We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gramercy Park hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gramercy Park hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had such a great experience here. The quality, the cleanliness, everything about it was wonderful. Of all the hotels I have stayed in or visited in NYC, this is by far the best. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, Director of Front of House Operations - Chelsea Cox at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Sonia, THANK YOU for the rave review! We know you have countless choices when visiting NYC, so to know that you will keep coming back to us time and again is beyond satisfying. The staff at Gramercy truly takes pride in everything they do from the service to the cleanliness. Can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    168
    68
    34
    22
See reviews for
170
345
69
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

As a life long New Yorker, I have stayed in various NYC properties over the last several decades. My visits to the Gramercy are perfect. The staff let me check in at 9:30 am this week. The rooms are big, comfy and simply like a home away from home. The staff is nice and accommodating. They hare helpful (concierge was really helping with a bunch of my stupid questions this week) and for a hipster type place, it is neither pretentious nor is it stand offish. Will always stay here in future trips back home.

Room Tip: never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are always focused on delivering a great experience, but coming from a native New Yorker means a lot! You've seen it all so to now be your go to spot here in the city, really brings it home for us! Regarding the team....you are absolutely right....sure the Gramercy is an "It" place, but rest assured....you will receive personalized and memorable service when you stay with us, as that is what brings our loyal guests back, time and time again.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Gramercy Park Hotel three times now over the past 2 years. The location is perfect for a variety of reasons...one mainly being the beautiful park that abuts the hotel and all the great restaurants and shopping in the area.
The front desk staff was extremely friendly and welcomed us back upon check in. The great surprise was a totally unexpected upgrade on our suite, which started our trip off just right!
When asked which paper I would prefer each morning, I asked if the Boston Globe would be available. Without hesitation the young woman at the front desk said to me,"We can make that happen." The next morning the Boston Globe, printed straight off of the computer on newspaper sized paper and then stapled together, was available at our door for my husband to check on his beloved Boston sports teams. This attention to the needs of the guests was above and beyond in our book.
The housekeeping staff was also very attentive and answered all of our needs from extra towels, to making up the sleep sofa at a moments notice.
The park view suite that we were upgraded to had plenty of space for my husband and myself and our grown daughter. In the living area the sofa pulled out to a queen bed and is separated from the king bedroom by glass french doors and heavy red velvet curtains. There is only one bathroom, but it is a good size and worked fine for the three of us.
The living area and the bedroom each have a large flat screen tv. There is also a well stocked mini bar, but as is typical of most hotel mini bars, it can get pricey. Just be prepared if you have small kids who might want a snack.
If you find yourself in NYC and are looking for a boutique hotel that definitely puts its guests first, then the Gramercy Park Hotel is your answer.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that overlooks the park and has a lot of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Wow! Thank you Lori, we are truly humbled by your wonderful feedback about the property. Gramercy is a special place....its history, art, private park access and more! What really brings the property to life are the team members dedicated to creating personalized experiences for our guests. I was so pleased to have connected with you and hear about your wonderful time with us. When guests leave as happy as you have, then we have done what we sought out to do....create memories! Please keep in touch and let me know when your travels bring you back for another weekend here at Gramercy.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Gramercy Park Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in New York City! The location could not be better - a quiet place in the midst of the city. The service is superb. We were allowed to check in early which means a lot when your arrival time does not coincide with check in time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing Maragaret! Glad to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you. The team here at Gramercy truly do all in their power to exceed the expectations of our guests whenever they have the opportunity to do so. Location is so key in the city....giving you just that here at Gramercy. So close to everything, yet away from the hustle and bustle. Our adjacent location to the only private park in New York City and being on a tree lined street truly play to our advantage. Looking forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Live in Gramercy and booked for my bf's birthday. Was delighted. Very conscientious staff who offered complimentary bday cake and upgraded our room without my asking. Lots of hip Manhattan hotels can be snooty and sort of rest on their laurels because of their cache, but this was not my experience here at all. Received a thoughtful follow-up email from the GM after check out to boot. Will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you Mary....We are truly humbled by your feedback. The entire team here at Gramercy are focused on delivering a personalized and memorable experience, what better time to do that than a birthday celebration! I hope that your boyfriend enjoyed himself and was delighted with the surprises we lined up! Looking forward to welcome you back for another special celebration or a "just because" visit.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have travelled into NYC on numerous times and staed in a variety of Hotels.Gramercy Park exceeded my expectations tenfold.A great experience,from the quality of the rooms,the service and extremely knowledgeable concierge>It is know my go to location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much Chris. We are truly flattered by your outstanding feedback. The team here at Gramercy really bring the property to life each and every day, complimenting the opulent beauty throughout the property. I was so please to know about your experience and look forward to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everything about this hotel suggests wear and a time home by. It is in serious need of refurbishing as almost every aspect of the hotel shows it's age. It also seems under staffed for a hotel of this caliber. The wood floors in the rooms are a nice touch, hut need refinishing and I do not think there was a bulb in our suite over 20 watts and a number of those we're burned out! The whole place is very dimly lit.

The negatives aside, it is a great location with a beautiful private park accessible to guests, a beautiful green sanctuary in the heart of the city. The staff were superbly helpful and friendly. Our room was very spacious with the afore mentioned hardwood floors and area rugs. The bed was superbly comfortable and the AC worked very well.

Over all, this is a very nice hotel in a great location, just needs a little attention and TLC.

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello James - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback about the property...Sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the hotel and connected with the team. Access to the private park is special, so glad that you were able to enjoy it. With regards to the design and look of the property...many of the aspects you pointed out are truthfully by design. When Academy Award winning designer Julian Schnabel, re imagined Gramercy, from it history. Certain aspects were paid homage to its storied background. Built in 1924 and former residence ot President Kennedy, historic touches were recreated in the room product. For example, the distressed hardwood floors are designed to be worn in, along with the low wattage, Tomas Edison type light bulbs throughout the property. Our team is well versed in the properties design and always welcome tours of the property to explain its complexities in design as it truly is a unique portrayal of old meets new. The massive 2 story columns in our hotel lobby are actually created from old reclaimed wood of farmhouses from the early 19th century, and the worn looking tiles are actually original Moroccan tile all imported piece by piece, colored with a storied age of their own . Happy to walk you through the property should your travels bring you back so as to showcase the beauty in its design. and unique look.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.