We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empire is so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Top of the Rock Observation Deck

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
30 Rockefeller Center, New York City, NY (Midtown)
212 698 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Top of the Rock Observation Deck like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$30*
and up
Ranked #4 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Empire is so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were part of a tour group, and our guide went in to take care of our tickets. I have no idea why we had to wait outside instead of in the lobby. Aside from a couple of the staff members that were friendly and helpful I was glad this was only one stop on a great tour. The Empire State Building offers so much more!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20,627
    5,971
    973
    156
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great viewpoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Loads of space and great views. We bought tickets online in advance which allowed us to go at anytime. We went at 9.30pm and found the night skyline amazing and wasn't busy so got a brilliant view from all sides. Only downside is that the Chrysler building is partially obscured.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A MUST, but only the once, or twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is one of those attractions you HAVE to do at least once if you are travelling to New York. In essence, its a skyscraper with an accessible roof that you go up to for spectacular views either at day or at night. Apart from a few shops at the bottom, thats it. At $42 a person, it is slightly expensive for what it is but worth a visit all the same.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Nr Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Top of the Roc"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The evening when we visited, it was extremely cold and had been almost all day. We had completed the downtown tour along with the ferry to both the Statue of Liberty + Ellis Island along with a visit to St Pauls Church and also the 9/11 Memorial Site, so were quite tired to say the least, however the delays in gaining entry due to the large numbers of visitors were proved to be well worth the wait as the skyline views were amazing. (I feel that the evening views could not be bettered during the daylight hours).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Do this building tour from the top. Great view of the city in all directions. Take the time to make this a stop.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of the Rock Observation Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.