We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Manhattan base for exploring New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Bedford, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool Manhattan base for exploring New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is superbly located for exploring New York and is cool, stylish and chic. Austin, one of the concierge staff was excellent and gave great suggestions. Travelling with two young teenagers we comfortably stayed in a room for four. There are lots of great places on the doorstep for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is good value and full of character

Room Tip: Our room had an interior view. Exterior would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at Gramercy Park Hotel. I will make sure to share with Austin your compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    147
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
142
296
64
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here with some friends having visited the hotel for a drink in the bar and then dining at Maiolino which is in the hotel. One of the loveliest, cool hotels I have ever stayed at. This place has history if you want to google it to find out. It is more of a couples hideaway but even so I would still recommend it. The rooms are beautiful but don't expect any breathtaking views of New York. The hotel is all about that real homely feel but still very cool. The bars are incredibly beautiful and Mario Batali's restaurant "Maiolino" was one of the best meals we had in New York. Great location and lovely neighbourhood. Definitely coming back with my wife. Privacy is very much a feeling here. I would say that this is not the tourist type place to stay if you want all the lights and bells like pool, spa etc. ......Don't forget the roof top terrace with glass roof which is stunning for breakfast or drinks at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you learn that you enjoyed your recent experience at Gramercy Park Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

LOVE this hotel. I'm staying here now, with my husband and 4.5 year old daughter. We love the ambiance and the decoration. For those reviewers who called it the Gramercy "Dark" hotel, the mood lighting is very evocative. Yes, it's on the dark side, but you can always turn on a light or open the blinds to let in the light.

We've found the staff here very pleasant, especially the Gramercy Tavern employees. Austin, one of the concierges, was extremely helpful in terms of restaurant recommendations and reservations. The doorman is super-friendly, and very nice.

The terrace restaurant is beautiful, and again, the staff is wonderful. Every morning they greet us with a "Hi, nice to see you again" and remembered our preferences, which is service I haven't even gotten when staying at the Penninsula or Four Seasons.

The gym is good, with a lot of free weights, which is unusual in a hotel gym.

Yes, the bar is full of very fab people (at least fabulously dressed... well, some of them), but coming from L.A., we find that kind of amusing. The scene doesn't intrude into the lobby, and didn't have any impact on us in terms of getting to or from our room.

If you want to stay in a boutique hotel in the Village/Flatiron/Gramercy area, this is a terrific hotel with a fun vibe, very funky/elegant, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Ms. Ninatchka,

Thank you for your five star review! We are thrilled that our ambiance, decorations and service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Set in a perfect location in New York, this hotel is a short ride from Rockafeller Plaza, Top of The Rock, West Village and near all forms of public transportation. The lobby is classy & warm. As you walk in, you'll see an Italian restaraunt on one side and the famous rose bar on the other. Prior to check in, you'll get an exciting email with a request to fill out a survey that asks what kind of bedding you prefer, favorite drink, meal preferred, things you wish to do in NYC. This got us excited and had us under the impression our stay will be totally catered to our survey. The hotel didn't ever bring our answers up upon check in and when ordering drinks, never mentioned that they knew what we would already want. My suggestion to the hotel is that if they ask guests to fill out a survey, please follow through with the answers. 

The rooms are great. Our first room was on the 15th floor and had a view of the building next door. After one day during our stay we noticed a strong smoke smell, after complaining they upgraded us to a better room on the 4th floor. Comfortable beds. Nice couch and wonderful views.

The rooftop terrace has stunning views and the food is amazing. You must go for breakfast and get a latte along with the bread pudding French Toast. Their other items are great. The burger was also a great lunch item. Tyler, the terrace manager runs a great ship. The terrace staff should be running the hotel as well because they're perfect. 

For this expensive of a hotel, they do well. Wifi should be free and they should read the customer surveys. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Ms. Stevojax,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you found the hotel classy & warm, and great service. We agree that our rooms are absolutely gorgeous. We are so pleased the service, location and comfort met your expectations.

We are very sorry that we did not take your preferences into account. We do aim to customize each guest's experience. We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to maintain the high standards that the Gramercy Park Hotel is known for.

We hope to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently spent 8 days at The Gramercy Park Hotel. I was accompanied by my ten year old daughter. We booked this hotel through American Express (it is one of their finer hotels) mostly for the location, and reviews. For starters, the hotel is in a great location - close to Union Square, Chelsea, Flatiron, etc. and a few minutes by cab to midtown...also walkable, but it's a good 35-40 minute walk.

The hotel prides itself on it's art, and it delivers - lots of lovely paintings, photographs, etc. The lobby is opulent (although a bit shop-worn). Our room (a king) was dark (as is the entire hotel). Wood floors, velvet sofa, velvet curtains, soft blanket thrown casually over the bed, lovely photo of a reclining nude over the toilet, strange photo of man ion mask over sofa...in other words, sexy. One heck of a dark, sensual hotel room...my ten year old daughter was less enthusiastic than I :)

So, since my DH wasn't around we managed to enjoy our stay. The room was good...nice bathroom and superior shower (best in NYC). Rugs vacuumed each day, but dirty and a bit worn. A few outlets didn't work...still, a relaxing room to retire to each day.Lots of closet space, great in room bar.

The hotel has a bar downstairs that I never got to go to. Looked loungy, calm, no where near as busy as others have described. Restaurant downstairs as well...got very busy on weekend, never ate there. We did have breakfast each AM in the Terrace restaurant on the roof...nice, cool spot. Breakfast was yummy good if you ordered off menu. The $18 continental was ehh...too much for what it was...but that's NYC.

What can I say? If it was just my DH and I going to NY for a weekend...yes! Oh yes! For families? Skip it...it's not a family place (although don't get me wrong I saw several family groups there) in my opinion. Very cool, sexy hotel. A bit worn out (which is part of the charm), but lovely all the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Ms. Vanessa,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that our service, location and decor made your visit to New York enjoyable. We agree that our art collection is unparalleled, our rooms are sexy and our showers are some of the best in town. Next time you must experience Rose Bar as well.

Let us know next time you are planning a trip to New York City. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Sincererly,

Elizabeth Mao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto-Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is not your average hotel. The hallways are very dim; the art in the rooms and the lobby is kinky and different. Everything in the rooms is red. It’s really cool. The location could be a little better. It’s a bit away from the busyness of Manhattan which is why we come to NYC. But not bad, you just walk a while and you’re there. I think that I wouldn’t stay here again because of the location. We did have a lot of excitement in this hotel. We stayed in December 2010 and NYC just got the biggest blizzard ever! There was so much snow that when we returned back to the hotel at night the chimney got blocked and all this black smoke was coming in to the lobby. The fire department was called and we had to wait for hours downstairs. When we finally came back up and entered our room we discovered that it’s ‘raining’ from the ceiling right on our bed. The fire fighters were pouring water in to the chimney and flooded our room. But it worked out fine; at the end we got a penthouse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Successfully stayed in this hotel in the middle of July 2012 and begining of August 2012 and next time (if in the future) would choose it again: good location, service; very freindly and helpful personal (including and especially - concierge). And excellent pillows which gave us very perfect possibilities for sleep. THANK YOU

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Ms. Natalie,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your experiences at Gramercy Park Hotel. We love to hear that our staff was welcoming and helpful.
I will make sure to share your compliments with our team. They are the ones who create our loyal guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#20 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.