart of midtown Manhattan but I would have expected a better experience, front desk staff. The rooms are very good, size wise and experience wise. Housekeeping is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry that you didn't recieve the attention and service that you deserve. I have shared this feedback with the team and focused on the staff effort as it relates to the guest experience. It;s clear that the staff make the difference, I'm sorry that wasn't the case for you this time. We have benifitted from you gift of feedback and look forward to showing you when you return!
thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Address: 206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.