We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best NYC Hotel That You Don't Know Anything About” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel 57 to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #280 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The Best NYC Hotel That You Don't Know Anything About”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

After staying at the East Side Marriott, the Marquis and the NY Hilton many times, I decided to try this property for a Sunday night stay. The location is incredible, within walking distance of almost everything, 2 blks from Bloomies and a 15 min walk to Rockefeller Center. I was upgraded to a Jr suite which had a huge flat panel TV on one wall in the living room area and a giant King bed in the bedroom. The bathroom was beautiful. The whole place reminds me of a high end European hotel. This room actually had a terrace - ever have a balcony in a hotel in NYC? The room was absolututely fantastic, modern, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was pleasant and were very helpful. The Concierge lounge has a great breakfast every am and drinks and snacks all day. The rate was $199 which is very reasonable for a nice NYC hotel. The was an occasion where the value received was much higher than my expectation. Great when that happens. Kudos to the staff at this hotel. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the terrace in the spring or summer, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    336
    142
    40
    29
See reviews for
147
311
65
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. First of all the staff was very accomodating. This hotel is in a great neighborhood and is convenient to so many things. We walked to Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdale's, Madison Ave. shopping just to name a few. We were very pleased with our room which was a junior suite. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms are modern and very nicely decorated. We even had a terrace. The lobby and public areas are modern and nicely appointed. We even had a drink and snack in the restaurant which was very nice. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for less city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Renaissance 57 hotel for 2 night in April. Overall, we did not like our stay there. Perhaps, we should have had lower expectations of this hotel, but we just thought it'll be as advertised on Marriott's web sites - nice and cozy boutique NYC hotel.
Location - perhaps, the only good thing we can say about this hotel. The location indeed is stellar. Close to main shopping and entertainment nodes in NYC.
Room - we had a standard double hotel room. I got the room for redeeming my Marriott points. The room was very small and dark. The furniture was old and worn out. There was no minibar, no robes, no slippers in the room. Most annoyingly, the size of the bed was very small, although we were told it's a standard queen size bed. Perhaps, such a small queen bed size is standard for NYC hotels, but it's clearly too small for two people. The room was quiet though.
Breakfast - available only a la carte.
PS: I should admit that after I complained about the minibar, the personnel got us a small bottle of wine, and some pasteries as a complement. However, this could not improve the overall impression from the hotel. It's just not a 5 star hotel that we thought it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a cozy but lively hotel in NYC. We enjoyed the energy and decor, food and entertainment. Our room was amazingly quiet - no street noise though lots of traffic, and no neighbor noise. Good location for walking about.

Room Tip: We had an executive double - small but comfortable. Double beds, not queen. When in NYC we don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Staff is very welcoming and accommodating. Great bar on site and the rooms are very clean and quaint. The bed was super comfy with over sized pillows and a down comforter. Great location in a nice part of the city, lots of juice bars near by too

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance NY 57. We choose the hotel for the location and the fact that we usually always are pleased with the Renaissance brand. Sadly, this hotel fell short for me in all regards except for the location...that I will say is excellent. It is located close to midtown, Central Park and all the shopping you could hope for. However, the rest of the stay was disappointing. When we arrived at 9pm there was no bellman anywhere. We had driven into the city and needed to valet park. I had to go into the hotel while my husband waited in the car and find someone who could help with parking. I certainly expect that a hotel that charges the prices they do and says they are a 4 star hotel would at least have a bellman. (especially in NYC). This happened both nights we were there. I will say I did see a doorman/bellman there during the day on occasion, but why would there not be anyone at night? The room itself was small, but that's expected in NYC. We had a superior room so it was larger than the regular rooms and it was still small. The decor is tired and dated, definitely could use a remodel. The best part of the room was the bathroom...fairly spacious and nice. Next time, I'll go back down to the East Side Marriott...only a few blocks away, much bigger rooms and a bellman!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoy our stay in this hotel. The service was excellent, room was small but very comfortable. Very nice bedding and towels. The room was attractive. We would stay there again. We came with two other couples and we all agreed that we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel 57, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.