We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality, & clean Room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 451 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hospitality, & clean Room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

While in New York, I found it very welcoming at the level of profession, the room as expected was a complete Bonus, modern with the Urban flare, roomy and clean! I could have slept here for life, bed was Ever so comfortable! Good food at the restaurant. Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear cheryl e,

Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms, beds and food. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the city!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    498
    98
    31
    10
See reviews for
581
327
79
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the staff is excellent. The rooms are a little larger than your typical NYC hotel room and you get a fridge and kitchenette area. The 3rd floor is a cool gathering area it's like a community center more than a bar. It's not NYC plush but it's good for longer stays.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wow. What a great experience. New york is a Great city to visit. If I was to go back then I would definatly stay here again as the food rooms service were all excellent. If you visit new york visit this place even if its just for a drink in the bar.Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jayne M,

Thank you so much of your great review of our property. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in town!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Superisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive and the bed so comfy!!! Would be the perfect place to stay for extended visits (we've discovered not many American hotels have fridges, but this place did and it was a normal fridge size). We had breakfast too and yes it was busy but we were still able to find a seat and enjoyed our meals. Would definitely come back here again. Great location too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family We had two suites which were excellent Only thing we did not have a good view The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and huge.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good with excellent choice. Bar prices very expensive even with happy hour from 5-7pm and 10.30-11.30pm. Location of hotel excellent for all site seeing, shopping, bars and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenage children) stopped in the Residence Inn for our first trip to New York. The rooms were quite well insulated but there is always background noise throughout the night.

What drew us to the Residence Inn was the location, being close to Times Square and Grand Central Station, the complementary buffet breakfast and the free wifi. Nothing let us down.

We got the 7 day unlimited Metro Travelcard for $31 which we used on the Subway and Local buses. It was money well spent.

We were up early most morning so didn't suffer any problems with long delays for the lift or queues for breakfast.

The room was comfortable for the four of us with the Double Doubles working ok. We never really used the kitchen facilities but it was good to know there was a fridge/freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The room has a laptop sized room safe which you use your own PIN number to lock.

I would highly recommend the Residence Inn for any travellers to New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear bex94mat97,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the great amenities we have, including our full hot buffet breakfast. We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A brilliant location just a short walk from Bryant Park and the subway. We also walked to or from NY Penn Station, the Rockefeller Center, ESB, Times Square and Macy's. Our corner room on the 10th floor gave a partial view of ESB which was clearer at night once it was lit up. Views downtown along 6th Avenue gave you a real feel of being in the heart of the city.

The room had plenty of good points with one or two minor niggles. The size was excellent even with the sofa bed open. The kingsize bed was very comfortable until they changed the sheets to some which felt more crinkly and plastic part way through our stay. We'd already noticed that guests at the Central Park branch of the hotel had complained about these. The mattress on the sofa bed felt a bit thin and springy but our small son slept well in it. They only provided two dining chairs which seemed strange for a triple room with a kitchen and dining table (we eneded up eating out so much that we didn't ask about getting an extra one). The air conditioning was very loud but I think we all tuned it out after a day or so. It probably deadened the noise from the street as well. There was a good sized TV with a selection of channels which kept our son happy. The kitchenette was a decent size but I don't think that Hotels.com makes it very clear that there is no stove top (you can request a hotplate). We had intended to cook more but with hindsight it was just easier to eat out or get dishes made to go at several local places like Bryant Market and Pax Wholesome Foods. The bathroom looked newly refurbished and had a bathtub/shower. The room looked generally clean but the top of the tall firdge/freezer was in serious need of a dust. There was no obvious way of sorting out the rubbish so we left plastic, metal and glass on the side to see if they would take it. They didn't but we've since read that one of their other hotels uses a collection service which sorts it for them. This could be made clear somewhere in the room.

The breakfast selection was substantial with plenty of hot and cold options. If you wanted to avoid fried food and sweet options then there were several cereals and plenty of bagels and toast. The fuir selection seemed to vary a bit e.g. bananas and fresh melon appeared some days whilst on others it seemed more tinned like with peaches and pineapple. Queuing times were quite short and the time that we went down didn't seem to affect them. We didn't notice the lift waiting times that some people have mentioned.

We didn't have much call to use the front desk. The one time we did was to request a kettle which sounded like it would be delivered immediately. It wasn't and in the end we put the Do Not Disturb sign out so that we could go to bed. We also found that the microwave had a beverage setting for heating up water so we used that instead. Apart from that the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

One other slightly annoying thing was that we had been hoping to use a Marriott gift card to pay for some extras. The bartender coundn't get it to work on the bar till so we charged the drinks to the room. The hotel ran the charges against our creitt card during the night before we left so we never got the chance to use the card.

All in all we felt like we got good value for our stay and we'd definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2005 modern highrise in great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.