We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Live in Gramercy and booked for my bf's birthday. Was delighted. Very conscientious staff who offered complimentary bday cake and upgraded our room without my asking. Lots of hip Manhattan hotels can be snooty and sort of rest on their laurels because of their cache, but this was not my experience here at all. Received a thoughtful follow-up email from the GM after check out to boot. Will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you Mary....We are truly humbled by your feedback. The entire team here at Gramercy are focused on delivering a personalized and memorable experience, what better time to do that than a birthday celebration! I hope that your boyfriend enjoyed himself and was delighted with the surprises we lined up! Looking forward to welcome you back for another special celebration or a "just because" visit.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    132
    54
    28
    18
See reviews for
137
264
59
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have travelled into NYC on numerous times and staed in a variety of Hotels.Gramercy Park exceeded my expectations tenfold.A great experience,from the quality of the rooms,the service and extremely knowledgeable concierge>It is know my go to location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much Chris. We are truly flattered by your outstanding feedback. The team here at Gramercy really bring the property to life each and every day, complimenting the opulent beauty throughout the property. I was so please to know about your experience and look forward to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everything about this hotel suggests wear and a time home by. It is in serious need of refurbishing as almost every aspect of the hotel shows it's age. It also seems under staffed for a hotel of this caliber. The wood floors in the rooms are a nice touch, hut need refinishing and I do not think there was a bulb in our suite over 20 watts and a number of those we're burned out! The whole place is very dimly lit.

The negatives aside, it is a great location with a beautiful private park accessible to guests, a beautiful green sanctuary in the heart of the city. The staff were superbly helpful and friendly. Our room was very spacious with the afore mentioned hardwood floors and area rugs. The bed was superbly comfortable and the AC worked very well.

Over all, this is a very nice hotel in a great location, just needs a little attention and TLC.

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello James - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback about the property...Sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the hotel and connected with the team. Access to the private park is special, so glad that you were able to enjoy it. With regards to the design and look of the property...many of the aspects you pointed out are truthfully by design. When Academy Award winning designer Julian Schnabel, re imagined Gramercy, from it history. Certain aspects were paid homage to its storied background. Built in 1924 and former residence ot President Kennedy, historic touches were recreated in the room product. For example, the distressed hardwood floors are designed to be worn in, along with the low wattage, Tomas Edison type light bulbs throughout the property. Our team is well versed in the properties design and always welcome tours of the property to explain its complexities in design as it truly is a unique portrayal of old meets new. The massive 2 story columns in our hotel lobby are actually created from old reclaimed wood of farmhouses from the early 19th century, and the worn looking tiles are actually original Moroccan tile all imported piece by piece, colored with a storied age of their own . Happy to walk you through the property should your travels bring you back so as to showcase the beauty in its design. and unique look.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Gramercy Park Hotel was the best hotel experience I've ever had from the spacious room, view, and felt so relaxed. The bed was so comfortable and I would stay there every night if I could. The service was unbelievable. Chelsea Cox was so amazing! Definitely recommend GPH to anyone looking for the ideal stay in NYC. Can't wait to stay again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are fortunate to have a talent team of associates, like Chelsea, who are keen on delivering a memorable experience to our guests. SO pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself here at Gramercy! Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to New York so that we may ensure you are well taken care of yet again.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Outstanding hotel! Loved the location and private access to park. Also loved the included bikes! Staff, was very accommodating... Special thanks to Chen at front door... Very upbeat and helpful! We will be back and look forward to our next trip

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much Brian, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. The property is indeed unique and special. Access to the only private park in New York City...no problem, its part of the Gramercy Park experience! Our latest addition, the Lorenzo Martone fashion Bikes! They are a sight to be seen! These Gold bikes, with their flashy GPH plates, are the talk of the town....and as a guest, they are at your disposal. Looking forward to welcome you back for another great Gramercy weekend.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Gramercy from July 31st to Augus 3, 2014.I have travelled to NYc many times. I decided to stay the Gramercy. We arrived early and our room was not ready but everyone from the door man, to the front desk staff were very friendly. We were called shortly after 2:00pm to check in. This hotel is also in a great location, close to Empire state building, Broadway and 5th Ave. This hotel is in an area that is not swarming with tourist and sirens. This hotel offer everything you would expect in a great hotel. The rooms were a good size for Nyc standards. What I liked about this hotel is the things that make it great, we always had enought towel, robes and slippers,hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, comfortable beds and even a umbrella. The turn down service is also very nice. What I was a let down was having to pay $16 for the internet daily. I would have rated this hotel excellent if the internet was included. i would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Location is key in NYC and Gramercy delivers just that being located in such close proximity to so much. I was also so pleased to hear that our amenities were to your liking along with the size and appointment of our guest rooms. Getting in early is always helpful, so I was happy that we got you checked in prior to normal check-in time. With our internet service, looks as though you booked the Room Only option. On our website we do offer a package option that includes internet bundled into the rate. As a side note we also extend complimentary internet in the lobby 24/7 for guest use. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy in the near future.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

staying at gramercy park is like returning home, always welcoming they make you feel like you were supposed to be there, even with construction outside you don't lose the great feel of sitting next to a park,
though access would be nice having it there mitigates a bit of the nyc hustle and bustle,
the concierge were particularly nice , i got a nice upgrade to a small sweet , the italian resto next door is quite good and obviously convenient and the Rose bar seems to have picked back up in popularity, i would think that this hotel will keep my business for a while

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing! Gramercy truly is an escape from the hustle and bustle as you shared....situated on the only private park in New York City....tree lined street....now that is something worth waiting for! Glad that you have discovered Gramercy and fortunate to be your home away from home when you frequent New York City. Please keep in touch and let me know when your travels bring you back so that I may personally ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in New York City
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.