We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel in a convenient spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Discount
Ranked #150 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel in a convenient spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was just updated 3 weeks ago and they have done a fantastic job. The rooms are very nice with all of the updates: flat screens, new beds, electrical connections with USB ports, really nice bathrooms with Neutrogena amenities and nice desks. The restaurant was only open for breakfast but will soon open for other meals and will have a bar as well. Unlike most Hilton Garden Inns, this one is not wide open to the lobby but secluded. It also has several flat screens. The location is walking distance to some sights, the train, buses, etc. If you prefer a ride, they quickly arranged for a car for me and it was comparable to a cab. There is a good Irish Bar next door and several restaurants right down the street. It is about a 30 to 45 minute cab ride from LaGuardia and the rates are very good for it being on Manhattan. Definitely a hotel to consider for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: They have rooms with views of the city but you are likely to get a good room if you forego that opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 STAR review! We have just opened the restaurant for dinner and look forward to serving you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
14
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel had just opened a week prior to my checking in. Typical rough spots that you might expect, but the lack of organization and follow through was unacceptable. They managed to skip cleaning my room one day, which wouldn't have been a big deal, but the shower leaked and I had to use our towels for that. Hilton is a brand I normally trust, and they have enough practice that opening a new hotel should not be such a stretch for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for providing the thoughtful feedback. I have reviewed the comments with the team and we will improve becuase of it. i do hope that you give us another chance to be your host in the future.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The customer service I received from every one was awesome, especially Eddie, he was a huge help and super nice! Made us feel right at home. The hotel was great, so nice and pretty and the location was also great. Cons Need a bar of soap holder in the shower Valet parking takes too long to bring your car back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 STAR review! we're thrilled that the staff impressed you, especially Eddie. I will share your feedback with all. The operational comments will help us improve prior to your next visit. Sopa dishes are being installed next week and we'll work out the timing challenges with the garage. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Heights, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for work only a few days after it had opened.

The hotel was very nice and clean. It still seemed like there were some bugs that needed to be worked out, however, they were very accommodating.

I brought my girlfriend out later in the trip and proposed to her. The staff was very excited about the proposal. They held flowers for her at the front desk, surprised us with champagne in our room and the manager signed a congratulations card for her! It truly made the experience even more special.

The door man, the receptionists and the maintenance man by the name of Michael were all incredible. They were always making sure I was happy and asking if I needed anything at all.

The ONLY advice I would give this hotel would be to put shelves in the shower. You have to put your shampoo and toiletries on the ground in the shower because they have not put in any additional shelves.

Thank you to all the staff for your wonderful help during my work stay as well as my proposal!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Congrats on the special visit to NYC! We are so pleased that you choose to stay with us. The team was very excited about your stay and looked forward to the daily updates. Thank you for the feedback regarding the shower. The soap dishes and foot rest are about to be installed as they were on the post opening list. Please come back for your 1 year anniversary and we will make it a memorable stay! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

New hotel in Midtown East.. Awesome hotel, friendly staff and rooms 100% new! No problems at all. All I can say is that from the beginning until the end of my stay I was always happy and the staff was always trying to make my stay the best, and they did! Being gold gives you some perks, they gave me an early checkin and a late checkout, cant complain! Also, the breakfast is really good ( I was not expecting so much variety and quality!). Anyway, five star service to a Garden Inn hotel! Definitely a great place to stay in Midtown NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Great 5 STAR review! WOW!! Thank you for the comments regarding the staff, they are the best in NYC! So glad you enjoyed the breakfast offering as well, you won't go out hungry! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Surprised to find accommodations so welcoming in NYC. Staff exceptionally attentive and personable. Seemingly aware that a weekend in Manhattan is a special occasion for guests, they go out of their way to make the hotel part of the experience and create a sense of luxury at a budget-conscious hotel. I suspect Hilton hand picked some of their best for this new assignment.

Double room slightly cramped but that's to be expected. Everything is fresh and clean. Comfortable beds, quiet AC, no noise from the neighbors or the street. Uninspired generic decor a little disappointing; could easily look more urban and upscale. Already feels a little dated even though it's brand new.

Conveniently located, very safe. Valet parking good for 24 hours. Appreciated luggage check at front desk before 3pm. Booked through the Hilton site, easily $50 less than any comparable room on discount travel sites.

Did not try the breakfast (Ess-a-Bagel is just a few blocks over...)

Room Tip: Long wait for elevators - stay on lower floors if you're in a hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and your stay with us. The staff will always make the difference and ours are empowered to "go the extra mile"! We appreciate the elevator comments, we are working with the operational flow to minimize impact on the guests. Look for huge improvements for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Brand new hotel. We stayed for the weekend. Great rate, great service, great location. The E train/subway is less than a block away. There is a self-serve ICON parking less than a block away on 53rd between 2nd and 3rd. The beds and bedding were comfy, room temperature control was perfect, and the place was spotless. Very quiet overall. Free wireless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and 5 STAR review. Our location is perfect for all stops in NYC. The charm of the local area and easy access to NYC. Plenty to do next time you visit! Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East

Address: 206 East 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.