We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Water Taxi
Ranked #141 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very nice new hotel, convenient location, near Broadway theaters, Times Square. Rooms are sort of small, but not uncomfortable, very clean and cozy. There are only several rooms on each floor, so pretty much all of them are next to the elevator, but there was no noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and noting our clean and cozy guestrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    349
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
198
297
63
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Labrador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was quite impressed with this hotel. My sister and I stayed in adjacent rooms on the 30th floor which we had found through a good deal from Travelzoo. I found the staff very friendly - when we first arrived, check-in staff greeted us with a cake dessert that was still warm from coming out of the oven. The room was not large, but included a Keurig coffee maker and microwave oven as well as a small fridge, which was useful for storing snacks bought from a nearby Duane Reade. The bed was large and comfortable. Location was good, in midtown Manhattan, about halfway between Times Square and Central Park, with several nearby subway stations.

As several other reviews have mentioned, there is not much room in the closet to hang clothes as it is mostly occupied by an ironing board and iron, but there are a lot of drawers for keeping clothes. I found the water pressure low for showering, and it was the first time I had seen a bathroom door that slid open and shut, which some may not find private. Except for these very small (in my view) issues, I was very satisfied with this hotel. I did not eat at the restaurant attached as there are several other restaurants and diners nearby. Elevators were located directly across the hall from my room, but I did not find them noisy. I did not hear any of my neighbours. There were a few times my sister and I had to wait awhile for the elevator, but many times it came quickly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and recommending us to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I discovered this hotel through a deal being offered on Travelzoo. I had initially reserve a room at the Midtown Hilton a few blocks away and changed it immediately upon seeing the pictures of this brand new hotel (and a great price being offered). The location is excellent. Very nicely situated and near Central Park, Rockefeller Center, etc. I walked from Penn Station to the hotel. Wow was I impressed when I arrived. The lobby is beautiful, modern yet cozy. There was a fireplace going the evening I arrived. The front desk checkin was fast and friendly. I had a standard king room. Very nicely designed, with enough walking room and comfortable with a great use of space--comfy bed, flat screen tv, refrigerator, coffee maker. The bathroom was excellent with Neutrogena toiletries and a big walk-in shower (no bathtub) with glass doors. Loved the color scheme. I heard no noise from the street. Across the street is a theater (the old Studio 54). My favorite place to get breakfast was Cafe Metro around the corner and across the street from Carnegie Hall. I already have a room booked for May.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and taking time to note all of our wonderful amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We are fans of Hilton Garden Inns - they are dependably clean and comfortable and offer good value. This one was no exception very walkable to museums, shopping, and tons of restaurant choices The restaurant and bar are convenient and offer good choices, however breakfast is overpriced, and there are lots of more interesting and cheaper choices within a couple of blocks.

Room Tip: Higher floors have terrific views. All floors suffer from too few elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and noting our great location with all the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at the garden inn on w54th street. Great location handy to most attractions and subway. Room was small and looking at the plan was the biggest on the floor with 2 queen beds. We had 2 adults and 2 kids in the room and there was barely room to squeeze past each other and had to shuffle sideways to get down the side if the net. Room was clean but they didn't change the sheets the entire stay. I thought three night was typical for changing on a longer stay. Could smell the steakhouse down stairs occasionally in our room on the 23rd floor. The room had a fridge and microwave, which was handy. Overall a good hotel but a bit tight for 4 people.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Next time your in NYC, our spacious suite may suit your needs, providing additional space with an exterior walk out that is fully furnished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Super location, very friendly staff. We had room 2311, great clean bed ( king ) . Room size was comfortable for two people with a nice size flat screen tv. Very quite for a good night sleep. Now the negatives, our bathroom door was not intended for privacy. Would not closed tight and the handle was broken ( hotel handyman really ? ) . Now the shower pressure was next to nothing, beware of this. I do have to note the room and bathroom were very clean. Moving on to the elevators , during busy times super super slow. One last note, the breakfast buffet with the hotel was way to expensive for what it was. Knowing this now I would go back there with no problem, I'm sure the staff will fix that bathroom door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review and noting our great service. Please note that we have fixed the bathroom door in which you speak of and we have added numerous selections to our breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location just a block off Broadway & Times Square cannot be beat. Rooms are understandably small but reasonable for the location & price, and outfitted as best as can be done for utility in tight quarters. Décor is actually attractively modern & up-to-date. HVAC & windows are sufficiently quiet to get a good rest in this very noisy corner of the world. Only complaint is that it took 3 phone calls to get the room cleaned up (not until 7 pm) and an extra blanket (not until 24 hours after the initial request). So, not a great example of customer service on this visit...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the issue you note with timeliness and your room being serviced. I have shared your feedback with our Team and we have corrected the concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West

Address: 237 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.