We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I was in the park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
An Aid for Your Summer
Ranked #31 of 451 hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time I was in the park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

When in NY I usually stay at another hotel but their prices recently went up and I decided to try Grammercy Park Hotel again.
I have stayed here a number of times before but something has changed, much for the better. I always had an enjoyable stay in the past but this time because of the staff my stay was truly excellent. I was there for three nights and immediately saw an even higher level of friendly professionalism at the front desk. They seemed sincere when asking if I was happy with my room. That doesn't happen very often.

Also of note was how very pleasant and friendly the housekeeping staff is. All told it was a very comfortable stay.

In case you didn't know, the hotel adjoins Gramercy Park which is not open to the public, only residents which includes hotel guests. This was my first chance to spend some time there and it's a treat.

I hope to make GPH my regular NY hotel from now on.

Room Tip: It's an added treat if your room has a view of the park. Also the restaurant Maialino is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Stuart! Thank you for the wonderful feedback. The entire team here has been making amazing effort to take it to the next level. SO hearing about seeing a great positive change in the service is music to our ears....what we are doing is working. We are all about the personalization here at Gramercy. The entire team loves what they do and committed to the guest experience. The Park is a huge bonus, I mean access to the only private park in New York city....well isn't that special! Looking forward to have you back at Gramercy very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    123
    54
    28
    18
See reviews for
127
250
58
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Business often takes me to NYC and I have made the Gramercy Park Hotel my home away from home. Here's why: now that I've stayed a few times the staff has gotten to know me, I am treated as a regular and everything goes like clockwork. The location is top notch - in the city, but almost like slightly removed from things right next to the park. Food is excellent whether room service or at their restaurant (love their oatmeal and lattes for breakfast!). Most of all I like the rooms which are always clean and unique. You can stay anywhere and get a cookie cutter square box of a room, but the GPH has a unique historic vibe and feel to it. I don't stay anywhere else in the city!

Room Tip: The rooms facing Lexington provide better views, but the rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Great Food, Great, Service and a Great hotel experience,,,,,that's what we are all about. So pleased to hear that we have become your home away from home....The property is truly special and I feel fortunate to have shared it with you. The food is awesome, glad that you were able to experience the culinary talent of our team here at Gramercy. Having Danny Meyer as our Food Partner here at Gramercy is truly a pleasure. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great service.
Nice Location . Staff in great.
Rooms are Very Nice and comfortable. Looking forward staying here again. Amazing Experience . Will stay there the next time. We slept in different hotels before, but this one is a keeper. The Gramercy park ia Very Nice quite and neet.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Jurgo - Thank you so much for sharing....We're a keeper, I love it! Being on your go to list for NYC hotels, truly means a lot to the entire team here at Gramercy. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon for another outstanding visit to the hotel.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been travelling to NYC 2 to 3 times a month for over a year. This is my favorite place yet! It was sexy! It is just posh and cool enough, while being in a great NYC neighborhood without all of the hustle and bustle of the typical wall to wall tourist. There were great neighborhood restaurants and private parks nearby. Not to mention, my favorite, was the staff. Excellent! There is nothing that irritates me more than to walk into a NYC hotel and their nose turn up because the staff does not recognize me. The staff was amazing. The staff was as kind and generous to me as they were to the famous faces walking in from their stretch limos. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow! What great feedback...we are truly humbled by your comments. The team here at Gramercy is what makes the property so special. Sure the location is amazing and the place is out of this world, but the team really brings this property to life. Recognizing your return to the hotel....that is just what we do! Everyone is a VIP here at Gramercy. Looking forward to welcome you back to the property very soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise with it's beautiful, rustic-chic and unique decor. The staff were attentive to our needs and had nice special touches such as lit candles and a forecast of the next day's weather with our turn down service. Also, access to Gramercy Park is quite a treat to enjoy the beautiful private park at your leisure. The room was cozy and stayed cool and dark to make for perfect sleeping conditions and the location made it so easy to get to our destinations throughout the weekend. All-in-all, a fabulous experience and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
So pleased to hear that you connected with the design and experience here at Gramercy. The Private Park is a huge plus, glad you were able to make it in during your visit. It all comes down to a good nights sleep and there's nothing like peace and quiet. So pleased to hear you had such a great time with us. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy for another great weekend!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is billed as a five star property. If you are expecting a five star hotel you will be horrified. The travel agent described it as resembling an old castle. It had more the appearance of a cross between a run down barn and a bordello. it was not shabby chic: it was plain shabby, musty, worn and a total dump. It had the look and feel of a hotel that had little if any upkeep. Everything was old, scratched, dented, dirty and smelled bad. The wood floors were so beat up that I remarked that it looked like at horse had been in the room.

There are many lovely true five star hotels in NYC and many four star hotels that are far nicer than Gramercy Park. Unless you are a very unusual person who likes to pay five star prices for a very run down mess of a hotel, do not ruin even one night in NYC with this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello vldavis - thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback, I only wished you took the time to share your feedback while here on property so that myself or one of our team members could have walked you through the design concept and property narrative of The Gramercy Park Hotel. Following the property tour, I am confident you would have found many of the complex design elements to be intriguing, rather then being horrified as you clearly shared.
Having originally opened in 1924, Academy Award winning designer Julian Schnabel reimagined the property's timeless design in a bohemian flair while retaining some of the storied elements of Gramercy's colorful past. After all, the property was the early residence of former President Kennedy and shared the matrimony of Humphrey Bogart. You mentioned about the feeling of a Barn when you entered the property. Tying into the mid 19th century history, the 2 story massive columns in the lobby are actually wrapped with reclaimed wood from American farm houses of that era, tying in the old charm that was Gramercy. Add in the 20+ft hand blown Murano Glass chandelier and it makes for quite the impressive entry into the property. I'm not sure if you had a chance to enjoy our art collection, but the contemporary masterworks throughout the property are valued at over $45 million. Schnabel's vision was marrying the old with the new in a timeless award winning design, unlike any other hotel. While we work hard to maintain the property's look, the overall design is supposed to give off the "worn in" look. Hence the reclaimed wood and imported Moroccan tiles, showcasing imperfections as a part of the design. Sort of like your favorite pair of jeans....clearly t shiny and new, but gives a sense of that "just right" feeling. That is the essence of what Gramercy is all about. The warmth, the welcome and the sense of ease as you slip into your guestroom. Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, myself or anyone on the team would be happy to walk you through the property's narrative and design concept. Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Funny thing: this hotel has transformed itself just as I have (I hope). They tell me I was born here. Who knows? It used to be a dump - a bohemian dump. Cracked windows held together with Scotch tape and roaches parading in and out of the walls. No room service back then.
But now? I recently wanted to spend some time there and was dumbfounded that the place had become a boutique hotel + a fancy hip bar and Thai restaurant on the top floor ! Wow.
I was impressed back then and am even better impressed now. One of the MUST stay hotels of New York - much in the line of the Chelsea. Location could not be better: steps away from Union Square and the East Village and steps away from Midtown Manhattan.
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

Room Tip: Location could not be better: steps away from Union Square and the East Village and steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Wow!! Thanks Gerald!! Nothing like a pleasant surprise. So pleased to have delivered such an impressive experience for you. The history of Gramercy is still a true part of this hotel. Former residence of an early President Kennedy, marriage place of Humphrey Bogart and the old stomping ground for Babe Ruth....Lets not forget of course the 80's when Every Rock star made their way through Gramercy! Truly...If these walls could talk?!?! So pleased you had such a great time here and I look forward for you to experience Gramercy for another great weekend.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.