We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in a great neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 457 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent hotel in a great neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a few days and the hotel was great. Very nice rooms. Large by New York standards. A perfect location The restaurant, Maialino, is incredible, worth a visit even is you are not staying in the hotel. And with the hotel visit, you get to go in the locked Gramercy Park.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    147
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
142
296
64
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a great stay at Grammercy Park. The room (suite) was big and plush and wonderful. The rate was so reasonable and value teriffic compared to most of the other places I have stayed at in New York (I've been there often). The bedding was wonderful and that is a big thing with me. I came home and purchased the down pillows they had on the bed. I will definitely go back. Oh, and my kids played pool with Jack Black downstairs in the bar - great thrill for them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel with lovely rooms, friendly staff, a nice gym and in a great location. It seemed centrally located to all the attractions we wanted to see, cab wait outside for convenience but a subway station is right around the corner. It's a great neighborhood for walking and just enjoying being in the city. We will definitely stay there again next time we stay in the city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights with my partner and my parents in Gramercy park hotel. For my parents it was their first time in NYC and coming from Melbourne it was something special. We were given one room upgrade and the breakfast on the terrace each morning was a fabulous start to each day. Make sure you spend sometime enjoying the nearby private garden for the residents.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stay away from this hotel if you don't want to find out that they have charged your card for additional 250 USd with no given explanations, bills etc...and despite the fact that I have wrote numerous times to their GM and guests manager. This is the worst experience in the US I ever had. The terrible and unprofessional behavior of stuff and these hotel is far away away from any luxury experience. The only positive - room design and that's it!

1- consierge is the most arrogant and badly educated person who I ever saw. Impossible to get any decent and worth of luxury hotel reccomendation. Especially if your english is not perfect. I wrote to their GM a complain and nobody ever answered.
2 - you don't get any bills when you check out at 6 am simply because their system does not work. And only after they charge you some extra and no bills sent via emails either. I believe my money were simply stolen from me by some of hotel staff. I wrote to the hotel again and again no answer whatsoever.

3 - the terrible noise from outside,I had to change room not to hear a moarning AC system - one can feel that you are at the airport surrounded by many planes taking off the ground

4 - rude personell at the reception. Like you ask a question and they said " What?" not pardon, not anything like that. At the check in, arriving at nearly midday I asked when my room will be ready the girl at the reception murmured " I don't know" picked the phone and started talking to someone else. CAn you believe that??? I was shocked.

5 - despite the request to get a room at higher floor i got the room at the 5th floor. Yet the reservation was made one month in advance.

To sum up - stay away from here. This place can only be considered for breakfasts (nice veranda on the last floor) and aperetivo. Be carefully with giving them your credit card details. You may find out some double charges. Btw - wifi costs 16 usd + tax per day...and you pay for the room 600 Usd incl tax.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A few weeks ago, I had my bridal shower at the terrace in the Gramercy Park Hotel. It is such a stunningly beautiful venue and I was so proud to share it with my guests. The staff did everything in their power to please my guests. The food was absolutely delicious. If you are considering planning an event there, contact Sabria. She was a dream to work with!!! Thank you Gramercy Park Hotel for giving me the bridal shower of my dreams!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay that is walkable to downtown and also in a beautiful location, check this out. The Gramercy Park Hotel is located right on the park; it is quiet, modern, yet also with easy access to the subway, union square and within a healthy walking distance to soho. Staying here made me feel very non-touristy -- the streets are residential, the atmosphere is cool and sophisticated without being snooty, and the rooms are gorgeous. The Terrace for breakfast was amazing. Great food and really friendly service. Really, if I'm not super intent on being right on or near Central Park, this will be my new go to place to stay. Thanks, GPH!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and a view of Gramercy Park if you can get it. But even without the view, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#20 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.