We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gramercy Park Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off rate for Suites
Ranked #35 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gramercy Park Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Gramercy Park Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in New York City! The location could not be better - a quiet place in the midst of the city. The service is superb. We were allowed to check in early which means a lot when your arrival time does not coincide with check in time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing Maragaret! Glad to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you. The team here at Gramercy truly do all in their power to exceed the expectations of our guests whenever they have the opportunity to do so. Location is so key in the city....giving you just that here at Gramercy. So close to everything, yet away from the hustle and bustle. Our adjacent location to the only private park in New York City and being on a tree lined street truly play to our advantage. Looking forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    183
    73
    34
    22
See reviews for
179
363
75
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Live in Gramercy and booked for my bf's birthday. Was delighted. Very conscientious staff who offered complimentary bday cake and upgraded our room without my asking. Lots of hip Manhattan hotels can be snooty and sort of rest on their laurels because of their cache, but this was not my experience here at all. Received a thoughtful follow-up email from the GM after check out to boot. Will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you Mary....We are truly humbled by your feedback. The entire team here at Gramercy are focused on delivering a personalized and memorable experience, what better time to do that than a birthday celebration! I hope that your boyfriend enjoyed himself and was delighted with the surprises we lined up! Looking forward to welcome you back for another special celebration or a "just because" visit.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have travelled into NYC on numerous times and staed in a variety of Hotels.Gramercy Park exceeded my expectations tenfold.A great experience,from the quality of the rooms,the service and extremely knowledgeable concierge>It is know my go to location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much Chris. We are truly flattered by your outstanding feedback. The team here at Gramercy really bring the property to life each and every day, complimenting the opulent beauty throughout the property. I was so please to know about your experience and look forward to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everything about this hotel suggests wear and a time home by. It is in serious need of refurbishing as almost every aspect of the hotel shows it's age. It also seems under staffed for a hotel of this caliber. The wood floors in the rooms are a nice touch, hut need refinishing and I do not think there was a bulb in our suite over 20 watts and a number of those we're burned out! The whole place is very dimly lit.

The negatives aside, it is a great location with a beautiful private park accessible to guests, a beautiful green sanctuary in the heart of the city. The staff were superbly helpful and friendly. Our room was very spacious with the afore mentioned hardwood floors and area rugs. The bed was superbly comfortable and the AC worked very well.

Over all, this is a very nice hotel in a great location, just needs a little attention and TLC.

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello James - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback about the property...Sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the hotel and connected with the team. Access to the private park is special, so glad that you were able to enjoy it. With regards to the design and look of the property...many of the aspects you pointed out are truthfully by design. When Academy Award winning designer Julian Schnabel, re imagined Gramercy, from it history. Certain aspects were paid homage to its storied background. Built in 1924 and former residence ot President Kennedy, historic touches were recreated in the room product. For example, the distressed hardwood floors are designed to be worn in, along with the low wattage, Tomas Edison type light bulbs throughout the property. Our team is well versed in the properties design and always welcome tours of the property to explain its complexities in design as it truly is a unique portrayal of old meets new. The massive 2 story columns in our hotel lobby are actually created from old reclaimed wood of farmhouses from the early 19th century, and the worn looking tiles are actually original Moroccan tile all imported piece by piece, colored with a storied age of their own . Happy to walk you through the property should your travels bring you back so as to showcase the beauty in its design. and unique look.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Gramercy Park Hotel was the best hotel experience I've ever had from the spacious room, view, and felt so relaxed. The bed was so comfortable and I would stay there every night if I could. The service was unbelievable. Chelsea Cox was so amazing! Definitely recommend GPH to anyone looking for the ideal stay in NYC. Can't wait to stay again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are fortunate to have a talent team of associates, like Chelsea, who are keen on delivering a memorable experience to our guests. SO pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself here at Gramercy! Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to New York so that we may ensure you are well taken care of yet again.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Outstanding hotel! Loved the location and private access to park. Also loved the included bikes! Staff, was very accommodating... Special thanks to Chen at front door... Very upbeat and helpful! We will be back and look forward to our next trip

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much Brian, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. The property is indeed unique and special. Access to the only private park in New York City...no problem, its part of the Gramercy Park experience! Our latest addition, the Lorenzo Martone fashion Bikes! They are a sight to be seen! These Gold bikes, with their flashy GPH plates, are the talk of the town....and as a guest, they are at your disposal. Looking forward to welcome you back for another great Gramercy weekend.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Gramercy from July 31st to Augus 3, 2014.I have travelled to NYc many times. I decided to stay the Gramercy. We arrived early and our room was not ready but everyone from the door man, to the front desk staff were very friendly. We were called shortly after 2:00pm to check in. This hotel is also in a great location, close to Empire state building, Broadway and 5th Ave. This hotel is in an area that is not swarming with tourist and sirens. This hotel offer everything you would expect in a great hotel. The rooms were a good size for Nyc standards. What I liked about this hotel is the things that make it great, we always had enought towel, robes and slippers,hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, comfortable beds and even a umbrella. The turn down service is also very nice. What I was a let down was having to pay $16 for the internet daily. I would have rated this hotel excellent if the internet was included. i would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Location is key in NYC and Gramercy delivers just that being located in such close proximity to so much. I was also so pleased to hear that our amenities were to your liking along with the size and appointment of our guest rooms. Getting in early is always helpful, so I was happy that we got you checked in prior to normal check-in time. With our internet service, looks as though you booked the Room Only option. On our website we do offer a package option that includes internet bundled into the rate. As a side note we also extend complimentary internet in the lobby 24/7 for guest use. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy in the near future.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#15 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#16 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at The New York Palace
The Towers at The New York Palac...
#12 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Manhattan
Hyatt Union Square New York
Hyatt Union Square New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.