We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ninja New York

Ninja New York
25 Hudson St, New York City, NY 10013-3802 (TriBeCa)
212-274-8500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ninja New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,479 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Between Duane St & Reade St
Transit: 1,2,3 train @ Chambers St
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just took our son here during a visit to NYC for his 9th birthday. He loved it so much that he decided we should move to NYC so we can dine here frequently. It is a great experience with kids (probably 6 and up)! Order the dishes with a 'ninja star' next to them on the menu for maximum entertainment. The food is decent; we ordered mostly sushi-style dishes, but the menu includes plenty for diners averse to 'raw' fish, including steaks, burgers, Caesar salad. While pricy, keep in mind that you're also paying for a 'show' and the atmosphere. Portions are large, too. We had a blast - truly a fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    153
    60
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a very fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Watch out for Ninjas!

The restaurant was fun...the Ninjas trying to frighten you..just a little bit..the food was good and the experience for our 9 year old was exceptional. make a reservation

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amhersturg, Ont.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I saw this restaraunt on the food network 2 years ago and I knew that the next time I went to New York I had to go. Even if the ninjas weren't as awesome as they were, we thought the food and presentation was awesome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Bad overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had such high hopes for this dinner with my two boys. I was so disappointed. The atmosphere was cool and the waiters were very nice. But I just can't get over how much we paid for mediocre to bad food. Even my Caesar salad didn't taste right. Some cool presentations but overall not worth it. Will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“dreadful food, very nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

clearly, the guy who created the food had a great concept. He put together a space that is on multiple levels ( beware disabled people ) that is really exciting. The staff is really nice and work hard to be friendly and outgoing. I was very pleased with the staff. The concept is so much fun for everyone, especially the kids. That being said, this japanese disneyland is similar to its american counterpart: the food is awful. i would suggest a visit here, order as minimum as possible and go have dinner somewhere else. everything is very tasteless from the steaks to the salmon to the sides that look good, but cold and unappetizing. The steak came with roasted garlic on top which was not even room temp. it was simply cold as if it came from a fridge... I dont get it. Go there but dont really order too much... Also, even though we ordered desserts, we had a bday cake for my child and they charged a $30 bringing fee!!! REally??? Why??? Who came up with the $30 fee? Where are they bringing it from??? What a shame... Nice place fire the management and the cooks, it would be one of the top spots in nyc. For now, it's just a hole in the ground ( literally)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninja New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ninja New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninja New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.