We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, excellent service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #278 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Affordable, excellent service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is very affordable comparing to other hotels in the area. If you take into account that it also offers free breakfast (typical US hotel breakfast), you can't probably beat the price. The room was comfortable and very clean; the common areas were clean, the employees very polite and helpful. The elevators were fast with no wait time, but it helped that we stayed in the top floor. No noise at all either up there. The location is just great. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: No noise on the top floor (22) and no wait time for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host your stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    345
    97
    37
    28
See reviews for
208
201
48
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weedsport, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rates at this midtown hotel are very affordable by NYC standards. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the elevators reasonably fast (this can be a problem with rehabbed buildings). The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its near subway stations for most NYC MTA lines and an easy walk to many of the city's main attractions and neighborhoods.

A minor complaint is that the free breakfast leaves something to be desired. But hey, its free....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our second time here and couldn't be happier. Minutes from lots of great spots like broadway, Rockefeller, Empire State Building, and so much more. Full breakfast, crowded but good. This will continue to be our NYC hotel of choice.

Room Tip: We like low level rooms to take the steps instead of the elevators. No views anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful response and feedback! We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue. I will absolutely share your awesome comments with our team members. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit to NYC so that I can ensure another perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

this hotel is right where you want to be. in the center but off the bus areas (times square). rooms are big for new York and have all the thing one needs. Breakfast is crowded and ok. depends what you want so do not expect the best. service is great and very helpful. this is new York so hotels are expensive for what you get. and this is prime location!

Room Tip: cock andf bull next door has reasonable drinks and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel, and for have such wonderful things to say about our location. Indeed we have a prime location, you are literally in the middle of New York City and all it has to offer. We hope to host you again in the near future. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel is neat and ideally located near Times Square and grand central, staff are friendly, but I found bed bug in my pillow with several bite marks on my face and ear and blood mark on pillow. They gave me a fresh pillows but they did not have new ones.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your most valuable feedback and for having brought to our attention what had happened during your stay. After you mentioned this to us during your stay, we immediately called an offsite professional company to inspect the room you stayed in. We are glad to say that the results for any potential pests in the room came back negative. I apologize that your stay was impacted while you were here. I invite you to please contact me so we may provide you with a copy of the report that the room came back clear of any bed bugs. My email is fom@expressfifth.com. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again so we may regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We expected small rooms from staying in NYC in the past, so yes, the room was VERY small. But the beds were so small, my husband is 6"2 and he didn't come close to fitting. Our teenage girls had to share a bed and I think one of them would have slept on the floor, if there was room in the room, which there wasn't. The hotel is clean, breakfast fine and it's a great location to Times Square, shopping, Empire State Building, a not a far walk to Central Park. It's a stretch to see the double room can fit four adults.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and valuable feedback. We thank you for also mentioning the positive aspects of your stay. I wish we could have provided a larger room than the one you stayed in. I have passed this feedback to my team as well. We do hope we have the opportunity in the near future to have you as our guest once again and maybe provide a room with a different layout. Thank you once again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a nice stay. It is a great location and I was able to do what I had to do in NY without having to move too much due to the great location! The only small problem is that there are only 2 elevators that are used not only by the guests but also by the staff. So you end up waiting for a while especially during the morning. Suggest to plan accordingly. Other than this detail, the service was great. Like any other holiday inn in the USA you can take a tray of breakfast to your room, which is great!

Room Tip: In NY the higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your most valuable feedback and for taking the time to complete this review. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your feedback to our teamour team, so that they as well know the wonderful job they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.