We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #288 of 447 hotels in New York City
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friendly and accommodating front desk staff. We arrived early in NYC and were allowed to check in our bags before the official check in time. Small, clean and cosy room. It is worth the money as this hotel room has services like free wifi and television. Deal includes breakfast. It is also an easy walking distance to 5th Avenue, Times Square, subway options and nearby food shops. It is a convenient place to stay for the night time if you are mostly out and about in the city and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello LPK-RSA,

Thank You for your positive feedback in regards to your recent to stay with us! We are glad we were able to meet your needs, we hope you join us again in the near future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    333
    91
    36
    30
See reviews for
181
186
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The three most important things for us in a hotel room are cool, dark and quiet. This Holiday Inn Express on 45th Street, just west of Fifth Avenue provide all three. The in room air conditioning and heating units worked nicely, and we were able to cool things down at night for sleeping and warm things up for during the day. This is not always possible, even at many luxury hotels. The hotel had good light blocking curtains, and a clever plastic "spoiler" to keep the HVAC unit from blowing the curtains about and letting light in. Our room was nice and quiet, facing an air shaft.

The hotel itself is small, with five rooms on each of its 20+ floors, and the lobby and breakfast area are basic, but adequate. As with many hotels in NYC, the rooms are small, but we booked a suite, so we had a comfortable sleeping area and a separate living room with a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven. The Holiday Inn Express chain offers suites at sane prices. The bed, described as king, was wide, but no longer than an ordinary full size bed, so tall people beware.

The staff was friendly and competent. The place was clean and kept in good shape. Equipment was in working order in our room, the lobby and the business center where we printed our boarding passes. Given the tight quarters, our temptation is to say that everything was ship shape.

The location, in midtown, was extremely convenient, so it was a short walk to our Broadway play and an even shorter walk to Rockefeller Center. Subway stops were only a few blocks away. We are big urban walkers, so we like to stay in midtown so we can explore the upper and lower east side, or Central Park, or walk over to the Hudson River or down to the Battery. Despite being in the center of things, the area got pretty quiet at night, but never completely deserted. We've stayed nearby at the St. Regis and at Essex House which cost a lot more and offer more spacious rooms, but we found our suite at the Holiday Inn Express to be just what we wanted, and a good value too.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book one of the suites. The basic rooms are New York City small, so the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello kaleberg,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. We are glad we were able to meet all of your needs, we take great pride in reading reviews like yours. We look forward to having you join us in the near future.

Thank You!

Front Office Manager
Chavon Staten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our guaranteed reservation was dishonored. No apology, no regrets, no suggestion the problem was due to unforeseen circumstances; yes, we were expected to honor our side of the guaranteed reservation, yes we were given a “walking letter” and directions to go “down the street.” Down the street we found the satisfactory CassaNY Hotel and Residences. The helpful CassaNY staff explained we owed them no payment as CassaNY and Holiday Inn would settle charges between themselves. How much would we pay that night if we booked direct with CassaNY? $100 less than Holiday Inn was billing us. Did Holiday Inn volunteer to provide us with a $100 credit? No. Now, I’m not a financier, but isn’t this what they call “arbitrage?” “taking advantage of a price difference... the profit being the difference between the market prices.” (Wikipedia). If Holiday Inn can make $100 without providing a hotel room, wouldn’t it want to overbook as much as possible? Perhaps our case was an isolated incident. I would be interested in comments from others. P.S., CassaNY rooms are very small but quite stylish.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear KeepOnTraveling,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great location if your a tourist. I am on business and it is ok for me. The hotel is the standard blueprint hotel but if you come at the right time the price is good too. Small rooms but standard for NY. I have stayed here at least 15 times.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello jim2968,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your trips to NYC. It is music to our ears to hear that you are a repeat guest, we are glad that we were able to accommodate you.We look forward to your next visit, have a GREAT day!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 1 night during last holidays. The hotel is a perfectly located, near times square and affortable. I made a reservation for 2 adults and 1 child, but we've endend on a room with only a king sized bed... and it was a smoking room, I know we should have expect an odour...but this was too much, maybe they should clean the rug and the bed-cover even our clothing smelled after that stay. The rooms are small, but it's New York, so be prepare, they all are. The breakfast is served in the lobby near the door, not the perfect spot ...it's cold during the winter days... not sure will stay there again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Annie B,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC. Please note we greatly appreciate your feedback in regards to your experience with us, we have taken it into consideration and will use it as a training tool. Thank You again & We hope choose to join us again in the future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The place is not family friendly due to the small rooms. The breakfast is a free for all and in new York that means a lot of rudeness. Little room to eat I had to stand one morning and the family was scattered in seats.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Mr1662,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC! We have since began practicing preventive measures to reduce the breakfast traffic. Thank You for your feedback!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012 whilst sightseeing NYC.

The location is perfect, right on 5th avenue and less than a 5 min walk to Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to all major sightseeing destinations in mid town. The only time you will need to use public transport is to go downtown (the hotel is walking distance to Grand Central Terminal where you can connect pretty much anywhere in the city)

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic given that it is included in the cost. Plenty of choice both hot and cold. The dining area is quite small but we never struggled to get a table.

Rooms are very clean and bigger than I expected and the beds are very comfy. The maids cleaned everyday we were there and left fresh towels etc.

All in all I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. It was the perfect base for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Kerrylg,

Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We're so happy you decided to join us, We have shared your staff service feedback with the staff and they're all very thrilled to be acknowledged. We hope you join us again in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 447 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.