We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel 57 to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #280 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We just returned from our Anniversary weekend in your hotel. What a pleasant surprise! We booked on priceline and were given the "Cozy" room as a result, which we expected for the price. The bed was a double, but we were fine with the size of the room, as it is designed very functionally for 2 people.
We've always stayed in Times Square, but were thrilled with the location of Hotel 57, since we could walk to Central Park, Shopping on 5th or Park, and even to Times Square.
Danny, the Bell Hop/greeter was a breath of fresh air every time we saw him. He remembered us and gave us water upon arrival and departure. Had great local tips as well.
The only recommendation I'd have would be to give guests the protocol for picking up your vehicle when they arrive. We called when we were ready to check out, but it took 30 minutes rom notification to deliver our vehicle. Danny was smooth in helping ease our frustations with that though as well!
We had a blast and can't wait to return to your hotel. The rooftop bar had great views as well!

Room Tip: As always in NYC, higher is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    336
    142
    40
    29
See reviews for
147
311
65
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First of all, we were treated harshly to say the least, when they found out we had gotten a deal out of a third party. We were prepared to pay for an upgrade offered in the phone before but the person who received us was not that happy to do it. My friend got nothing even she was an elite member of Marriott they wont even allow her to get points.. Then after all that, come to a small room that have seen better days. I was aware we were getting a deal but I have been treated better in the HYATT, and other nicer hotels. And to end it all, I got a ticket when the valet parking people park my car in the spot next to the loading area on the street, just before driving out of New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate the detailed review. The experience you described surly does not meet our standards and I am sorry for your frustration. Partners like yourself help us improve every day as we share the feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to demonstrate the qualities of the Renaissance hotel that you expected. If I can ever personally assist you with your next visit please feel free to contact me directly at manny.rappenecker@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 4 nights end of August, I was there for business.
The staff are AMAZING, the hotels is GREAT.
Rooms are a little small but practical, amenities are AVEDA, Awesome!
I shall never hesitate where to Stay in NY again.
Thanks to all the Staff

Room Tip: Don't forget to visit the roof top bar if it is open, it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

stay in a lot of marriotts as they are usually of a high quality -however, this one did not meet up to my expectations. Room was tiny and dark.
location is good though
Try Christies the pub not far away - terrific place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance with my mother after booking the hotel through a discount website. Of course I knew I wouldn't get an updated room but we were a little shocked at how small our room was! It was clean and the bathroom was ok too (not renovated, but big shower). Good thing we weren't travelling with any kids because there was hardly any space in the room. This is just a warning in case you're booking through a discount website. I know people who pay regular price will get the nice, updated rooms. Not sure if they are bigger though! ;)

The street noise didn't bother me even if I could hear it a little. The hotel itself was very calm.

The fitness center is great. There are several cardio machines (with their own little TV) and plenty of dumbbell so I was able to squeeze a decent workout during my NYC trip.

Anyways, the location is fantastic and there are plenty of stores/restaurants near by. There is a Whole Foods a few blocks away which was convenient to get something to eat in the morning.

The staff is very helpful and one of them helped us find a restaurant after a musical on a sunday night at 9pm when everything seemed to be closed in the area. I can't remember his name but he was the best!! Always smiling and opening the doors for us.

I would go back to this hotel if I'd get a good price. I can deal with the tiny room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My daughter and I had a lovely time here for 4 nights to celebrate our birthdays. Our room was ready when we arrived at the hotel around noon so we were able to check in early and rest for a bit after being up since 5:00 a.m. and flying in. The staff could not have been more friendly or welcoming throughout our stay. They even sang "Happy Birthday" to us at check-in and sent goodies to the room later. We had two double beds and, while the room was on the smaller side, we had plenty of space for us and our large luggage. I even had room to do yoga beside one of the beds:) The location was great for shopping, museums, and Central Park. The subway is two blocks away and can take you to the 9/11 memorial in about 10-15 minutes! We were on the 9th floor and heard no street noise at all. It was very quiet and we slept well. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love hearing about our guest's great experiences and it is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and friendly staff. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to New York CIty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The property is quite stylish and very well maintained, and service works fine. Location is wonderful, just a few blocks from the main attractions.

Terrace on top floor has wonderful views of the Chrysler Building, and we were treated with a sunset. Great overall.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite for two adults and a kid, and I think the extra space really made a difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel 57, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.