We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at this hotel and I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“2nd stay at this hotel and I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I just returned at a three night stay. We had a room with two queen beds on the 15th floor. Nice size and able to walk around the bed unlike some other hotels. Refrigerator and microwave came in handy. Neutrogena toiletries. Other pluses--very friendly reception area--nice folks, icy cold lemon/lime water, computers, cozy seating areas, free warm yummy cookies at 5 pm. A block and a half away from the subway. We ate at the Oxford Cafe near Lexington and 52nd for breakfast and dinner--great pizza and bagels reasonably priced. Also at at the Parisian bakery next door--they have excellent sandwiches. Duane Read drug store is also near this intersection. There is a Whole Foods at 3rd and 57th Street. All in all I would recommend this hotel. I have reservations to return on Labor Day. Word to management- cleaning people should always make sure there is an extra roll of toilet paper in the bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
WOW! Thank you so much for the 5 STAR review! You really got to know the area. Look forward to seeing you on Labor Day weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    136
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
135
143
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Only two elevators utilized by both customers and cleaning staff. Elevator could take as long as 10 minutes. Stay on the lower floors where you can take the stairs. They also ran out of towels. I requested additional towels twice and never received any until the second day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I appreciate you comments from the recent stay. The elevators are a challenge that we are conquering with daily focus on operational timing. We have reviewed your feedback with the team and hope to welcome you back soon to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The rooms were well equipped and average size for New York but we did have a problem on checking in. We arrived at 3 o'clock having pre booked 2 rooms but only one was ready. We were told the second one would be ready by 5 but we had to wait until 6 o'clock for access.
The position of the hotel was good for travelling around the city on the metro. Breakfasts were quite expensive around 17 dollars so we went to a lovely place around the corner called The Morning Star serving all day breakfasts.
The hotel staff were very helpful but we did have a few problems with the housekeeping side of things. Towels were changed daily despite the fact we hung them up indicating we would re use them. On one occasion the towels were taken away and not replaced because they had run out. This seemed illogical. We also had problems with replenishment of tea and coffee and toilet rolls, there seemed to be a lack of a check list for the staff servicing the rooms.
The hotel had 28 floors but only 2 lifts so the service staff had to use them as well. We were ok being near the top floor but anyone on the lower floors sometimes had to wait for ages before there was room for them at peak times.
We enjoyed our stay at this new hotel and although the friendly staff did their best to help us there are a few niggling details still to be sorted out.

Room Tip: Top floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. We are always working on the operational efficiencies and will continue to improve with your thoughtful comments. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a great place to stay in NYC. The location is perfect, right near the E train coming in from JFK. There's a Duane Reade's, Chipolte and lots of other things right outside the door. And it's close enough to walk right over to the heart of midtown. The staff is wonderful, very helpful. Any question I asked they were there to help, giving me a subway map and showing me the best way to get around, even telling me which subway stop by the hotel had an elevator down so when we left for the airport we didn't have to carry our bags down. The rooms are nice, maybe a little small but perfect for us. The only problem is our room was right next to the staff office for housekeeping (housekeeping was awesome by the way). But if you're there in the day you can hear them talking (which they have to do - you might just avoid that room if you plan on taking a nap in the day. We were so tired we didn't mind) Also the shower has no shelf or anything to put your soap or shampoo. You have to put it on the floor. But this is a great place to stay - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for the nice comments. I'm sorry about any disruption from staff. We will continue to fine tune the operation to maximize our guest experience. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excelent locations, excelents rooms (new, clean and good size) and a very good and fast service. I would definitely recommend this hotel, however be aware that it is just starting so there is still a few things to fix: elevators are working slow and might be insufficient for the amounts of floors/rooms. They might forget towels sometimes but they fix any problem in a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thoughful feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My 5 night-stay at this pretty new hotel was a memorable experience !
My room ,located on the 8th floor, had enough space to move around, the king-size bed was exceedingly comfortable, with a resting chair on its side,the bathroom was well equipped with plush towels and the coffee-making machine, the fridge and the microwave oven were definitely a plus.
However, the two elevators, catering for clients AND staff were clearly not sufficient and resulted at times in long ,long wait !! As for the staff, rather pleasant and helpful, they should be up to (high) standard in a month or two.
The location of the HGI was ideal for anyone wanting to visit most major museums in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Great feedback. Thanks so much for the candid comments. We enjoyed being your host and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

room was excellent, brand new linens, soft comfortable bed, location is great, will stay here again.close to the subway and excellent restaurants and other key areas. I just thought it was just a little pricey. but I guess that is what you get for all this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 STAR review! We appreciate that you took the time to share! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Address: 206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.