We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Talkie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Talkie
189 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-4906 (Chelsea)
212-242-6366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,137 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Bombay Talkie, Chelsea's untra hip take on Indian "street food", continues to wow diners and critics. Created and owned by Sunitha Ramaiah, the bistro melds the two worlds dearest to her: Her childhood in Southern India and her adult life in Manhattan. Bombay Talkie contemporizes the regional cuisines of the tiny road side cafes (or Tea Houses) that dot the Indian sub continent.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with the quality of service. On arrival, we ordered a bottle of wine, assuming that a bottle would arrive with 2 glasses. Instead 2 glasses were poured, with no bottle. When we asked for the bottle the manageress said that there were no bottles left due to a missed delivery. This should have been explained before we had ordered the wine, as a single glass of wine costs more (per glass) than a bottle. We were also disappointed that the main course was delivered to us before we had eaten our starter/appetiser. The table (including the starter) was never cleared until we had finished our meals, despite a waiter standing idle, except only to top up our already full glasses of water after one or two sips. The waiter's command of English was poor. He failed to understand a simple question as to the location of the restrooms. Finally, our check included the whole meal price without the Groupon payment being deducted. This had to be corrected prior to payment of the check.

We would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, the whole experience was unsatisfactory and the attitude of the staff left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“With-it Indian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This might be a gastro-pub if the food were European. Heavy emphasis on available unusual cocktails. Good selection of Indian food. Tends to be busy in the evening. From our perspective as mature diners, it suffers from the availability in Chelsea of so many good restaurants. We tend to go to quieter places not so eager to be hip

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Indian Restaurants In The US (In My Opinion)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is that most unusual thing (In my experience) a really good Indian Restaurant in the US ( I am very prepared to be proved wrong - please let me know if you know better)
We didn't book so had to sit at the long,raised 'bar type' table in the centre, which, if I were the proprietor, I would get rid of. This is but a small matter. The service was efficient, the decor very pleasant and clientele really enjoying themselves, as we did too. As vegetarians, Indian food always offers us plenty of scope, and there were plenty of options here. The dishes that we chose were excellent by any measure, whether it be compared to London's best or anything experienced on the Sub Continent, or anywhere else. This little area of Chelsea is blessed with some excellent restaurants. I urge anyone who finds themselves in Chelsea, or the Westside in need of a spicy treat to try this, you won't be disappointed. *Note to proprietor lose the long table.*Note to customers book to avoid long table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pa-pa-pa-dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

one of the best Indian meals I ever had. spicy, unusual but intriguing combinations, surprising and perfect service. I certainly will visit again on my next trip to NYC.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, great staff, good ambiance in understated nieghborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have eaten there twice now and will go back any time. The food is gorgeous, if you like it spicy, but if not they can find you a lot to eat too. Service is excellent and quiet. Menu is not your usual, but you can't go wrong. Décor is elegant, yet subdued. Prices are extremely reasonable, for NYC and most places, if you put the quality in the equation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Talkie also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Talkie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Talkie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.