We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique-like feel in midtown east” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel 57 to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #280 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice boutique-like feel in midtown east”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit friends in the city and the hotel did not disappoint. We have stayed in a handful of Marriott hotels in Manhattan over the past year or so and Hotel 57 is probably our favorite. It has the feel of a smaller, boutique property with a nice two level lobby and complimentary water and newspapers. We were upgraded to a superior king room, which for NYC standards was decently sized and was very clean and modern. The rooftop terrace is a great place to have a drink or a snack - great views and perspective of midtown. Location is nice - right on the subway and close to Central Park. We would certainly consider staying at Hotel 57 in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We continuously strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to each of our guests. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    335
    142
    39
    29
See reviews for
147
310
64
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. The cozy room was indeed cozy, but a very functional space that worked for the 2 of us. Comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. The staff was terrific, including William at the front desk. The location is excellent, just a few blocks from the subway and Central Park. My only quibble is the concierge didn't have running maps of Central Park, but other than that we had no issues with our stay. The rooftop lounge was a great place to end the day with a drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had been many times in New York and choose this hotel because of the location and because of the many favorable comments on trip advisor. Do not regret our decision. The location is great, and the service is very friendly. Also very professional service at concierge level, helping us to discover new neighborhoods and book restaurants. During our stay we got aware that there are different types of rooms in the hotel and decided next time in the city to book a larger room with more comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This has become my go to place for trips to NYC.
Small but comfortable rooms- some recently refurbished
Some great views of the city- some of backs of buildings
The service is great, they know your name and welcome you back
Opia's the lounge is wonderful- especially when the balconies are open
The rooftop lounge is great for drinks- but they need some snacks

I love this place
A quick walk to anywhere you want to be
Close to lots of great restaurants
Really a lovely place to stay in NYC

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view some views are a bit bland
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. I was immediately greeted by several staff members at check-in and was offered water, newspaper, and any additional assistance. During my stay, staff constantly asked if i needed anything. Room was beautiful - great size and very clean. Large bathroom and excellent amenities. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I traveled here with our son for a quick visit to the city. My husband stays at the hotel quite frequently for work but I had never been. Imagine my surprise when the room was much bigger than anticipated- for NYC, I was impressed with the space! The staff was very attentive and friendly. The location is ideal to so many great attractions. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your posting - we defintely hope to see you on your future visits to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Location great for central park, shopping, theatre etc. Small room but that's to be expected in manhattan. My main complaint is a fee for internet
Service. Why is this outdated practice still so widely accepted? Cable tv comes with the cost of a room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Glad that overall your experience was good. With regards to Internet access we do have complimentary access in our lobby areas as well as on our rooftop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel 57, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.