We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, excellent service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Affordable, excellent service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is very affordable comparing to other hotels in the area. If you take into account that it also offers free breakfast (typical US hotel breakfast), you can't probably beat the price. The room was comfortable and very clean; the common areas were clean, the employees very polite and helpful. The elevators were fast with no wait time, but it helped that we stayed in the top floor. No noise at all either up there. The location is just great. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: No noise on the top floor (22) and no wait time for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cap10awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rates at this midtown hotel are very affordable by NYC standards. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the elevators reasonably fast (this can be a problem with rehabbed buildings). The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its near subway stations for most NYC MTA lines and an easy walk to many of the city's main attractions and neighborhoods.

A minor complaint is that the free breakfast leaves something to be desired. But hey, its free....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davecm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our second time here and couldn't be happier. Minutes from lots of great spots like broadway, Rockefeller, Empire State Building, and so much more. Full breakfast, crowded but good. This will continue to be our NYC hotel of choice.

Room Tip: We like low level rooms to take the steps instead of the elevators. No views anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCStover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful response and feedback! We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue. I will absolutely share your awesome comments with our team members. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit to NYC so that I can ensure another perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

this hotel is right where you want to be. in the center but off the bus areas (times square). rooms are big for new York and have all the thing one needs. Breakfast is crowded and ok. depends what you want so do not expect the best. service is great and very helpful. this is new York so hotels are expensive for what you get. and this is prime location!

Room Tip: cock andf bull next door has reasonable drinks and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnTreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, and for have such wonderful things to say about our location. Indeed we have a prime location, you are literally in the middle of New York City and all it has to offer. We hope to host you again in the near future. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is neat and ideally located near Times Square and grand central, staff are friendly, but I found bed bug in my pillow with several bite marks on my face and ear and blood mark on pillow. They gave me a fresh pillows but they did not have new ones.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Younusmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your most valuable feedback and for having brought to our attention what had happened during your stay. After you mentioned this to us during your stay, we immediately called an offsite professional company to inspect the room you stayed in. We are glad to say that the results for any potential pests in the room came back negative. I apologize that your stay was impacted while you were here. I invite you to please contact me so we may provide you with a copy of the report that the room came back clear of any bed bugs. My email is fom@expressfifth.com. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again so we may regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We expected small rooms from staying in NYC in the past, so yes, the room was VERY small. But the beds were so small, my husband is 6"2 and he didn't come close to fitting. Our teenage girls had to share a bed and I think one of them would have slept on the floor, if there was room in the room, which there wasn't. The hotel is clean, breakfast fine and it's a great location to Times Square, shopping, Empire State Building, a not a far walk to Central Park. It's a stretch to see the double room can fit four adults.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenadove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and valuable feedback. We thank you for also mentioning the positive aspects of your stay. I wish we could have provided a larger room than the one you stayed in. I have passed this feedback to my team as well. We do hope we have the opportunity in the near future to have you as our guest once again and maybe provide a room with a different layout. Thank you once again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a nice stay. It is a great location and I was able to do what I had to do in NY without having to move too much due to the great location! The only small problem is that there are only 2 elevators that are used not only by the guests but also by the staff. So you end up waiting for a while especially during the morning. Suggest to plan accordingly. Other than this detail, the service was great. Like any other holiday inn in the USA you can take a tray of breakfast to your room, which is great!

Room Tip: In NY the higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your most valuable feedback and for taking the time to complete this review. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your feedback to our teamour team, so that they as well know the wonderful job they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
Midtown
CAMBRiA hotel & suites New York Times Square
CAMBRiA hotel & suites New York ...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,676 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,166 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing