We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip to Newyork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #127 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Birthday trip to Newyork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked this hotel for its location the breakfast and free WiFi. We stayed at this hotel from the 3nd of June 14 to 7th of June 14. We booked a 2 x double bed room with a city view. We found the room very well set out with everything you could have wished for. The room was 2708 with direct views of the Empire State Building. it was amazing.The breakfast in the morning should cover all needs from hot food to fruit, toast and many other kids tip bits you can also pick up your free paper. It was hard to work out the best time as it was served from 6.30 to 9.30 week days and 7 to 10 am on weekends. we went at 7.30 during the week and lots off room to sit, but on sat morning at 7.30 it was mental. We were informed at check in there was water and an ice machine on the 3th floor for your use. There is a little shop and it does have a price list for some of the items on sale. I bought 2 half bottles off wine from the shop and put it on my bill please be aware that there is no price list for the wine or beer so ask before you buy. I was charged near $50 for both. I walked to a Wine store near by and bought a 2 good bottles for $15 each. It was our first trip to New York and did find it very easy to get around but Times Square was Mad they try to sale you everything. If you intend to go on a bus tour around the city go to Madam Tussauds in times square as inside you buy the tickets for the buses and they tell you were you can pick it up. We made the mistake off while in Macy's store they offered us the tickets and we were told all we had to do was to turn up get the bus. this we tried to do but we still had to go to Madam Tussauds, que up and give them our booking from Macy's and then we got our tickets. that also goes for the street reps off the bus companys. We did have a ball at this hotel and the City never sleeps but be aware were you go as it can be unsafe. if you go to a bar set up a tab and pay when you leave. also be aware off a 20 % service tax.

Room Tip: City View we had room 2708 or room 2706 27th floor
See more room tips
Green Features: the staff were always very nice and helpful to talk too.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    588
    113
    38
    14
See reviews for
696
385
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

While in New York, I found it very welcoming at the level of profession, the room as expected was a complete Bonus, modern with the Urban flare, roomy and clean! I could have slept here for life, bed was Ever so comfortable! Good food at the restaurant. Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear cheryl e,

Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms, beds and food. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the city!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the staff is excellent. The rooms are a little larger than your typical NYC hotel room and you get a fridge and kitchenette area. The 3rd floor is a cool gathering area it's like a community center more than a bar. It's not NYC plush but it's good for longer stays.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow. What a great experience. New york is a Great city to visit. If I was to go back then I would definatly stay here again as the food rooms service were all excellent. If you visit new york visit this place even if its just for a drink in the bar.Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jayne M,

Thank you so much of your great review of our property. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in town!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Superisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive and the bed so comfy!!! Would be the perfect place to stay for extended visits (we've discovered not many American hotels have fridges, but this place did and it was a normal fridge size). We had breakfast too and yes it was busy but we were still able to find a seat and enjoyed our meals. Would definitely come back here again. Great location too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family We had two suites which were excellent Only thing we did not have a good view The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and huge.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good with excellent choice. Bar prices very expensive even with happy hour from 5-7pm and 10.30-11.30pm. Location of hotel excellent for all site seeing, shopping, bars and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenage children) stopped in the Residence Inn for our first trip to New York. The rooms were quite well insulated but there is always background noise throughout the night.

What drew us to the Residence Inn was the location, being close to Times Square and Grand Central Station, the complementary buffet breakfast and the free wifi. Nothing let us down.

We got the 7 day unlimited Metro Travelcard for $31 which we used on the Subway and Local buses. It was money well spent.

We were up early most morning so didn't suffer any problems with long delays for the lift or queues for breakfast.

The room was comfortable for the four of us with the Double Doubles working ok. We never really used the kitchen facilities but it was good to know there was a fridge/freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The room has a laptop sized room safe which you use your own PIN number to lock.

I would highly recommend the Residence Inn for any travellers to New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear bex94mat97,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the great amenities we have, including our full hot buffet breakfast. We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2005 modern highrise in great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.