We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be our favorite NYC hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 451 hotels in New York City
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Continues to be our favorite NYC hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've just returned from a winter weekend in NYC, staying at the Residence Inn Times Square for the fifth time. Each time, we ask ourselves why we would ever stay anywhere else. We continue to be amazed at the personal service offered by everyone from the front desk to the breakfast workers. Everyone greets us with a smile and genuine eagerness to make our stay a positive experience. This time, we were pleased to be able to stay in a Skyline City View Room (3106) with a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. The rooms are spacious, complete with a large kitchen area. The location is walking distance to the Times Square area and the theatre district. We love being able to print our airline boarding passes from the front lobby computer. Special thanks to Andre and the front desk crew who always treat us warmly. We look forward to returning again in the near future!

Room Tip: The rooms ending in "06" have a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Meredith77:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. It's so nice to hear you had such a nice visit and that our hotel continues to be your favorite hotel in New York City! I'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff, especially Andre. Please be sure to let me know the next time you’ll be visiting us.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    498
    98
    31
    10
See reviews for
581
327
79
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a very busy hotel in the center of New York City. The rooms are adequate and fairly comfortable.

Breakfast is included but is very chaotic (as one would expect). If you show up during the peak breakfast area, seating is limited and you often find yourself cleaning up someone else's mess just to have a table. (You bus your own garbage, but you realize how many inconsiderate people there are there!) The breakfast is simple but substantial.

The staff is unremarkable: not overly friendly or accommodating....but not rude.

Overall, it's just a hotel in the big city.....a bed to sleep in and a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor...even with closed windows you'll hear street noise (but higher is quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Optoko:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad you and your family had a comfortable stay while visiting New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just finished a three-night stay at this Residence Inn as part of a weekend family get-away to New York. I was very, very pleased with the hotel. You get what you would expect from a Residence Inn. Which, to be clear, I was happy with - but it wasn't anything special nor was it worn around the edges. But I'm giving the hotel an excellent review not because the hotel is a 5-star, luxurious hotel but because the hotel staff really ended up making the hotel more luxurious and welcoming than any other hotels where I have stayed.

The valet, the front desk staff, the housekeeping, and the buffet staff were just friendly, plain and simple, and helpful. Housekeeping loaded our dishwasher for us and started the dishwasher, though I didn't expect them too. The buffet staff clears your table for you; they don't at other hotels of this type where I've stayed.

As others have stated, the hotel is well-located for most touristy things in NY: Times Square, museums, Bryant Park and the Public Library, etc. Also like others have said, the breakfast is much better than you typically get in hotels like this.

Good job, Residence Inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear travelerboy:

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. It's so nice to hear you and your family had such an excellent stay. I'm so glad we were able to exceed your expectations.

I'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff. I hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time your travel plans bring you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First time at this hotel, stayed one night.

Was given an upgrade to a corner room on check in - rooms that end in 01 have side and front windows, and a great view down Ave/Americas. Room was good sized, bath was small. The door intruded into the room, I kept hitting it because it was in the way - this bath should have sliding doors for sure. Other than that room was clean, sizeable, and well appointed with fridge and microwave. Also - for being right in Midtown - this room was very quiet

As others have mentioned - breakfast was a feast - typical Residence Inn fare - was good.

Elevators were quick - no issue. Fitness room was disappointing - for a hotel this size it was really small and had good cardio equipment, but next to no weights or machines. Need an upgrade here.

One last thing - prices in the bar were crazy - even by NY standards.

One great thing about this hotel is the location. It really is convenient to things that you can walk to - and the subway is about a 3 minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear RobBflo1:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad to hear we were able to meet your travel needs and you found our location conveniently located in Midtown. I hope you'll stay with us the next time business brings you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed with four adults (yes, four) in a studio with two double beds. While the 320 sq. ft. was a bit worrisome, the room layout actually worked for us. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is small but with the kitchenette area, we had another sink option and a "dressing area." We each brought one of those folding camping chairs to wait for the parade, which turned out to be very helpful in the room as there are only two small chairs for the table and one comfortable chair (no sofa).

The staff was very helpful and we didn't encounter a lot of trouble with the elevators or the breakfast buffet...and it was Thanksgiving weekend. If you can handle New York, you can handle these facilities. Location was great for lots of walking. Gabby O'Hara's Irish Pub right around the corner was a nice respite for a relaxing atmosphere and good food.

Definitely ask for a room on the 20th floor or higher if you're sensitive to noise. The first room they gave us was very dark, so we asked for another one and were happy with it. The room was pretty clean, but the carpeting needs to be replaced. Actually, it wouldn't hurt to update the walls, either.

The hotel was on the parade route this year. There were some barricades in front of the hotel, which helped to secure your own space. We got down there around 6:00 am, took turns for breakfast, etc., and folded up our chairs at 9:45 am when the parade came into view. Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher-level room (20th floor +). Rooms are a bit dark, so check out your room before movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear St._Louie:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad to hear you and your friends had such a great experience staying with us. I hope you enjoyed the parade and the beautiful weather!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good value. Good location. Free Internet. Not pretentious. Probably one the better alternatives in that price category.

I have been visiting NYC yearly since 1988 and this was probably the best value hotel I ever stayed in. It is not luxury and it doesn't pretend to be so either.

Room Tip: Pic a room facing the north side of the building and you get a nice view over Bryant Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Christer K:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you found value in staying with us. Thank you for posting a photo of the view from your room!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmes beach, fl
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you stayed in other hotels in NYC, you know the size of the suite was a treat and conventienly located and priced well. Great refrigerator and kitchenette. I have no complaints. Due to Hurricane Sandy, the Statue of Liberty and the Seaport were closed. Plenty of great shopping nearby.

Room Tip: We always enjoy a higher floor to get any view available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear mayrealtor:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and found our rooms comfortable and our location conveniently located. I hope you'll visit with us again soon.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2005 modern highrise in great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.