We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadway Rooms
337 West 55th Street, (between 8th and 9th Avenue), New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I'm still itching from the horrible stained bed sheets - I couldn't sleep for 4 nights.
The bed was rock hard. The pillows stank, all poor quality and dirty linens.
By far the worst experience I've ever had with accommodations.
We ended up paying WAY TOO MUCH. The lack of care by the management was shocking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    19
    15
    32
See reviews for
12
26
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

i didnt sleep for 3 days!!! Everything else except the location is terrible!!!
i have traveled in many many countries, stayed even in the cheapest hostel in cairo but i have never experienced sth like that!
we choose the hostel last minite so we didnt have many options but we payed 70$ per person and we saw some good reviews, so i tought would be decent. Everything was dirty, tiny rooms, not even a brace to put a jacket, old and dirty bathrooms, no pillows nο bedsheets, the beds creak, the floor creak, the doors and the windows creak.....i could mention much more but i get angry even when i think about it! PLEASE AVOID IT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

i think this is the best value in town... plus the best location.. very quiet and the staff was very helpful..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binningen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

You won't find another cheap Hotel or Hostel with such a great Location!! Times Square is just a 10 minutes walk away, and the next Subway station (Columbus Circle) is pretty close.
The Staff is awesome, they are so helpful and really know what to do and where to find things in New York! The Building is quite old, but decorated and furnished with much love, and they clean up everything day. The kitchen and lobby are good to hang around and meet other travellers.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

That's my third time in New York and everytime i stayed in an other hostel. Not anymore! The location awesome, staff very friendly, and the rooms are clean. I mean the building is a little bit old but that makes it cosy. If you are young, looking for a cheap but clean place to stay in de middle of the heart of big apple.... You,re right here!!!

And you won't find a better deal... I KNOW ;)

Thank you guys....
Christian K

Room Tip: Ask the staff for places to go out... They know!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Its not the first time im staying in a hostel and i really liked this one.
This place has a very friendly and helpful staff and the location is just great!!! Only 5 minutes walking distance to times square, 5th avenue, central park or the subway station.
The rooms are clean and very creative themed.
There is even a commune kitchen and microwave you can use!!! Awesome!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

After being unable to extend my stay in a more expensive studio aprtment in W28th Street, I stayed at Broadway Rooms for 2 nights in a private room during November 2011. Only paid $100 per night and 55th Street location was good. While the rooms are quite old, this is covered up by the Boadway show themed artwork. Found the place fairly quiet and staff at front desk quite friendly. Private room even had a mini refrigerator which is handy if you have some chilled drinks.
Down side was that the shared bath/shower could have done with a more regular clean - typical of bathroom facilities in a hostel type facility. Also, the very large bed was without legs, so you are practically sleeping on the ground and lifting your head straight up to watch television, and the pillow was pretty much dead flat.

Lastly, I did notice a mouse trap on the ground and a mouse hole in the wall behind the bed. Didn't see or hear anything until the last day when I starting packing and noticed that something had eaten into my bag of chocolates which was in my open suitcase on the floor (room had no elevated place or stand to put my suitcase on). Since I didn't see any mouse, I thought, oh well and packed the suitcase. When I got to my Boston Hotel that same night, to my surprise, a little mouse jumped out of my suitcase. Seems he or she had decided to come along with me. If you are going to save some money on NYC accommodations and stay at Broadway Rooms, then do not leave any evidence of food around in your room and keep your suitcase closed at all times.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broadway Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Rooms

Address: 337 West 55th Street, (between 8th and 9th Avenue), New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on 55th street between 8th and 9th Avenues, right in the heart of Manhattan. Times Square and Central Park are in walking distance as well as many great restaurants, bars and shopping possibilities. There is easy access to public transportation. The bus and subway stations are just 2 minutes away. There are also many supermarkets, restaurants, and bars in the area, as well as the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadway Rooms Hotel New York City
1291 Manhattan New York City
1291 Manhattan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Broadway Rooms to your Saves list