We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #312 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect location! It's within walking distance to every theatre, Times Square, Central Park, and Grand Central Station. I stayed here with my daughter and we had a room with 2 double beds. For two people it was perfect. It would have been crowded if there were 4 of us though because the rooms are on the small side. The free breakfast was a nice bonus. The staff was helpful and were willing to help with directions. We had a problem with out TV and the toilet and both were tended to very quickly. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello MamaRupp,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent stay. We are glad to hear the location fit all of your needs! We hope to have you join us again in the future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    404
    127
    43
    32
See reviews for
248
231
56
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location is the best feature of this hotel. Right on 5th Ave and within 7 mins walk to Times square, makes the hotel a very convenient option to stay for a holiday. I was there with my daughter and her friend during their spring break. Room was small but clean. We stayed on the 21st floor thus there was no street noise. We did not get chance to take the complimentary breakfast. Hotel was flowing with guests and at times their sit-in breakfast area got over crowded during the day. Staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If road noise is a problem ask for higher floor room. Please remember that rooms are small (understa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Madee35,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent stay with us! Thank you taking the moment to tell us about your experience with us, I shared your kind words with the staff!.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This HIE is conveniently located for walking to the shows on Broadway and the shopping on 5th Ave. You could, compared to nearby Times Square, even call this neighborhood quiet. The king suite was a bit small (for this area what do you expect?), but suited our family well, and the great room was quite busy for breakfast. The staff was fantastic! The reservations manager helped me make changes when my travel needs changed, and the front desk staff was very friendly and professional--even at the busiest times. This was a great family hotel from which to base our activities in Midtown. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Joseph O,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC! It was a pleasure to view your positive feedback about your experience with us, we hope to have you join us again in the very near future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early 2013 when visiting family who live nearby. Great choice! The rates were extremely reasonable, especially when the breakfast value is factored in. Very convenient to Times Square area, Central Park, Hell's Kitchen, the High Line park, and the subway. Room size was not as small as some other reviews here would leave me to believe - you couldn't play handball in one, but I've sure stayed in smaller rooms, and this one was convenient and comfortable. Also, the concierge, whose services I didn't use, was obviously extremely knowledgeable and helpful based on what I overheard and the feedback of other guests.

I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello MaxBuck1,

Thank You for taking time to share your stay experience with us! we have shared your kind words with the staff and look forward to having you join us in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Just spent five nights there.
Pros: location, location, location.
Clean and well kept rooms.
Very friendly staff
Relatively quiet
No frills-but effective free breakfast
bathroom in good shape
Cons:rooms are small (midtown fifth avenue , what do you expect?)
Sometimes crowded at breakfast time.
NO PROBLEMS AT ALl WITH THE ELEVATORS - DO NOT KNOW WHY THE BAD REMARKS about this in the past.
Overall: a well functioning machine. Exactly what you need in New York.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Mr. Inbar_Y,

Thank You choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC. We value you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us, we have passed on your kind words for the staff to view. We hope you join us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, The first was in June 2008 and was a good experience. This stay was exceptional. We were upgraded to a room on one of the upper floors as Platinum card members at check-in. We had requested an early check-in and the room was ready. When we entered the room it was delightful. The room was good size for New York City. It was immaculate, fresh smelling and as it was a cold February, warm! The heat was perfect during our three night stay.

The continental breakfast was abundant and good each morning. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping and the breakfast room were all kind, helpful and very good at their jobs. This was in contrast with the other people we met outside the hotel , such as several bus drivers, who were brisk and rude. It was always a pleasure to return to hotel and a warm 'hello'.

The location is fantastic. It is close to the corner of 45 and Fifth avenue. It is a few blocks walk to St. Patrick's, the theatre district, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, MOMA and many great restaurants.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to New York City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello Journeymaid48,

Thank You for taking time to share your feedback in regards to your recent trip to NYC! We're happy to hear that we were able to live up to your expectations. It looks like you got around a great deal during your 3 day stay, we hope you join us again in the very near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friendly and accommodating front desk staff. We arrived early in NYC and were allowed to check in our bags before the official check in time. Small, clean and cosy room. It is worth the money as this hotel room has services like free wifi and television. Deal includes breakfast. It is also an easy walking distance to 5th Avenue, Times Square, subway options and nearby food shops. It is a convenient place to stay for the night time if you are mostly out and about in the city and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello LPK-RSA,

Thank You for your positive feedback in regards to your recent to stay with us! We are glad we were able to meet your needs, we hope you join us again in the near future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.