We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect visit at the GPH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Vashon, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit at the GPH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for the second time in celebration of my birthday and it was as wonderful as we recalled from the first time. The room is incredibly quiet, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff is always extremely helpful. They even sent a birthday cake to our room. The lobby alone makes it worth a visit! It is our favorite boutique hotel in New York.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We love special occasions and Birthdays are no different! I am so pleased that you decided to spend such a special occasion with us. We love celebrations and I am glad to hear how great it was for you, it sounds like the pastry chef out did herself yet again!! Looking forward to your return and celebrating another landmark occasion with you here at Gramercy.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    142
    59
    32
    19
See reviews for
140
287
64
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Gramercy Park Hotel is always a treat. The décor is amazing, location is great and Maialino and the lobby bars are a real treat. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and made the stay ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Craig! That you so much for taking the time to share you 5 star experience with us. Gramercy truly is a special treat, as you so mentioned. The décor, Maialino and Rose Bar are great amenities and an outstanding part of the property. What really brings to property to life are the people who create the magic, our team! I'm so glad that you were able to connect with them. Looking forward to welcome you back to the city very soon. Please do keep in touch and let me know when your travels bring you back.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at GPH for a long weekend this month, and it was a wonderful experience. The storied property is cool and elegant with a great lobby, a hip bar, beautiful art work, and a terrific restaurant. The staff is always present, helpful, and friendly. The room was quiet, spacious, and very comfortable. And I love the location. I highly recommend GPH.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Tony - It was great to connect with you on your recent experience at Gramercy. The property is truly speical and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the true Gramercy Experience. Our team is our most prized possession, so it is great to hear that they connect so well with you. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy very soon!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I turned to our friends at the GPH when it came time for my marriage proposal and they were so helpful in creating the perfect experience. The night before, I met her parents in the Rose Bar for early evening cocktails so I could ask their permission. The bar's stylish yet intimate setting made it the ideal spot for the big convo. After receiving their blessing and an enjoyable couple hours, the plan was on for the following morning. The staff arranged a table for 2 at Maialino for Sunday brunch...the catch - while waiting to be seated, they allowed us access into Gramercy Park. After a lap around the most beautiful park in NYC, which we had all to ourselves, I got down on one knee and popped the question. She said yes, we took in the moment together then walked back to Maialino for a celebratory brunch. It was the perfect setting for a romantic and memorable NYC engagement.

We'll forever be grateful to the GPH and its amazing staff for this special memory. Can't wait to be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Wow Dylan! First of all, a big congratulations goes out to you and yours....how wonderful to now be engaged. I am so pleased to hear that it went off without a hitch here at Gramercy. We specialize in romance and special occasions, so it was great that you were able to share this with us here. It sounds like you were able to experience all aspects of the property, it truly is special! Looking forward to welcome you back soon....why not for your wedding!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

GPH is great from the moment the doorman greets you. Friendly, warm, low-key, yet stylish place. the lobby scent from the Le Labo candles is fantastic and the rooms are like a big velvet hug. Rooms are cozy with eclectic decor. Really cool. The bathrooms are a bit small, but not a problem at all. Roof deck is a great place to get a drink or a causal meal while taking in the fresh air and the staff has always been helpful, friendly and approachable. Have stayed here on 4 separate occasions and I like it just as much each time. Feel like I am living in the city when I am there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Frist impressions are KEY, making them at the front door is so crucial, so I am pleased to hear that you connected with our doorman, they truly are fabulous! I love your metaphor about our rooms being a "Big Velvet Hug", I think Im going to adapt that phrase....I like it that much! Looking forward to welcome you back to the property very soon. Kepp in touch and let me know when your travels bring you back to Gramercy so we can lay on another Velvet Hug!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Instead of opting to stay in a Midtown hotel, i relied on a few friends recommendations and booked at the Gramercy Park Hotel and I have to admit I was very pleasantly surprised.
The rooms are quite spacious for New York, I stayed in a Lexington King and the hotel is a hip place, trendy with very funky rooms and well equipped in room bars. Lobby is quite nice with a fire place in the winter and the furniture in the lobby is reorganised almost dally, which gives a new identity to the room almost every time you walk in. Door staff is friendly and the hotel has two bars on the ground floor, the Jade Bar and the Rose Bar. The latter which is also a favourite nightspot of the NYC connoisseurs. Staff has been very friendly and professional from the time of booking until my checkout and their response to all services were prompt and exceeding requirements in some cases. Would definitely stay there again during my next visit and I'll have to take a walk in Gramercy Park, to which the access is a perk of staying at the hotel, as the park is usually closed to the public.

Room Tip: i would recommend a higher floor room as in all New York Hotels to avoid the street noise, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Here at Gramercy we love to surprise and delight, so hearing that you were is just harmonious! Glad you were able to experience all aspect of Gramercy inclusive of Rose Bar, sounds like you really enjoyed it. One of our great amenities is exclusive access to New Yorks ONLY private park, what a beautiful spot! Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for eleven nights during xmas new year. It was our wedding anniversary and we were greeted with champagne and a beautiful raspberry cake in our room which was such a surprise.
We were given a wonderful corner room away from the lift.
We had been in the lobby a number of times on previous visits to NYC which is superb with a fire in winter, xmas tree ,chandelier etc. and always wanted to stay here. We were not disappointed. The room was elegant and had everything you needed great bar fridge,strong hot shower and bath ,superbly comfortable beds ,beautiful soft towels,robes etc.and were quiet even though we were on the lexington avenue side.
The staff and concierge were so accommodating and helpful. Very conveniently,off the lobby is Maialinos a superb Italian restaurant which does great breakfast and excellent take away coffee ( Coming from Australia we take our coffee seriously!)
Great bar if you wanted cocktail or to just hang out during the day. Cabs are always available out front and walking distance to the wonderful Gramercy/ Flatiron district.
Most definitely will be staying there again on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for making your way out all the way from Down Under. Gramercy truly is a special place and I am fortunate that you were able to experience it in the fashion you did. Hitting every aspect of Gramercy with Rose Bar and Maialino, you got the full taste. Looking forward to you making the trek back again soon! In the meatime, keep it well in Australia!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.